Process of bringing an object or creature to the spell caster via magic to aid them.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

9
votes
2answers
2k views

Creatively targeting summoning spells

Me and my party have a plan in our upcoming session, that will need some clarifications on how summoning spells can be used. Its all about creative targeting with the Summon Monster I spell, let me ...
7
votes
3answers
815 views

Can a summoned monster be commanded to aid another?

Can summoned monsters, specifically natural creatures such as eagles, be commanded to aid another? I've tried to find the answer myself but haven't succeeded.
17
votes
2answers
2k views

In Pathfinder, does the summoner or the GM control the eidolon?

I'm starting up a summoner character in a Pathfinder campaign, but we're a little unsure of the rules for eidolons. While I know the summoner is the one who tells her eidolon what to do, I'm wondering ...
5
votes
2answers
332 views

How to communicate with your summons?

The Summon Monster and Summon Nature's Ally spells mention: If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to perform other actions. ...
9
votes
2answers
800 views

Celestial Commander Summoned Monsters

This is a follow-up on this question Can a summoned monster be commanded to aid another? The answer to that questions seems to be "Not if they cannot understand you." I am currently playing a ...
7
votes
4answers
3k views

Does D&D 4e have rules for necromancy or conjuration summoning?

Necromancy and Conjuration (summoning and binding) are topics that were fairly thoroughly addressed in previous editions of D&D, and these topics certainly pop up often in fantasy literature. I ...
3
votes
1answer
80 views

Do monsters summoned in a round get to roll init for the same round, when using per-round init?

Assume you're a caster in AD&D 2e with the ability to cast Monster Summoning I, and your game rolls init on a per-round basis. When you summon a monster on a round, does your monster roll init to ...
1
vote
1answer
82 views

Can summons and eidolons be magically healed?

This is a two part question. Can summons benefit from magical healing? Can Eidolons benefit from magical healing? This question treats normal and unchained summoners as equal unless there is a ...