Process of bringing an object or creature to the spell caster via magic to aid them.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

5
votes
2answers
267 views

Do summoned creatures give extra experience points, or are they part of the summoner's XP?

Let's say we fight a dretch worth 600 XP. That dretch summons 2 more dretches, each usually also worth 600 XP. If we defeat all three dretches, would we get 600 XP or 1800 XP?
5
votes
1answer
103 views

Does Superior Summoning still add 1 if you roll a 1?

When using Summon Nature's Ally X or Summon Monster X to summon creatures of a lower level (1d3 creatures of one level lower), does Superior Summoning still provide an extra creature if you roll a 1?
17
votes
3answers
3k views

In Pathfinder, does the summoner or the GM control the eidolon?

I'm starting up a summoner character in a Pathfinder campaign, but we're a little unsure of the rules for eidolons. While I know the summoner is the one who tells her eidolon what to do, I'm wondering ...
4
votes
1answer
185 views

Losing concentration on Conjure Elemental if you summon an Invisible Stalker?

So basically, say I use conjure elemental as a 6th level spell and summon an invisible stalker. I give it an order to kill the BBEG our party is fighting. I then take a hit and lose concentration. ...
5
votes
3answers
242 views

How do I keep track of all my summoned animals?

A practical question: I am currently playing with a bunch of people and we are all relatively new to the game (including the DM). In our second campaign I decided to go for a druid… and was ...
9
votes
1answer
391 views

Can monsters be summoned to appear in mid-air to drop onto enemies?

I was playing a dwarven cleric who could summon small elementals, and started summoning earth elementals 10' (for instance) above enemies to basically combine my monster summoning with a crushing ...
16
votes
2answers
763 views

Can a summoned pixie concentrate on a spell after the summoning ends?

If I summon a pixie with Conjure Woodland Beings, and it casts Fly on me, can it continue to concentrate on keeping me flying if my concentration on Conjure Woodland Beings ends and it disappears?
-2
votes
4answers
248 views

Can a chaotic evil character/creature follow orders? [closed]

As far as I can tell from different sources about alignments, chaotic evil characters just do "evil for evil's sake", and are quite unpredictable and easy to provoke. Now, can such a character follow ...
9
votes
1answer
265 views

Can a Summon spell power a Reserve feat?

The reserve feat Fiery Burst says: As long as you have a fire spell of 2nd level or higher available to cast, you can spend a standard action to... The Summon Monster I spell (and, by extension, ...
2
votes
1answer
246 views

How does Superior Summoning interact with effects that increase number of summoned monsters?

I could have sworn we had a question on this already, but I can't find it via Google or RPG.SE's search bar. A little background: EN World's Patreon-supported publication Trailseeker just released a ...
2
votes
1answer
112 views

Can clerics' Combat Feats be used with summoned Spiritual Weapons?

While looking at Pathfinder's Blibdoolboolp and the stats given to her clerics (for giggles), I noticed that her Holy Weapon was a Pincer Staff (which has grapple). So I'm wondering, are a clerics ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Does a created or summoned creature have an ability to spawn or summon another one?

Let's consider I am a Pale Master. I created a wraith. Those undead have this ability: Create Spawn (Su): Any humanoid slain by a wraith becomes a wraith in 1d4 rounds. Its body remains intact ...
7
votes
4answers
369 views

Is it possible to summon an outsider without a spell?

I play an evil Sorcerer (Infernal Bloodline) and my GM allowed me to summon an Imp for guidance (after a Knowledge: Religion skill check result of 32) on ascending to a Devil in full. To be honest, ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

How to summon an Invisible Stalker?

In the Monster Manual you can find the lore on this matter: Invisible stalkers are creatures native to the Elemental Plane of Air. They sometimes serve wizards and sorcerers, who summon them to ...
3
votes
2answers
267 views

Summoned Sun Creatures?

One of the PCs in my campaign is a cleric of the campaign's sun god. I want to customize the cleric's summon monster list with sun-themed creatures. Rather than the celestial template, is there a ...
11
votes
2answers
629 views

Can summon spells be used to summon the same specific creatures repeatedly?

Can one use a summon monster spell to summon each time Bob the Celestial Monkey specifically, or must the summoned celestial monkey be a different celestial monkey each time?
11
votes
1answer
1k views

What happens when multiple Eldritch Knights bond to the same weapon?

One of my players is an Eldritch Knight. She is bound to her magical weapon. The rule clearly says that one knight can be bonded to a maximum of two weapons. However, it does not look like there is a ...
1
vote
1answer
222 views

Can summons and eidolons be magically healed?

This is a two part question. Can summons benefit from magical healing? Can Eidolons benefit from magical healing? This question treats normal and unchained summoners as equal unless there is a ...
9
votes
2answers
842 views

What magic aura does a summoned elemental have?

When detect magic is cast on an elemental, or an area where an elemental resides (like a pool of water containing a hidden water elemental), which of the eight traditional schools of magic would the ...
6
votes
3answers
853 views

How to determine initiative for a summoned creature entering an ongoing combat?

Lets consider that a creature is summoned during an ongoing fight: Does it roll initiative normally? Does it have to wait a whole round to act? Can it act before other creatures (assuming it's got ...
10
votes
2answers
240 views

Can summoned creatures take items back with them?

If you summon a creature and give it any item then dismiss it, does the item go with it?
5
votes
2answers
834 views

How to communicate with your summons?

The Summon Monster and Summon Nature's Ally spells mention: If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to perform other actions. ...
1
vote
2answers
329 views

Can Summoned Monsters have their own initiative?

The spell description for summon monster includes this line: "It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn." This means that the summons would act on the summoners initiative ...
7
votes
1answer
228 views

Is there an Anima expansion that includes stats for some example Great Beasts?

I know, I know, I'm supposed to come up with them as GM. But I'd like to see published examples so I know the general kind of thing I'm supposed to be making. Are there any published Great Beasts (...
10
votes
2answers
435 views

Designing Summoners in Fate Core

I'm really excited about Fate Core and the wide variety of things that can be designed with the Fate Fractal. As a GM for players who are veterans of Pokémon Tabletop and Magic: the Gathering, I think ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Can Clerics take Spell Focus?

Can Clerics use the Spell Focus feat by RAW? The Summoner advice Brian linked me to in his answer mentions that Augment Summoning is a good feat for summoning focused characters, but it requires Spell ...
4
votes
1answer
94 views

Do monsters summoned in a round get to roll init for the same round, when using per-round init?

Assume you're a caster in AD&D 2e with the ability to cast Monster Summoning I, and your game rolls init on a per-round basis. When you summon a monster on a round, does your monster roll init to ...
4
votes
2answers
178 views

When does a creature called with gate act?

If I use gate to call a kind of monster within the HD limit, to fight for me in the current battle, when does it act?
3
votes
1answer
250 views

Summoning, Unsummoning and Familiars

For the simplicity of the question, let's call Alice to the first Summoner and Bob the second. Bob will always be the one trying to disrupt Alice's summoned creatures. I understand that when two ...
29
votes
3answers
5k views

How can I make a deal with a devil?

The tradition of summoning an extraplanar entity to bargain with is well established in the D&D lore. But they don't necessarily like being summoned for this purpose, which is why wizards usually ...
2
votes
1answer
189 views

Does a ritual-summoned gargoyle get its own turn in a fight?

I'm interested in exactly how the gargoyle from the summon gargoyle ritualDDI works. It allows a ritual caster to summon a gargoyle to guard an area or object, its type/strength depending on your ...
1
vote
1answer
178 views

How many creatures can Summon Warlock Ally summon?

The spell Summon Warlock's Ally allows you to summon a creature associated with your pact; however, from what I can tell there is more than one option for that. In the above link, you'll find the ...
2
votes
1answer
129 views

If a Warlock's Summoned Ally deals damage, does Curse damage apply too?

I have a Warlock with a summoned creature from Summon Warlock's Ally. A player with this summoned ally must use their standard action in order to control the ally. When the ally does damage to an ...
5
votes
1answer
267 views

Using Ghoul Army spell as am Oracle with the Tongues curse

My character just reached Orcale level 10 and I was looking through 5th level spells. I came across the spell Ghoul Army but was told by another player that I cannot use it because as an Oracle with ...
7
votes
1answer
586 views

Does Spiritual Weapon stay until the end of its duration if the caster goes uncounscious?

Spiritual Weapon does not require concentration and only has a duration of a minute. When my cleric was knocked unconscious the on-the-fly decision was to keep the weapon waiting around until the end ...
5
votes
1answer
129 views

Can summoned creatures be attacked?

I have two friends who play as the Druid and Cleric and they both have summoning powers. We got confused as to whether the summoned creatures (such as a guardian drake) can be targeted by monsters or ...
8
votes
1answer
583 views

How can I give orders to summoned animals?

What ways are available to give orders to animals summoned through the Summon Nature's Ally spells? I know that Speak With Animals is available, but especially in combat I may not have an additional ...
9
votes
2answers
956 views

Celestial Commander Summoned Monsters

This is a follow-up on this question Can a summoned monster be commanded to aid another? The answer to that questions seems to be "Not if they cannot understand you." I am currently playing a ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Can a summoned monster be commanded to aid another?

Can summoned monsters, specifically natural creatures such as eagles, be commanded to aid another? I've tried to find the answer myself but haven't succeeded.
18
votes
3answers
4k views

Does a summoned monster's alignment matter?

I am playing in a 3.5 game recently, and a question has come up that none of us could really answer. Does the alignment of a summoned monster (as per the Summon Monster I-IX spells) matter at all? For ...
13
votes
2answers
780 views

Does a Summoned Creature have a “start of turn?”

Many effects apply at the start of a creature's turn; however, summoned creatures don't take turns and only perform actions when their summoner expends an action. Thus, is a summoned creature ...
9
votes
3answers
4k views

Summoning focus in 4e?

I'd like to play a summoning focused Invoker in 4e, but I can't find any feats or Paragon classes that focus on it. In 3.X there wasn't much, but there was at least Augment Summoning and the ...
6
votes
1answer
759 views

Summoned creature outside of combat, how long does it last?

Specifically the wizard daily spell, summon fire warrior: if I use this spell in combat, he will last until the end of the combat (assuming I don't dismiss it early or it drops to zero hit points). ...
4
votes
1answer
330 views

Can a Summoner Wizard theoretically fill the Defender role?

I'm DMing a 4e dnd game. The party is level 2 and contains a Dragonborn Warlord, Shifter Ranger (Two-Blade) and a Dwarf Summoner Wizard. As you can see, no defender. I'm aware that the Warlord is ...
4
votes
1answer
224 views

What happens to a Giant Toad with a Lightning Staff?

If I'm playing a druid who has taken a Lightning Staff for Mark of Storm cheese, and I summon a giant toad, is its tongue electrified such that I can benefit from mark of storm from its attacks?
10
votes
2answers
2k views

Creatively targeting summoning spells

Me and my party have a plan in our upcoming session, that will need some clarifications on how summoning spells can be used. Its all about creative targeting with the Summon Monster I spell, let me ...
7
votes
1answer
860 views

Do summoned creatures get any bonuses to attack from the summoner?

Do summoned creatures get any bonuses from their summoner? I'm wondering if they use the summoner's item enhancement bonuses or get any other bonus to attack and damage rolls. Our artificer has ...
6
votes
5answers
1k views

Can powers grant summoned creatures a “Basic Attack”?

Can powers that grant a basic attack, like many of the Warlord powers, be used to grant an attack to a summoned creature? If so, what does the summoned creature use for its basic attack? Inspired by ...
8
votes
4answers
3k views

Does D&D 4e have rules for necromancy or conjuration summoning?

Necromancy and Conjuration (summoning and binding) are topics that were fairly thoroughly addressed in previous editions of D&D, and these topics certainly pop up often in fantasy literature. I ...
9
votes
1answer
6k views

Where are the rules for summoned creatures?

In the PHB1, summoned creatures are very clearly defined in the power descriptions that summon them. In the PHB2, particularly the Invoker powers, I find many summons such as ...