5
votes
1answer
77 views

Can summoned creatures be attacked?

I have two friends who play as the Druid and Cleric and they both have summoning powers. We got confused as to whether the summoned creatures (such as a guardian drake) can be targeted by monsters or ...
6
votes
1answer
466 views

Summoned creature outside of combat, how long does it last?

Specifically the wizard daily spell, summon fire warrior: if I use this spell in combat, he will last until the end of the combat (assuming I don't dismiss it early or it drops to zero hit points). ...
4
votes
1answer
211 views

Can a Summoner Wizard theoretically fill the Defender role?

I'm DMing a 4e dnd game. The party is level 2 and contains a Dragonborn Warlord, Shifter Ranger (Two-Blade) and a Dwarf Summoner Wizard. As you can see, no defender. I'm aware that the Warlord is ...
4
votes
1answer
196 views

What happens to a Giant Toad with a Lightning Staff?

If I'm playing a druid who has taken a Lightning Staff for Mark of Storm cheese, and I summon a giant toad, is its tongue electrified such that I can benefit from mark of storm from its attacks?
13
votes
2answers
535 views

Does a Summoned Creature have a “start of turn?”

Many effects apply at the start of a creature's turn; however, summoned creatures don't take turns and only perform actions when their summoner expends an action. Thus, is a summoned creature ...
7
votes
1answer
563 views

Do summoned creatures get any bonuses to attack from the summoner?

Do summoned creatures get any bonuses from their summoner? I'm wondering if they use the summoner's item enhancement bonuses or get any other bonus to attack and damage rolls. Our artificer has ...
8
votes
3answers
3k views

Summoning focus in 4e?

I'd like to play a summoning focused Invoker in 4e, but I can't find any feats or Paragon classes that focus on it. In 3.X there wasn't much, but there was at least Augment Summoning and the ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Where are the rules for summoned creatures?

In the PHB1, summoned creatures are very clearly defined in the power descriptions that summon them. In the PHB2, particularly the Invoker powers, I find many summons such as Angel of Fire that do ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

Does D&D 4e have rules for necromancy or conjuration summoning?

Necromancy and Conjuration (summoning and binding) are topics that were fairly thoroughly addressed in previous editions of D&D, and these topics certainly pop up often in fantasy literature. I ...
6
votes
5answers
884 views

Can powers grant summoned creatures a “Basic Attack”?

Can powers that grant a basic attack, like many of the Warlord powers, be used to grant an attack to a summoned creature? If so, what does the summoned creature use for its basic attack? Inspired by ...