Tagged Questions

Process of bringing an object or creature to the spell caster via magic to aid them.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

4
votes
2answers
108 views

When does a creature called with gate act?

If I use gate to call a kind of monster within the HD limit, to fight for me in the current battle, when does it act?
2
votes
1answer
62 views

Summoning, Unsummoning and Familiars

For the simplicity of the question, let's call Alice to the first Summoner and Bob the second. Bob will always be the one trying to disrupt Alice's summoned creatures. I understand that when two ...
24
votes
3answers
869 views

How can I make a deal with a devil?

The tradition of summoning an extraplanar entity to bargain with is well established in the D&D lore. But they don't necessarily like being summoned for this purpose, which is why wizards usually ...
2
votes
1answer
118 views

Does a ritual-summoned gargoyle get its own turn in a fight?

I'm interested in exactly how the gargoyle from the summon gargoyle ritualDDI works. It allows a ritual caster to summon a gargoyle to guard an area or object, its type/strength depending on your ...
1
vote
1answer
49 views

How many creatures can Summon Warlock Ally summon?

The spell Summon Warlock's Ally allows you to summon a creature associated with your pact; however, from what I can tell there is more than one option for that. In the above link, you'll find the ...
2
votes
1answer
87 views

If a Warlock's Summoned Ally deals damage, does Curse damage apply too?

I have a Warlock with a summoned creature from Summon Warlock's Ally. A player with this summoned ally must use their standard action in order to control the ally. When the ally does damage to an ...
7
votes
1answer
299 views

Does Spiritual Weapon stay until the end of its duration if the caster goes uncounscious?

Spiritual Weapon does not require concentration and only has a duration of a minute. When my cleric was knocked unconscious the on-the-fly decision was to keep the weapon waiting around until the end ...
5
votes
1answer
93 views

Can summoned creatures be attacked?

I have two friends who play as the Druid and Cleric and they both have summoning powers. We got confused as to whether the summoned creatures (such as a guardian drake) can be targeted by monsters or ...
7
votes
1answer
116 views

How can I give orders to summoned animals?

What ways are available to give orders to animals summoned through the Summon Nature's Ally spells? I know that Speak With Animals is available, but especially in combat I may not have an additional ...
5
votes
1answer
156 views

How to communicate with your summons?

The Summon Monster spell mentions: If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to perform other actions. In that situation, what ...
9
votes
2answers
672 views

Celestial Commander Summoned Monsters

This is a follow-up on this question Can a summoned monster be commanded to aid another? The answer to that questions seems to be "Not if they cannot understand you." I am currently playing a ...
7
votes
3answers
575 views

Can a summoned monster be commanded to aid another?

Can summoned monsters, specifically natural creatures such as eagles, be commanded to aid another? I've tried to find the answer myself but haven't succeeded.
5
votes
1answer
157 views

Using Ghoul Army spell as am Oracle with the Tongues curse

My character just reached Orcale level 10 and I was looking through 5th level spells. I came across the spell Ghoul Army but was told by another player that I cannot use it because as an Oracle with ...
6
votes
1answer
512 views

Summoned creature outside of combat, how long does it last?

Specifically the wizard daily spell, summon fire warrior: if I use this spell in combat, he will last until the end of the combat (assuming I don't dismiss it early or it drops to zero hit points). ...
4
votes
1answer
241 views

Can a Summoner Wizard theoretically fill the Defender role?

I'm DMing a 4e dnd game. The party is level 2 and contains a Dragonborn Warlord, Shifter Ranger (Two-Blade) and a Dwarf Summoner Wizard. As you can see, no defender. I'm aware that the Warlord is ...
4
votes
1answer
203 views

What happens to a Giant Toad with a Lightning Staff?

If I'm playing a druid who has taken a Lightning Staff for Mark of Storm cheese, and I summon a giant toad, is its tongue electrified such that I can benefit from mark of storm from its attacks?
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Creatively targeting summoning spells

Me and my party have a plan in our upcoming session, that will need some clarifications on how summoning spells can be used. Its all about creative targeting with the Summon Monster I spell, let me ...
13
votes
2answers
568 views

Does a Summoned Creature have a “start of turn?”

Many effects apply at the start of a creature's turn; however, summoned creatures don't take turns and only perform actions when their summoner expends an action. Thus, is a summoned creature ...
7
votes
1answer
616 views

Do summoned creatures get any bonuses to attack from the summoner?

Do summoned creatures get any bonuses from their summoner? I'm wondering if they use the summoner's item enhancement bonuses or get any other bonus to attack and damage rolls. Our artificer has ...
18
votes
3answers
2k views

Does a summoned monster's alignment matter?

I am playing in a 3.5 game recently, and a question has come up that none of us could really answer. Does the alignment of a summoned monster (as per the Summon Monster I-IX spells) matter at all? For ...
17
votes
2answers
2k views

In Pathfinder, does the summoner or the GM control the eidolon?

I'm starting up a summoner character in a Pathfinder campaign, but we're a little unsure of the rules for eidolons. While I know the summoner is the one who tells her eidolon what to do, I'm wondering ...
8
votes
3answers
3k views

Summoning focus in 4e?

I'd like to play a summoning focused Invoker in 4e, but I can't find any feats or Paragon classes that focus on it. In 3.X there wasn't much, but there was at least Augment Summoning and the ...
6
votes
1answer
4k views

Where are the rules for summoned creatures?

In the PHB1, summoned creatures are very clearly defined in the power descriptions that summon them. In the PHB2, particularly the Invoker powers, I find many summons such as Angel of Fire that do ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

Does D&D 4e have rules for necromancy or conjuration summoning?

Necromancy and Conjuration (summoning and binding) are topics that were fairly thoroughly addressed in previous editions of D&D, and these topics certainly pop up often in fantasy literature. I ...
6
votes
5answers
914 views

Can powers grant summoned creatures a “Basic Attack”?

Can powers that grant a basic attack, like many of the Warlord powers, be used to grant an attack to a summoned creature? If so, what does the summoned creature use for its basic attack? Inspired by ...