A character who learns and casts arcane magic through study.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

9
votes
2answers
484 views

Can a Wizard learn to cast Cure Light Wounds from a bard scroll?

If a bard were to scribe Cure Light Wounds into a scroll, would it be possible for a Wizard to write it into his spellbook given that it's the arcane version of the spell? I know about Can a Sorcerer ...
5
votes
1answer
214 views

When does the target become “out of range” for Witch Bolt?

I am referring here to the Sustain Standard of the Witch Bolt power (Wizard). Sustain Standard: Reroll the damage and deal it to the target again. Once the target is out of range, you can't ...
5
votes
1answer
399 views

Does Grim Harvest trigger when my Teleport causes a death?

Prompted by Does Grim Harvest trigger when my minions kill something? I Teleport a large, flat rock into the air some dozens of feet above an enemy. My DM rules that the rock falling does damage, and ...
6
votes
1answer
647 views

Does Grim Harvest trigger when my minions kill something?

The Necromancy School's Grim Harvest ability restores HP when you kill an enemy with a spell of 1st-level or higher. Does this apply when minions created by a spell, such as Animate Dead, or Conjure ...
3
votes
1answer
243 views

How does Hand of the Apprentice work with Reach/Chain Weapons?

I was looking over a Universal Wizard that I had rolled for a Pathfinder campaign that never lasted more than 3 sessions, and came across the Special Ability Hand of the Apprentice. Making a ranged ...
7
votes
2answers
220 views

Do wizards need 24 consecutive hours to write a spell in the spellbook?

This answer talks about the 24 hours needed by a wizard to write a spell into a spellbook from a scroll or another spellbook, but I was wondering if that 24 hours needs to be consecutive. It doesn't ...
8
votes
1answer
121 views

Can a Druid/Wizard share wizard spells on his companion? Or druid spells with his familiar?

As the title; I'm not seeing anything against it, I just know a lot of class abilities are limited to the class they're from normally. As a Druid 2/Wizard 1, could a character share say... mage armor ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Do Wizards have to pay to learn new spells as they level?

I have long been conflicted on this point: do Wizards need to pay to write spells they learn for leveling into their spellbook, or just when copying from a scroll or another spell book? It seems that ...
3
votes
2answers
167 views

The cost of writing a spell in my spellbook

I have seen from various online sources that it costs some gold to write a new spell in your spellbook from a scroll or other spellbook you've found. The player's handbook only mentions that a wizard ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Getting a new familiar with Improved Familiar

I'm a level 2 Wizard, soon-to-be level 3. I have a Hawk familiar, and I'm very interested in the idea of getting the feat Improved Familiar at level 3. I'm interested in a Celestial Hawk or Owl, which ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

Does a Wizard's Familiar grant advantage on every roll?

We're a new group playing DnD 5e. Three of us have no prior experience (and I'm one of them, never played the earlier editions) whilst two of us have some to good experience with other editions. I'm ...
13
votes
5answers
3k views

Is it normal to be running out of spells?

I've just started playing D&D with a group, this is my first campaign for everyone in the group. I'm playing an elf Wizard and I feel like I'm struggling with attacks, and am not sure if I'm ...
4
votes
1answer
490 views

Can a School of Enchantment Wizard use Instinctive charm against spell attacks?

Can Instinctive Charm feature from the Wizard's School of Enchantment (PHB, p. 117) be used against incoming spell attacks?
2
votes
1answer
92 views

Help with Artificer/Wizard

I'm having isues understanding the item creation process and usage for an Artificer with a Wizard dip. As far I understand the process, a straight Artificer needs to make a Use Magic Device check to ...
4
votes
7answers
557 views

What is the lowest level wizard spell that will allow me to see through concealment?

Just as the title says, I'm looking for the lowest level spell on the wizard spell list that will allow me to negate the miss chance on ranged attacks imposed by concealment such as that given by ...
8
votes
5answers
1k views

What Is The Role-Play Justification for Named Wizard Spells?

Some Wizard spells are named after the particular famous wizard who created them, like Mordekainen or Bigby. I find it hard to understand how a convention like this could come about, considering how ...
5
votes
3answers
183 views

How fragile are Minor Conjurations?

The School of Conjuration grants a Wizard the Minor Conjuration feature: [...] you can use your action to conjure up an inanimate object in your hand or on the ground in an unoccupied space that ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Can an Arcane Trickster Rogue learn all of the wizard spells from the low levels it has slots for?

My take on this is as follows: Arcane Trickster level 17 class ability allows for stealing spells somebody is casting (this isn't restricted to wizard spells). Skill is located on PHB pg. 98, ...
8
votes
1answer
643 views

When must the wizard choose to overchannel?

The Evocation specialist wizard's overchannel ability says: When you cast a wizard spell of 5th level or lower that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with your spell. Does the "that ...
3
votes
2answers
223 views

Does a targeted creature still get a “save for half” against an overchanneled spell?

The Evocation Wizard's 14th level ability Overchannel says (in part): When you cast a wizard spell of 5th level or lower that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with that spell. I ...
5
votes
1answer
573 views

If I overchannel Bigby's Hand, does it do maximum damage every time it deals damage?

The Evocation Wizard's 14th level ability Overchannel says (in part): When you cast a wizard spell of 5th level or lower that deals damage, you can deal maximum damage with that spell. Bigby's ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Can the wizard in our group prepare a spell from the spellbook of an NPC wizard?

Whether the players killed a mage and got his spellbook(s) or they met with a nice wizard who let him or her learn a spell from his spellbook, can a player prepare a spell from a spellbook that isn't ...
4
votes
1answer
197 views

Ultimate Magus Question (3.5)

I'm making a Beguiler 1/Wizard 4/Ultimate Magus X. Using the practiced spellcaster feat, I can make sure that levels 1 and 4 of UM count towards my wizard class. However, at level 7 of UM, the ...
8
votes
2answers
553 views

Can a wizard cast the same spells on the following day without a spellbook?

I am a lvl 6 wizard/rogue about to go arcane trickster. One of my companions and myself were captured and all of our stuff taken. I had some spells left and then I used them. My question is, if I keep ...
1
vote
0answers
97 views

Can a wizard delay choosing spells for a spell book when leveling? [duplicate]

Imagine you have enough experience to gain two levels as a wizard. Instead of choosing lower level spells to add to your spell book - can you delay adding spells to your spell book until you do you ...
4
votes
2answers
362 views

Can Wizards use potions and magic items with effects from their prohibited schools?

In D&D 3.5, can wizards make use of potions with effects from their prohibited schools of magic? Similarly, can they use magic items that give buffs or similar effects based on spells that are ...
0
votes
0answers
31 views

When gaining a level of Mystic Theurge based on a Wizard, does the character gain 2 new Wizard spells? [duplicate]

On advancing a level of Mystic Theurge wherein the base arcane class is Wizard, does the advancement of "+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class" include the 2 additional new spells a Wizard ...
2
votes
1answer
350 views

Does using Hypnotic Gaze end my Invisibility?

I wanted to know if using Hypnotic Gaze from the Wizard's enchantment specialization would end invisibility. RAW, I would think Hypnotic Gaze would be classified as a class feature instead of a spell ...
0
votes
2answers
423 views

Which spell slots can wizards pick from if they have more spells that can be prepared than they have slots? [duplicate]

Sorry for the horribly worded title. Per the PHB: Wizards can prepare a number of spells equal to their Int Modifier + their wizard level. I have a necromancer who just hit 4th level and used the ...
11
votes
2answers
788 views

Can the Wizard move “Ritual” be used to create a permanent effect or learn a new move?

In my specific instance, I have an Immolator player that wants to gain the following move: Ogdru Jahad Gain the Wizard move Ritual. The GM will always tell you what you have to sacrifice to ...
1
vote
1answer
277 views

Can a wizard's bonded object be a sheathed weapon?

In Pathfinder, wizards are often required to have a bonded item which is in the form of a amulet, ring, staff, wand or weapon. I was reading a guide to wizards which lamented about the loss of the ...
2
votes
1answer
453 views

Do spellcasters need to know a spell to use a magic device?

This question came up amongst my group when, in a Pathfinder game, the Wizard acquired a wand of fireballs but does not actually know the spell fireball. Does he actually need to have fireball ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Counterspelling a counterspell

My party went up against two wizards. Wizard NPC 1 cast a spell, and Wizard PC used their reaction to Counterspell to try to block it. Wizard NPC 2 counterspelled Wizard PC. I have two questions about ...
3
votes
0answers
118 views

Can a multiclass Wizard copy (and then use) a spell of a higher level than their Wizard level alone would permit? [duplicate]

The 5e rules for multiclassing (PHB p. 164) state that your spells known and prepared are based on your class level for each class, but your spell slots are based on your combined levels, which may ...
11
votes
2answers
4k views

Can Wizards, Tome Warlocks, and those with the Ritual Caster feat use spells from each other's books?

How compatible are the spellbook used a Wizard, the ritual book of a character with the Ritual Caster feat, and the Book of Shadows used by a Pact of the Tome Warlock with the Book of Ancient Secrets ...
16
votes
4answers
2k views

Are the “fine inks” a wizard needs to copy a spell the same as the “rare inks” a warlock needs to copy a ritual?

The Book of Ancient Secrets Eldritch Invocation says that a Warlock can add ritual spells to his book of Shadows, and that this requires 50 gp worth of rare inks per spell level. A wizard can copy ...
0
votes
1answer
257 views

Gestalt Factotum//Artificer vs Factotum//Wizard [closed]

So my friend and I are looking at doing a solo gestalt campaign starting at level 8. It's going to be relatively high-wealth, set in Eberron. Basically, the idea is that since our current DM makes a ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a wizard copy prepared spells into a spellbook?

My spellbook got destroyed by water, and the DM decided that was enough for my spellbook to stop working. This means that my Wizard will need a new spellbook, but I still have several spells prepared. ...
13
votes
1answer
2k views

What can a wizard do without a spellbook?

So I have been reading through the 5e PHB section on wizards and a couple of things surprised me and I'm not sure if I am missing something. I was under the impression that Wizards required their ...
5
votes
4answers
909 views

Is there an official Pathfinder “Mana” system for wizards?

I thought about the idea of a mana system, and I know at that people have homebrewed it for 3.5 before, but i wanted to know if there was a mana or rechargable spell point system for wizards and magi (...
4
votes
3answers
520 views

Is it possible to increase the number of spell slots a wizard has?

In the Basic Rules for D&D 5e, the number of spells a wizard can prepare is somewhat determined by your ability score, but it seems that the number of spell slots is constant, no matter what your ...
14
votes
2answers
872 views

Does whether a Wizard can maintain the spell Polymorph upon themselves depend on the form they change into?

The level 4 spell Polymorph requires concentration to maintain. The subject retains their personality and alignment, but they have the mental statistics of the new form, which must be a beast and ...
6
votes
2answers
535 views

How can I make a wizard swear something in a way that will bind them to their word?

I want to make an neutral evil wizard swear to be my teacher in exchange for saving his life. Is there a spell or something to make him keep his word? Are there options if he is from another magic ...
35
votes
6answers
2k views

Using downtime activity to research spells

I run a D&D 5E campaign. I have a player who is playing a wizard. This player would like to use his downtime to learn new spells. Specifically, he doesn't want to create any new spells of his ...
-4
votes
1answer
654 views

5e multi-classing with a wizard level 1 and a druid level 1

I just got to level 2 and I'm a Wizard. I decided to multiclass right away instead of leveling my Wizard to level 2 because I couldn't decide which school of magic to choose. My questions are: How ...
1
vote
2answers
6k views

Optimal Wizard build giving a strongest Monk flavor ( touch or cone attack centered )

I am starting playing in a new campaign of 5E, and what I currently have is a first level Wizard. STR 10 DEX 14 CON 12 INT 16 WIS 14 CHA 12 Human ( Chaotic Neutral ) with a Sage ...
3
votes
2answers
566 views

Wizard minor conjuration ability interpretation [duplicate]

I would like to use Minor Conjuration to summon a flask of oil or alchemist's fire. Assuming I keep the object within the spells range (10ft), am I allowed to light this conjured substance on fire ...
1
vote
0answers
122 views

Thinking about PrC Arcane Hierophant [closed]

I'm fairly new to DnD, currently I'm playing with my second party ever. We aren't really power players, we're pretty casual players more concerned with fun than with optimizing builds. I'm a lvl 2 ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Why don't Wizards have access to Enhance Ability?

I have been searching the last couple of weeks for a reason why Sorcerers and Bards have access to Enhance Ability while the Wizard does not. Is there a clear cut reason behind this or is it a ...
8
votes
2answers
757 views

What happens to objects, changed while transmuted using Minor Alchemy, after they revert?

If the form of an object is changed while it's transmuted into another substance with the Minor Alchemy wizard ability, do the changes last after the effect wears off and the object reverts to its ...