2
votes
2answers
103 views

D&D 4e Stealth Ambush Question

Okay so I am rather confused about a particular part of the stealth mechanic in regards to Elves of the Valley Adventure from Dungeon Mag #178. In the 1st encounter, it says the elves (enemies) get a ...
1
vote
3answers
201 views

D&D4e Thri-Kreen Chameleon Chitin

I have a question based on the wording of a Thri-Kreen power. Chameleon Chitin Your powerful mind can rapidly change your exoskeleton to match the light and objects around you, allowing you ...
4
votes
2answers
147 views

If a character teleports more than 2 squares while hidden, do they need to reroll stealth with a -5 penalty?

If a character teleports more than 2 squares while hidden, do they need to reroll stealth with a -5 penalty? The rules for stealth specify: Keep Still: If the creature moves more than 2 squares ...
6
votes
1answer
185 views

Can a power with “target: one creature” be used on an empty square in an attempt to hit a hidden creature?

Say that I'm in the midst of a battle, and I know that there's an Invisible and Hidden creature somewhere. Am I allowed to use a power that says "Target: One creature" on a random square in an attempt ...
6
votes
2answers
263 views

Does Create a Diversion to Hide come with all the Rules of Hidden Club, or bypass them?

In D&D 4e, characters have a couple of straightforward ways to become Hidden through their skills. The first is to use the Stealth skill. This is a check usually made at the end of a move. Using ...
3
votes
2answers
2k views

Stealth and Sneak Attack Rogue in combat

I have a rogue in my party who likes to constantly use stealth in combat after he makes an attack, in order to get the CA required for the sneak attack dice. He justifies this by standing far away and ...
5
votes
4answers
414 views

Knocking out NPCs

Alright, so I'm thinking up a stealth based mission that involves sneaking into a guarded manor and stealing an artifact. Needless to say, it would be best if this was a quiet affair. I have most of ...
4
votes
1answer
126 views

Chameleon + Cloud of Darkness

My question is about the interaction between the Rogue Utility Chameleon (below and PHB 120) and the Drow racial Cloud of Darkness. Chameleon (Rogue Utility 6) You blend into your ...
3
votes
3answers
188 views

Can I hide using Cunning Sneak with Wilderness Skirmisher?

The cunning sneak feature allows a creature to make a hidden check if they have any concealment or any cover. The wilderness skirmisher feat enables them to gain partial cover against ranged attacks ...
9
votes
1answer
193 views

Does the combination of the Blinded and Deafened status effects make other creatures effectively hidden?

If an item and or attack power in 4e gives a creature both the blinded and deafened status effects and the creature has no alternative senses (blind sight, tremor sight) is it mechanically accurate to ...
12
votes
1answer
575 views

Does movement whilst hidden provoke opportunity attacks?

Playing a rogue in my first two D&D Sessions ever thanks to online tabletop (a god send, really!) However, I've come to learn that it's not an easy task (however, my healer has kept me from death ...
8
votes
2answers
202 views

Does a hidden creature trigger powers from those it's hidden from?

Of what I searched in, I haven't found a clear indication as to the answer of this question: When a creature is Hidden from another creature, let's call them "Heidie" and "Attacky" respectively, does ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Understanding stealth and ambushing

I was looking at this map and realized I have a problem understanding stealth. The guys indicated with letters are ambushing. Does that mean that they're using active stealth against passive ...
9
votes
2answers
142 views

Would someone sustaining a spell effect negate their Stealth?

Would someone sustaining a spell effect negate their Hidden status acquired by a successful Stealth roll? I've checked the Essentials, and it mentions Keep Quiet under the requirements for Remaining ...
3
votes
1answer
175 views

If a foe's perception check beats your stealth check, do you still get CA against them?

If a character is stealthing, let's say in total concealment, and its target perceives it by beating its stealth roll, then does the stealthing character have CA against the target?
5
votes
1answer
109 views

Would Star Indigo Seed dyes penalize stealth?

In D&D 4e, would a player marked with ink from star indigo seeds (which are said to shine as bright as candle) be penalized when trying to sneak through the dark or elsewhere? This is from the ...
8
votes
1answer
510 views

If I can just get Fleeting Ghost as a rogue at lvl 2, is there any point to taking Cunning Sneak?

Fleeting Ghost, as an At will move action, I can move up to my speed and make a stealth check to hide, and I take no penalty to stealth check for the movement. Fleeting Ghost is a level 2 Rogue ...
10
votes
2answers
236 views

Is it possible to roll Stealth versus multiple targets when one or more can see you?

Is it possible to roll Stealth versus multiple targets when one or more can see you? So for example, if the character moves into the corridor, where the majority of the monsters can no longer see ...
10
votes
3answers
293 views

Can a mark be maintained when the target succeeds on a Stealth check and becomes Hidden?

In a similar vein to my previous question , can a mark from a Fighter, Battlemind, etc. be maintained when the target succeeds on a Stealth check vs. a Defender's passive Perception and becomes Hidden ...
9
votes
6answers
663 views

How can I recreate an “ambush in the night” scenario?

The "ambush in the night" is a staple of adventure fiction: Arrows fly through the night, but the heroes can't see who is shooting. I'm interested in recreating such a scenario in D&D 4e, but the ...
4
votes
1answer
139 views

Doing something sneaky in combat

Let's say I'm a Goliath Barbarian. I want to use my Stone's Endurance racial ability as a minor action, which grants me +5 resist all damage until end of next turn. But, I don't want my opponent to ...
6
votes
1answer
920 views

What are the “normal requirements” to hiding?

I have a Rogue Thief in my campaign, currently leveling up to Level 2. As per his build he has available the following power: Fleeting Ghost Rogue Utility 2 You are stealthy and fleet of foot ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

Does cover also grant concealment?

One of the PC who plays in my Encounters session has a power that lets him make a stealth check to hide if he has "concealment." Last night we was behind a hard corner in a room without any other ...
13
votes
2answers
3k views

When a creature is invisible, but not hidden, do the enemies know the location of the creature?

When a creature is invisible but not hidden, one could argue that the players still know it's general location. If a creature becomes invisible and not hidden does it remain on the battle-mat?
11
votes
5answers
801 views

Does 'Reactive Stealth' allow a gnome to become hidden using the partial cover of a companion?

Reactive Stealth: If you have any cover or concealment when you make an initiative check, you can make a Stealth check. Our group has a bard gnome that usually starts combat behind the front ...
8
votes
2answers
730 views

What are some ways you can defeat extra senses?

Specifically from the point of view of a rogue, it's kinda disheartening to realise that around paragon your best trick will be neutralised. What are some useful, viable ways to defeat things like ...
15
votes
3answers
497 views

Does a character have to successfully hide from all opponents to be hidden?

Specific example - If a rogue successfully hides from one opponent can he then sneak attack that opponent? Or can the opponents allies use a free action to yell out, "Hey, the annoying guy with the ...