*Tome of Battle* is a expansion book for D&D 3.5e which introduces the concept of martial maneuvers to give martial characters extra options in combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

4
votes
2answers
139 views

When do I have to decide whether to use Wall of Blades (Warblade maneuver) or not?

The "Wall of Blades" description says: You can decide to use this ability after you learn the result of your opponent's attack. Tome of Blades, p. 70 So, can I decide whether or not to use ...
3
votes
1answer
120 views

Does Wall of Blades (Warblade maneuver) work against touch attacks?

The maneuver Wall of Blades reads: When an enemy makes a melee attack or ranged attack against you, you can initiate this counter to oppose that attack by making an attack roll with any melee ...
3
votes
1answer
68 views

Warblade / Swordsage Hybrid

The background: my current warblade is too powerful compared to the rest of my party. I am aware, that the issue might be inefficient builds of other characters, but I wanted to focus on this ...
3
votes
1answer
84 views

Reach question for Dancing Blade Parry Stance

When in the Stance Dancing Blade Parry from the Tome of Battle, it says "your reach increases by 5 ft." Does this mean I can only attack enemies with the extended reach or do I still have the option ...
1
vote
1answer
73 views

At what point does an adept gain the bonus to AC from the absolute steel stance?

When does the Armor Class bonus from the Iron Heart maneuver absolute steel [stance] (Tome of Battle 66) activate? For example, can a martial adept take a move action to move ten feet then take a ...
3
votes
3answers
109 views

Warblade maneuver recovery

Can a warblade recover their maneuvers using a swift action and a full-round attack? Typically the manual says: You can recover all expended maneuvers with a single swift action, which must be ...
8
votes
2answers
140 views

Is Iron Heart Surge limited to effects measured in rounds?

I have just been able to convince my DM into allowing Tome of Battle and allowing my character entering the Warblade. Nonetheless, he felt uncomfortable about the scope of abilities, especially Iron ...
5
votes
5answers
707 views

Does the spell Dimensional Anchor stop Shadow Jaunt?

Does the spell Dimensional Anchor stop the ability Shadow Jaunt from the Tome of Battle?
3
votes
1answer
70 views

How does the Crusader's Steely Resolve class feature work exactly?

I am trying to understand how the Crusader's Steely Resolve class feature works in "corner" cases. From Tome of Battle, p. 10, we get: Steely Resolve (Ex): [...] At the end of your next turn,...
6
votes
1answer
74 views

Thunderous throw and flanking

The class Bloodstorm Blade (ToB p.100) has an ability called Thunderous Throw that states: ...As a swift action, you can choose to treat your ranged attack rolls with thrown weapons as melee ...
3
votes
2answers
305 views

Adamantine Hurricane and Wolf Pack Tactics interaction clarification

In Tome of Battle we find these 2 maneuvers: Iron Heart (Strike) 8: Adamantine Hurricane (p. 66) Tiger Claw (Stance) 8: Wolf Pack Tactics (p. 90) And their interaction is unclear to me. ...
11
votes
1answer
201 views

How does Firesnake work (RaW, RaI, or house rules)

Firesnake has a duration of instantaneous, but claims to be able to move 60 ft every round, and "A creature can only take damage from the firesnake once in a single round", both of which imply that ...
5
votes
1answer
193 views

Can different school's Stances and Maneuvers be mixed in a single round?

I'm trying to find out exactly how Stances and Maneuvers work, since I plan on going as a Swordsage specializing in Diamond Mind and Desert Wind schools for their maneuvers. Is it possible to use ...
6
votes
4answers
600 views

Can Iron Heart Surge remove sleep, paralysis, or similar effects?

The description of Iron Heart Surge seems unclear to me. Normally, you must be able to move to initiate a maneuver. However, Iron Heart Surge seems very broad in what it affects. Can it also remove ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

If my Initiator Level is high enough, can I take Stances of a level higher than 1st when I take my first level in a martial adept class?

Usually, a martial adept’s Initiator Level is equal to his class level, plus his class level in any maneuver-granting Prestige Classes, plus half his level in all other classes. This means a ...
1
vote
1answer
153 views

When taking the Martial Study feat as a Warblade, can I select from non-Warblade disciplines?

When I am taking the Martial Study feat as a Warblade at 6th lvl, can I choose a maneuver from non-Warblade disciplines? For example, take a maneuver from the Desert Wind discipline?
3
votes
1answer
184 views

Tome of battle initiator levels manuvers

When using feats like Martial Stance and Martial study, Can you take a stance that requires swordsage levels over 1? To re-ask: Does initiator level = levels in swordsage needed for manuvers and ...
0
votes
2answers
113 views

Standard action maneuver AoO

Can you use a standard action maneuver, say mountain hammer, on an attack of opportunity?Could you channel a spell as a dusk blade on an attack of opportunity?
4
votes
2answers
299 views

Stacking Multiple Initiator Classes

If i'm playing with a Swordsage 13/Warblade 2/Master of Nine 5, what will my Initiator level be? Is it one of these?: 20 (12 SS + 2 WB + 5 Mo9); 19 (12 SS + 1 (Half WB Progression) + 5 Mo9); 13 ...
2
votes
1answer
321 views

What do Martial Discipline Weapons cost?

I have questions about the price of discipline weapons from Tome of Battle. What is the price of a +1 (some discipline) dwarven waraxe, +2,000 gp or +8,000 gp? Does it give me a +1 bonus to damage? ...
7
votes
1answer
316 views

Do you lose flanking from Island of Blades stance if you're invisible?

If you are in Island of Blades stance do you and your allies lose your flanking bonus if you are invisible?
3
votes
1answer
145 views

Dance of spider mountain hammer combo

Would mountain hammer work standing on a stone wall in dance of the spider stance? Would the attack bypass hardness and give bonus damage to cut through bars on a window?
5
votes
1answer
182 views

Can you trip as part of a Tome of Battle Maneuver?

If a ToB Maneuver such as Daunting Strike calls for a melee Attack as part of the maneuver, can this melee attack be resolved as a trip attack/include a trip attempt?
2
votes
1answer
184 views

Does the feat Ironheart Aura benefit the feat's possessor?

The feat Ironheart Aura says While you are in any Iron Heart stance, adjacent allies gain a +2 morale bonus on saving throws. (Tome of Battle 31) The Player's Handbook in the Glossary defines ...
0
votes
1answer
123 views

Expanding Jade phoenix mage's maneuvers?

I was reading the tome of battle and found this in jade phoenix mage Maneuvers: At each odd-numbered level, you gain a new maneuver known from the Desert Wind or Devoted Spirit disciplines. You ...
4
votes
1answer
378 views

Can you use feats in the warblade maneuver emerald razor?

The diamond mind path maneuver EMERALD RAZOR states: As part of this maneuver, make a single melee attack against an opponent. This is a touch attack rather than a standard melee attack. If ...
4
votes
2answers
968 views

Is Stormguard Warrior really that good?

I have an idea of build centered around the Crusader class, with some possible dips in Warblade/Swordsage to take advantage of the goodies in other disciplines (such as Ironheart Surge or Time Stands ...
4
votes
1answer
231 views

How is the Initiator Level of a Gestalt character calculated by RAW?

Say you have a Martial Adept class on one side of your Gestalt and some other class on the other side, for sake of example let's go Rogue6//Swordsage6. By RAI, I figure that the Initiator Level takes ...
6
votes
1answer
258 views

Can a dive attack be made when you would charge as part of an effect?

The Battle Leader's Charge maneuver says you make a charge as part of the maneuver. If a character has wings and is able to do a dive attack, can a dive attack (which "works as a charge") be done in ...
6
votes
1answer
245 views

Tome of battle multiclassing recovery method

In tome of battle page 97, the book says that if I multiclass with multiple martial adept classes, I "retain the same method for readying and recovering maneuvers that I previously used". Does that ...
17
votes
2answers
3k views

Does Adaptive Style really let you recover expended maneuvers?

You can change your readied maneuvers at any time by taking a full-round action. If you’re a crusader, your current granted maneuvers are lost and you gain new granted maneuvers as if you had ...
1
vote
1answer
151 views

Do crusader and warblade stances stack?

Since maneuvers readied from crusaders and warblades stack, can I have a crusader stance and a warblade stance active at once?
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Can a martial character ready the same maneuver multiple times simultaneously?

All the martial classes from ToB have different methods of preparing and re-preparing maneuvers, but the basic mechanics are pretty much the same for all of them (well, maybe just two, except the ...
7
votes
2answers
19k views

Martial maneuvers in an organised, easy to read form?

So, the question came up during the making of a swordsage, and the need to check if the maneuvers chosen can actually be acquired due to prerequisites. Is there anything, in pdf or online form, that ...
2
votes
1answer
113 views

Can I use 3.5 expansions for pathfinder? [duplicate]

Can I use 3.5 expansion books for pathfinder?? I want to because I want to use different things I read in 3.5 expanisions. Also tell me in your answer which are compatible and which aren't. I'm ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Melee touch attack with two weapons?

I have a Rogue/Swordsage that fights with 2 daggers and has Two Weapon Fighting (TWF). I'm considering taking Fire Riposte (Tome of Battle, 53) which grants the ability to do an immediate melee touch ...
8
votes
2answers
7k views

Dealing with Tome of Battle's power inflation

Wait, your swordsage can run up and stab a guy with a fireball (which he's immune to), on top of a normal attack. He can do this 4 times, and take a one round break to get a full charge again? ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Can you use more than one martial maneuver in a single round?

At first I thought you could only use one martial maneuver a round, but after looking through Tome of Battle, I can't seem to find that explicitly stated anywhere. Is there really such a restriction ...
4
votes
3answers
827 views

Puzzles vs the Swordsage

I'm playing as a Swordsage, and my DM is concerned that with Dance of the Spider and the Shadow Jaunt line, it will be impossible for terrain to be a challenge, making it hard to design puzzles. Is ...
2
votes
2answers
131 views

Leaping Flame versus different enemy's actions

The 5th level Desert Wind counter Leaping Flame allows you to teleport to an enemy within 100' that attacks you with a melee (which is useful if the enemy has reach, or if you need to quickly grant ...
4
votes
2answers
108 views

Are there metamagic feats for martial manuevers?

Is there any equivalent to a metamagic feats that can be applied to martial maneuvers. For example a maximized death in the dark would be amazing.
9
votes
1answer
942 views

Can I use Maneuvers out of combat?

Can you initiate a maneuver outside of combat? This is specifically about the Moment of Perfect Mind maneuver, which allows me to substitute my Will save for a concentration check. My GM feels that I ...
7
votes
2answers
785 views

Maneuvers and Cleave

So, Maneuvers in Tome of Battle come in three shapes (strikes, boosts and counters), which make the martial characters extremely deadly, even through they are usually limited to 1 boosted attack per ...
5
votes
1answer
259 views

Tome of Battle: Strikes and Weapon Properties

I'm making a Warblade and I'm wondering if I get my weapons properties on all my maneuvers that initiate a melee strike. For example, Steel Wind or Mithril Tornado, would I get my Vicious weapon ...
4
votes
1answer
383 views

Can a Bloodclaw Master stack Superior TWF with Improved/Greater TWF?

Does the Bloodclaw Master ability Superior Two-Weapon Fighting interact in any way with the benefits of Improved and/or Greater Two-Weapon Fighting in terms of attack bonus modifiers?
5
votes
2answers
231 views

Throwing upwards

Some Setting Sun maneuvers are concentrated on throwing your target - Devastating Throw, Comet Throw etc, and some of them get even more throwing range than 10 ft. AND add some decent damage to that. ...
7
votes
1answer
311 views

Can Iron Heart Surge remove a Necrotic Cyst?

Plain and simple, by RAW can the Iron Heart Surge maneuver from the Tome of Battle remove a Necrotic Cyst, a spell from Libris Mortis.
5
votes
1answer
4k views

Why is the Master of Nine a bad choice?

Say, what is the first thing that comes to mind when you talk about Tome of Battle? Most likely, the maneuvers - the thing that made the close-quarter combat fun for even those players who don't like ...
5
votes
1answer
674 views

Can you initiate maneuvers with weapons other than those the discipline favors?

When playing a class from Tome of Battle: Book of Nine Swords can you initiate manuevers while not weilding a disciplines favored weapon? For example: could one use Desert Wind manuevers without ...
6
votes
1answer
956 views

In 3.5e, does one have to be a martial adept class to use maneuvers?

I'm preparing for a 3.5e game, and I wanted to be a fighter or a marshal, but I also want to be able to use the maneuvers for martial classes. It does not say that one must be a swordsage, warblade, ...