4
votes
1answer
466 views

Spell to Duplicate a PC

Okay so here's the story: in an upcoming campaign, I will be sharing DMS duties with a player who's shown interest. Now, we are planning on playing the same person, but the PC has mutiple ...
3
votes
2answers
275 views

How many spells can a wizard have in 4e, and how do they work?

Sorry, I'm just a bit confused on this. I'm making a half-elf wizard for my first campaign and though I really want to play a wizard, I'm a bit confused on the spellbook mechanic. I'm also a bit ...
1
vote
2answers
213 views

How many spells does a swordmage get as they level up?

My friend is starting D&D and his first character is going to be a swordmage. How many spells do they get at level one and how many do they get per level up?
7
votes
4answers
1k views

How is an 'enemy' defined for the purpose of spell targeting?

What constitutes as an "enemy"? Can for some reason a PC declare another PC an enemy at any point? For example, we will take this first level Warden spell which puts spikes around an enemy that will ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

How many spells can a level 1 human Wizard have in 4e?

I'm new to D&D and roleplaying games in general, so I thought I'd ask here. On page 29 of the Player's Handbook for 4th edition, it says I get the class features, racial traits, 1 feat, 2 ...
8
votes
1answer
213 views

Is an Illusory Wall solid until revealed in DnD 4e?

This post on nat1blogging (that I stumbled upon randomly) details a tricky method for trapping characters with a high perception. I'll just sum it up here (TL;DR), please read the original in case ...
7
votes
4answers
214 views

Does Light create a point source light or does it make the whole target glow?

I recently came into a situation (in a DnD 4E game) where a player, knowing an invisible creature was somewhere nearby, wanted to take the light spell off of his staff and cast it on a handful of ...
1
vote
2answers
182 views

What counts as entering the zone of Grasping Shadows? [duplicate]

The Wizard Spell Grasping Shadows says in its description: Effect: The burst creates a zone or writhing shadows that last until the end of your next turn. Each creature that enters the zone takes ...
5
votes
2answers
311 views

Can eladrin be affected by the 'sleep' spell?

As eladrin/drow have the "trance" ability, making them not need to sleep to rest, but instead enter a meditative state, are they affected by any kind of spell that induces sleep?
8
votes
1answer
405 views

Paragon tier wizards 'rocket jumping'?

I've seen/heard quite a lot about Wizards in the Paragon tier effectively 'Rocket Jumping' with use of the Thunderwave power and the Arcane Reach feat. How would this work? Both mechanically and ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

How does off-hand spellcasting with two implements work?

With the Dual Implement Spellcaster feat, you can add the off-hand implement's enhancement bonus to damage rolls. 1) What if you cast a spell with the off-hand implement? Do you get nothing from the ...
3
votes
1answer
338 views

Ray of Frost versus Stone Blood - is it redundant?

Is Ray of Frost [ddi] now redundant when Stone Blood [ddi] is available? So we have Ray of Frost hitting a single creature: At-Will         Arcane, Cold, ...
0
votes
2answers
242 views

Does the Orb of Imposition's alternative effect affect more than one creature?

Does the alternative effect of a wizard's Orb of Imposition [ddi], i.e. the extension of a duration, also only affect one creature? A player is wondering if the Slow effect of Stone Blood [ddi] could ...
2
votes
1answer
93 views

Is a sustained ranged or area attack, still a ranged / area attack on subsequent rounds?

Is a sustained ranged or area attack, still a ranged / area attack on subsequent rounds? A player is asking whether the 'Shield of Deflection' [ddi] would work against the effects of a sustained ...
5
votes
2answers
233 views

Alternative for 4e saves

So, recently I began playing 4e again and was discussing with a friend about how 'odd' the save mechanic for ongoing damage /lingering conditions appears to us. Right now it works like this: ...
5
votes
3answers
419 views

Can penalties from Enlarge Spell result in negative damage?

Do the Enlarge Spell penalties mean the damage can become negative? Benefit: Before using a wizard at-will or encounter attack power, you can choose to take a -2 penalty to each die of damage ...
9
votes
1answer
290 views

Is the wall created by a “Wall Of…” spell considered to be an object?

Is the wall created by a Wall Of X spell, e.g. Wall of Ice, considered to be an object, and hence immune to the stuff objects are immune to? According to the Rules Compendium p177, they're immune to: ...
9
votes
2answers
3k views

When exactly do I make a saving throw?

I had a slight argument with my DM and another player a few weeks ago when we were playing a modified version of D&D 4th. My wizard(-ish) character attacked another PC with a spell (specifically ...
5
votes
1answer
236 views

Can you use the Nimble Blade feat for magic attacks?

Can you use the Nimble Blade[ddi] for magic attacks ? Benefit: When you attack with a light blade and you have combat advantage, you gain a +1 bonus to attack rolls.
8
votes
1answer
211 views

Does a Zone disappear when the player goes unconscious?

Does a Zone cast by a player disappear when the player goes unconscious/dying?, or only if they actually die?
6
votes
1answer
249 views

Can a caster hit themself with a Blast spell?

Can a caster hit themself with a Blast spell? i.e. the usual example is the caster is in square A, casts a Blast 2 spell, so they could hit BCFG, FGJK, EFIJ, etc. A B C D E F G H I J K L ...
6
votes
1answer
227 views

Can a Wall spell be unsupported to make an arch

Can a Wall spell be unsupported, e.g. to make an archway ?
6
votes
2answers
216 views

What “objects” can a spell target?

Some of the wizard spells have creature or object as the target, e.g. Force Orb [ddi] What is an object ? So in the case of Force Orb, could a wizard target say a pebble on the ground, hit it (as it ...
8
votes
3answers
514 views

Can a polymorphed magic user still cast spells if the new form has limbs, mouth, and fingers?

The Wizard power Foe to Frog (Heroes of the Fey Wild) allows the wizard to change the target into a tiny beast. My question is: can the polymorphed target retain its spell casting ability if it has ...
4
votes
1answer
76 views

Can the target of Mind of Rage take normal actions on its turn?

Mind of Rage (Wizard Attack 25 from HotFL) gives this effect: The target is affected by mind of rage (save ends). This effect also ends if you or any of your allies attacks or deals damage to ...
3
votes
1answer
168 views

Has anyone adapted Otto's Irresistible Dance to the 4e rules?

It's one of my favorite spells. Are there any official (or formal attempts at) adaptations of it to the 4e rules?
8
votes
3answers
783 views

Does a Flaming Sphere gain combat advantage with its initial attack against a prone enemy?

Daily ✦ Arcane, Conjuration, Fire, Implement Standard Action Ranged 10 Flame Sphere: Effect: You conjure a Medium flaming sphere that occupies a square within range, and the sphere ...
6
votes
1answer
196 views

Does the prone ranged defensive bonus apply to a creature hit by Flaming Sphere's initial attack?

Flaming Sphere is a nice low-level wizard power, but even the errata text is a little confusing. Daily ✦ Arcane, Conjuration, Fire, Implement Standard Action Ranged 10 Effect: You conjure ...
7
votes
3answers
886 views

Can my mage prepare powers of the same level but of a different type (encounter, daily, utility)?

I'm reading about the Mage on the Heroes of the Fallen Lands, and page 200 says You cannot prepare more than one power of any given level on the same day. For example, a 14th level mage [...] can ...
12
votes
2answers
583 views

When a Stinking Cloud is moved onto a creature, does the creature take damage immediately?

In a recent session of D&D 4e, a Stinking Cloud was moved onto a creature who was outside of it. Stinking Cloud Effect: ...Creatures that enter the zone or start their turns there take ...
11
votes
3answers
297 views

Does blade barrier have to be anchored to the ground?

If I cast blade barrier, does it have to be anchored to the ground? Or can I have it float anywhere I want that it could occupy, such as cast it above me as a sort of roof of blades?
5
votes
2answers
282 views

Stone shape replacement in D&D 4e?

I'm a big fan of of the D&D 3.5 Spell Stone Shape. Is there any 4e equivalent of it?