9
votes
6answers
1k views

Can a character drop a weapon in order to cast a spell that is a reaction?

Suppose a Fighter/Wizard without the War Caster feat is wielding a sword and shield. If she is hit and wants to cast the Shield spell as a reaction (it has a somatic component), can she drop her ...
3
votes
1answer
374 views

Can the “Transformative” special ability be added to any (or even 'every') magic weapon found as treasure? [closed]

Reading the Adding New Abilities paragraph in the magic items rules, it seems that any melee magic weapon the party find can gain the Transformative special ability. All it takes is finding a crafter ...
5
votes
2answers
275 views

Does beast form entitlement include just mundane animals, or can you also change into things like dragons?

Does beast form entitlement only include mundane animals like cats, or also things like dragons? If so, does it only give basic powers like turning you into a human sized dragon (if you don't also ...
2
votes
0answers
59 views

Does shapechanging come under Entitlement(Shapechange), the Vessel power or can it be either?

I'm a bit confused in part time gods about changing shapes. There are a few powers under the shaping manifestation skill that allow for this. But on the other hand there exists an animal form ...
5
votes
1answer
877 views

Are creatures affected by Geas truly “forced” to follow your actions, or merely coerced by the threat of damage?

I believe this is the question that a user was trying to get at here. Geas states that you cast the spell on a creature, thereby forcing it to carry out some service or refrain from some action or ...
13
votes
3answers
936 views

Can I save immediately against Otto's Irresistible Dance, and have a chance of never dancing at all?

Otto's Irresistible Dance has two components relevant to this question: A dancing creature must use all its movement to dance And As an action, a dancing creature makes a Wisdom saving throw ...
2
votes
3answers
640 views

What are the advantages of switching to Sorcerer at level 2 versus staying with Bloodrager?

I have a Bloodrager 1, and I'm thinking of multiclassing into Sorcerer at 2nd level. As far as I can tell, the only thing that I am losing is the favored class perks (since I would plan to pump all ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

How are the two different kinds of saves used?

I'm trying to understand how saves work and are used. I'm reading the Basic Rules and this is what I have so far: Your spell save is 8 + (proficiency bonus) + (ability modifier). Your saving throw ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

Why is Magical Lineage so great for Magus?

Magical Lineage Benefit: Pick one spell when you choose this trait. When you apply metamagic feats to this spell that add at least 1 level to the spell, treat its actual level as 1 lower for ...
1
vote
3answers
364 views

Shadow Template ECL 6 can obtain Fast Healing 2? Ways to Obtain Fast Healing?

In the Lord of Madness pg. 168 the shadow template states you can pick an ability from their list every 4HD. The template comes with a +2 la but dosen't that mean you can have Fast healing 2 by CL4 ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

How might the weight of a falling object affect the damage it causes?

Fall damage is 1d6 per 10 feet. What adjustments if any should I make for objects falling on a player character? (e.g. a bear) Assuming the objects are meaningful threats but not instant character ...
4
votes
3answers
493 views

Is it possible to increase the number of spell slots a wizard has?

In the Basic Rules for D&D 5e, the number of spells a wizard can prepare is somewhat determined by your ability score, but it seems that the number of spell slots is constant, no matter what your ...
1
vote
1answer
430 views

Do any of these sources of AC bonuses conflict or negate each other?

My understanding, confirmed by the answer to this question: When a War Caster Wizard carrying a shield casts the spell "Shield" does the AC bonus Stack? is that anywhere an actual +N bonus ...
6
votes
2answers
234 views

How can I keep the Cthulhu mythos new and mysterious to experienced players?

I am currently preparing a Call of Cthulhu adventure, and am hoping to be able to play the game on a regular basis in the future. But I am having concerns about keeping the mystery in the game from ...
2
votes
1answer
41 views

How do you add more space for group stats in Scabard

So, I've started using the Scabard Campaign Management stuff, and it looks really cool. Unfortunately I'm having trouble entering nations as groups. The problem is that the stat page for groups has ...
4
votes
1answer
366 views

On the turn after Haste ends, can you use a reaction?

The description of the Haste spell concludes with: When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it. Could the target ...
2
votes
1answer
80 views

Can an enemy spend a standard action to end multiple instances of Death's Gauntlet?

Death's Gauntlet, the necromacer 1st level at will spell (p.85) offers ongoing damage with a curious special: Instead of taking the ongoing damage at the end of its turn, the target can use its ...
13
votes
2answers
772 views

Does whether a Wizard can maintain the spell Polymorph upon themselves depend on the form they change into?

The level 4 spell Polymorph requires concentration to maintain. The subject retains their personality and alignment, but they have the mental statistics of the new form, which must be a beast and ...
3
votes
2answers
183 views

What is Fair for a Rank 0 Shugenja

I am presently running a game of L5R where they are encountering students who have failed their gempukku. For courtiers and bushi this is easy: no school. However, with a shugenja, talking to the ...
6
votes
1answer
240 views

Who has escaped the Lady of Pain's mazes and how was that escape made?

The adventure Faction War tells the story of Factol Rowan Darkwood and his bid to take over Sigil. As part of this plot he is imprisoned in a Maze by the Lady of Pain, but his foresight allows his ...
8
votes
1answer
232 views

What's the benefit of a Druid (or a Warrior Druid in particular) having a shield?

A Druid (from 13 True Ways, page 38) gets +0 base AC and a -2 attack penalty for having a shield, going by the 13th age PDFs. There's an asterisk note that says: * Warrior druid talent choices ...
0
votes
1answer
87 views

How can I hide a quiver or arrows? How big is a quiver?

I am trying to figure out how hiding something like a quiver would work or if there is a way to do this at all. Would hiding a quiver use a slight of hand check as the DC to spot? This quiver doesn't ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the maximum skill bonus that can be crafted into a magic item?

So, I know that a weapon enchantment caps out at +10 or 200K GP value. But what about skill increasing items? It seems pretty cheap to get a +10 ring of Jump. (10,000 GP) But I remember reading ...
5
votes
1answer
868 views

When a racial trait grants me use of a spell, does it have to also become a spell I know?

Infernal Legacy. You know the thaumaturgy cantrip. Once you reach 3rd level, you can cast the hellish rebuke spell once per day as a 2nd-level spell. Once your reach 5th level, you can also cast ...
8
votes
1answer
871 views

When a Warlock Invocation lets me cast a spell, do I also have to make it one of my Spells Known?

My friends and I are going to be starting another campaign in the near future. I've going to be playing as a Warlock and I was hoping to get some clarification on the use of the Eldritch Invocation ...
1
vote
2answers
307 views

Will I still get spell failure with multicalss Kensai / fighter?

Going from fighter to Magus Kensai, it says: A kensai is not proficient with armor or shields and suffers normal arcane spell failure chance when casting magus spells while armored. But as a ...
7
votes
1answer
215 views

multi-class order clarification

If a player goes Fighter 1 / Wizard 19, taking the Fighter level first, they get all of the Fighter proficiencies and none of the Wizard proficiencies, correct? (That is, they get the usual fighter ...
3
votes
2answers
494 views

Should I worry about “picking the wrong spell” for a prepared caster?

I'm thinking of picking a magus to play, but I'm nervous that I'll at some point pick the wrong spell and make the party worse off. Is this a legitimate fear? Or am I just paranoid? I'm nervous to ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Which class should an armored Wizard multi-class with, and in what order?

For a Wizard who plans to be in battle, what factors should be considered when deciding between taking a level or two of Fighter or of Cleric, and when? Fighter 1 would give the heavy armor ...
2
votes
1answer
71 views

Different numbers of PCs to the adventure spec

I'm about to start Keep on the Shadowfell with a party of seven friends (beginners) but the adventure spec says the encounters are built for five PCs. Is there a particular method for changing the ...
12
votes
1answer
327 views

What is the Ordial Plane and is it canon?

I have seen several references to something called the "Ordial Plane" to exist in Planescape. From what I can tell it is the third Transistive Plane which houses the bodies of the gods and the ...
6
votes
2answers
282 views

How can a creature with the extraplanar subtype avoid being sent forcibly back to its native plane?

Theory here but this will be a Changeling with the extraplanar subtype from the Dark Template. The character is currently martial rogue and has huge dumps into skills for infiltration and subterfuge. ...
2
votes
2answers
613 views

How does extraplanar work in 3.5 vs Outsider and Native?

What IS an Outsider vs a Native and what is the Extraplanar subtype? To my understanding an Outsider is from another plane so they have the Extraplanar subtype added when on a different plane than ...
3
votes
0answers
123 views

Does The Ranger's Feral Senses Accomplish Anything, RAW? [duplicate]

According to this question, Invisible, but unhidden enemies are sensed automatically. However, this seems to contradict the Ranger's Feral Senses ability. FERAL SENSES: You are also aware of the ...
1
vote
1answer
107 views

Do I also add half my level again if I can add a second attribute to a roll?

Consider a level 4 character with 14 Dex and 16 Int. Normally this character would have an initiative modifier of +4; +2 for Dex, and +2 for half level. If this character takes a feat or gains a magic ...
1
vote
2answers
644 views

Adding spells to enchanted weapons

So, quick and simple. D&D 3.5 for relevance Can you enchant a 1/day spell onto a pre-enchanted weapon. If so, is it a cost increase, or + increase? Lets say I have a +3 longsword. I go out and I ...
4
votes
1answer
3k views

How is a damage rounded for damage resistance?

If a creature has damage resistance, and is dealt an odd amount of damage, do you round the final damage up or down? The Player's Handbook, annoyingly, only gives the example of ...
1
vote
2answers
684 views

How to get spontaneous arcane casting without an armor penalty in pathfinder?

How could I get a gish in pathfinder with spontaneous arcane casting without having to worry about spell failure chance. To those that would say sorcerer/fighter, how do I avoid the spell failure ...
3
votes
3answers
785 views

What is the minimum INT practical for an Eldridtch Knight

If an Eldritch Knight focuses on spells that don't have an attack roll or saving throw, INT (spellcasting stat) becomes less critical. But is there still a minimum INT required to cast spells of a ...
10
votes
3answers
970 views

Can you concede when compelled to fight in Fate Core?

The character in question has the Curse of the Lycanthrope aspect, which causes him to become rabid and ferocious when something triggers him to transform. The characters are all traveling together ...
5
votes
1answer
459 views

Is a Shillelagh attack a spell attack or a regular attack?

Spell sniper indicates that it gives all spell attacks double range. While "touch" does not have a range to double, I'm curious if attacking with a Shillelagh-ified weapon counts as a spell attack or ...
5
votes
2answers
267 views

Cthulhu Campaign - How to create a more satisfying climax?

I'm in the midst of creating a campaign for my CoC group. By now, most of the material we played basically came down to these endings: a) Run away and hope whatever it was doesn't follow you ...
3
votes
2answers
99 views

Giant's Wrath and Full Attack?

The Spell Giant's Wrath (Spell Compendium, p. 105) states you can throw one of the enchanted pebbles as an attack action. Does that mean I can throw multiple pebbles as a full Attack provided I ...
1
vote
2answers
316 views

Can Summoned Monsters have their own initiative?

The spell description for summon monster includes this line: "It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn." This means that the summons would act on the summoners initiative ...
14
votes
3answers
3k views

Can a Familiar aid a Rogue's Sneak Attack?

A Rogue character with the Arcane Trickster archetype chooses Find Familiar as her non-enchantment, non-illusion, 1st level spell. How does that creature interact with the Sneack Attack feature? From ...
6
votes
1answer
156 views

Was Chodana ever expressed?

Euthanatos in Mage: Ascension are death-mages who think that it is their duty to give Good Death to those whom they deem corrupted beyond repair. They have an elaborate set of traditions, rules and ...
19
votes
7answers
3k views

What's the best way to kill a character in a way that is memorable, and treated with respect by players?

Sooner or later they're going to die. Most games have a risk of death in them and that means that a character is going to get killed and is not coming back, no way, no how. It's new character time. ...
2
votes
1answer
603 views

How is learning spells of certain levels restricted by available spellslots?

For example, creating a Sorcerer 3/ Druid 2 character, who (as a level 5 multiclass character of entirely spell-casting classes) has four Lv1 spellslots, three Lv2 SSs and two Lv3 SSs. A level 3 ...
2
votes
1answer
312 views

confirmation on how Incite Rampage works on the Gnoll pack lord

"Multiattack. The gnoll makes two attacks, either with its glaive or its longbow, and uses its Incite Rampage if it can."(Monster Manual 163) I take that to mean that Incite rampage can replace one ...
1
vote
3answers
4k views

Simple and Martial Weapons - is that melee only, or both melee and ranged?

In DnD 5e the Ranger get simple and martial weapon proficiencies. Do these include RANGED weapons of those types, or only melee? I had assumed only melee, but then there's no way they can be ...

15 30 50 per page