*Tome of Battle* is a expansion book for D&D 3.5e which introduces the concept of martial maneuvers to give martial characters extra options in combat.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

14
votes
2answers
2k views

Does Adaptive Style really let you recover expended maneuvers?

You can change your readied maneuvers at any time by taking a full-round action. If you’re a crusader, your current granted maneuvers are lost and you gain new granted maneuvers as if you had ...
9
votes
1answer
671 views

Can I use Maneuvers out of combat?

Can you initiate a maneuver outside of combat? This is specifically about the Moment of Perfect Mind maneuver, which allows me to substitute my Will save for a concentration check. My GM feels that I ...
9
votes
4answers
1k views

Can a martial character ready the same maneuver multiple times simultaneously?

All the martial classes from ToB have different methods of preparing and re-preparing maneuvers, but the basic mechanics are pretty much the same for all of them (well, maybe just two, except the ...
8
votes
2answers
5k views

Dealing with Tome of Battle's power inflation

Wait, your swordsage can run up and stab a guy with a fireball (which he's immune to), on top of a normal attack. He can do this 4 times, and take a one round break to get a full charge again? ...
7
votes
2answers
551 views

Maneuvers and Cleave

So, Maneuvers in Tome of Battle come in three shapes (strikes, boosts and counters), which make the martial characters extremely deadly, even through they are usually limited to 1 boosted attack per ...
7
votes
1answer
257 views

Can Iron Heart Surge remove a Necrotic Cyst?

Plain and simple, by RAW can the Iron Heart Surge maneuver from the Tome of Battle remove a Necrotic Cyst, a spell from Libris Mortis.
7
votes
2answers
12k views

Martial maneuvers in an organised, easy to read form?

So, the question came up during the making of a swordsage, and the need to check if the maneuvers chosen can actually be acquired due to prerequisites. Is there anything, in pdf or online form, that ...
6
votes
1answer
80 views

Tome of battle multiclassing recovery method

In tome of battle page 97, the book says that if I multiclass with multiple martial adept classes, I "retain the same method for readying and recovering maneuvers that I previously used". Does that ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Tome of Battle maneuvers clarification?

There are many maneuvers that state that you use a skill check with your opponent's Armor Class as the check's DC, and then you proceed to attack with an empowered attack. Does this mean that you ...
6
votes
1answer
78 views

Can a dive attack be made when you would charge as part of an effect?

The Battle Leader's Charge maneuver says you make a charge as part of the maneuver. If a character has wings and is able to do a dive attack, can a dive attack (which "works as a charge") be done in ...
6
votes
1answer
3k views

Epic 3.5 Warblade Optimization [closed]

I'm sure we've all seen and/or played Final Fantasy VII. I was asked to join into the fray of an epic game being run once a month starting at ECL 21 and to bring a character with starting wealth as a ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Why is the Master of Nine a bad choice?

Say, what is the first thing that comes to mind when you talk about Tome of Battle? Most likely, the maneuvers - the thing that made the close-quarter combat fun for even those players who don't like ...
5
votes
1answer
637 views

In 3.5e, does one have to be a martial adept class to use maneuvers?

I'm preparing for a 3.5e game, and I wanted to be a fighter or a marshal, but I also want to be able to use the maneuvers for martial classes. It does not say that one must be a swordsage, warblade, ...
5
votes
1answer
186 views

Tome of Battle: Strikes and Weapon Properties

I'm making a Warblade and I'm wondering if I get my weapons properties on all my maneuvers that initiate a melee strike. For example, Steel Wind or Mithril Tornado, would I get my Vicious weapon ...
5
votes
1answer
411 views

Can you initiate maneuvers with weapons other than those the discipline favors?

When playing a class from Tome of Battle: Book of Nine Swords can you initiate manuevers while not weilding a disciplines favored weapon? For example: could one use Desert Wind manuevers without ...
5
votes
2answers
174 views

Throwing upwards

Some Setting Sun maneuvers are concentrated on throwing your target - Devastating Throw, Comet Throw etc, and some of them get even more throwing range than 10 ft. AND add some decent damage to that. ...
5
votes
3answers
2k views

If my Initiator Level is high enough, can I take Stances of a level higher than 1st when I take my first level in a martial adept class?

Usually, a martial adept’s Initiator Level is equal to his class level, plus his class level in any maneuver-granting Prestige Classes, plus half his level in all other classes. This means a ...
4
votes
3answers
745 views

Puzzles vs the Swordsage

I'm playing as a Swordsage, and my DM is concerned that with Dance of the Spider and the Shadow Jaunt line, it will be impossible for terrain to be a challenge, making it hard to design puzzles. Is ...
4
votes
1answer
888 views

Melee touch attack with two weapons?

I have a Rogue/Swordsage that fights with 2 daggers and has Two Weapon Fighting (TWF). I'm considering taking Fire Riposte (Tome of Battle, 53) which grants the ability to do an immediate melee touch ...
4
votes
2answers
82 views

Are there metamagic feats for martial manuevers?

Is there any equivalent to a metamagic feats that can be applied to martial maneuvers. For example a maximized death in the dark would be amazing.
4
votes
1answer
150 views

Can you use feats in the warblade maneuver emerald razor?

The diamond mind path maneuver EMERALD RAZOR states: As part of this maneuver, make a single melee attack against an opponent. This is a touch attack rather than a standard melee attack. If ...
4
votes
1answer
2k views

What's my initiator level for maneuvers from Martial Study?

I'm building a Warblade/Master of Nine using the rules in Tome of Battle: Book of Nine Swords. To qualify for MoN, I'm using the Martial Study feat to take maneuvers from disciplines that a Warblade ...
4
votes
1answer
254 views

Can a Bloodclaw Master stack Superior TWF with Improved/Greater TWF?

Does the Bloodclaw Master ability Superior Two-Weapon Fighting interact in any way with the benefits of Improved and/or Greater Two-Weapon Fighting in terms of attack bonus modifiers?
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use more than one martial maneuver in a single round?

At first I thought you could only use one martial maneuver a round, but after looking through Tome of Battle, I can't seem to find that explicitly stated anywhere. Is there really such a restriction ...
4
votes
1answer
99 views

How is the Initiator Level of a Gestalt character calculated by RAW?

Say you have a Martial Adept class on one side of your Gestalt and some other class on the other side, for sake of example let's go Rogue6//Swordsage6. By RAI, I figure that the Initiator Level takes ...
3
votes
2answers
327 views

Is Stormguard Warrior really that good?

I have an idea of build centered around the Crusader class, with some possible dips in Warblade/Swordsage to take advantage of the goodies in other disciplines (such as Ironheart Surge or Time Stands ...
2
votes
2answers
98 views

Leaping Flame versus different enemy's actions

The 5th level Desert Wind counter Leaping Flame allows you to teleport to an enemy within 100' that attacks you with a melee (which is useful if the enemy has reach, or if you need to quickly grant ...
2
votes
1answer
86 views

Can I use 3.5 expansions for pathfinder? [duplicate]

Can I use 3.5 expansion books for pathfinder?? I want to because I want to use different things I read in 3.5 expanisions. Also tell me in your answer which are compatible and which aren't. I'm ...
1
vote
1answer
100 views

Do crusader and warblade stances stack?

Since maneuvers readied from crusaders and warblades stack, can I have a crusader stance and a warblade stance active at once?