4
votes
1answer
158 views

Do penalties from wounds and fatigue stack?

If a character is wounded and takes a level of fatigue do the penalties stack? For example does a character with one wound and is also fatigued take a -2 penalty to all trait rolls?
20
votes
11answers
2k views

Game with Interesting Combat that is Crunch Heavy and is built to not Require a Grid?

As an alternative to trying to play a game that normally requires a grid, I'm looking for an RPG that Has mechanically interesting combat (plenty of depth, not necessarily high complexity). Has a ...
4
votes
0answers
166 views

Is it possible to do a one-night D&D (or similar) session in just a few hours with only three people? [closed]

My flatmate is big D&D fan, but we two other flatmates are not particularly interested (though not averse either.) Can we two inexperienced flatmates set up a role-playing game, have it be fun for ...
4
votes
1answer
260 views

How many Free Actions are worth a Simple Action?

In Shadowrun 5, you can take two Simple Actions in an Action Phase. You also have a single Free Action - but the gamemaster may decide to allow more. How many Free Actions could a character do in ...
4
votes
1answer
306 views

Vehicle tests, riggers and hotsimming

Vehicle mounted weapons are operated with the following test for manual use: Weapon Skill + Agility[Accuracy] and for remote usage it changes to: Gunnery + Logic[Accuracy] Based on this, ...
2
votes
2answers
192 views

Can a Warforged add his Slam attack damage to a shield bash attack?

Just a thought a friend of mine brought up while working on a Warforged character: since a shield bash attack theoretically has about the same movements as a Warforged slam attack, shouldn't you be ...
3
votes
1answer
329 views

Blackstaff Apprentice and Wizard's Fury

I looked around online, but again couldn't find an answer. I also saw the Dragon Magazine articles from issues 409 and 374, but want a diffinative ruling. When you take the Blackstaff Apprentice ...
5
votes
1answer
375 views

Datajacks and rigger control rigs

The description of a rigger control rig includes a throw away comment that 'it's like getting a free datajack' (5th ed. Core Rulebook p.265). Am I supposed to take this literally and assume that if I ...
4
votes
2answers
572 views

Warshaper limits to size

Is there any limit to how much a Warshaper (Complete Warrior) can grow their limbs using their Morphic Weapons ability? As far as the rules say, it is possible for a Tiny creature to then grow to ...
9
votes
2answers
302 views

Does Teamwork make you give up your action?

Both Fate Core and Fate Accelerated Edition have rules by which one player makes a roll and the others assist him without passing him free invocations or spending Fate points. In FAE this is called ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Removal of Cyberware, and Upgrade Essence costs

I am planning on my character being a troll mage who's corp born. In talks with my GM we have determined that in his world corp people get forced implants. So I am getting a free skilljack for better ...
7
votes
1answer
235 views

Can Iron Heart Surge remove a Necrotic Cyst?

Plain and simple, by RAW can the Iron Heart Surge maneuver from the Tome of Battle remove a Necrotic Cyst, a spell from Libris Mortis.
3
votes
3answers
743 views

Where can I find rules for creating pocket dimensions?

I have a powerful mage as the BBEG in my next campaign, and part of what makes him powerful is that he can travel around, and move lots of other people, using magic. While Teleport and Teleport ...
9
votes
2answers
409 views

What happens when a player burns spiderwebs?

What happens when spiderwebs are set alight? Though page 69 of the DMG lists spiderwebs as a special terrain it doesn't talk about the effects of fire. I'm about to run in encounter with a LOT of ...
2
votes
1answer
406 views

Where does mounting/dismounting start/end?

I want to get on my mount. Where should my character be for this to be possible? I initially thought being in any adjacent square was enough but I've read an article for 3.5 which suggests you need to ...
4
votes
1answer
272 views

What does “Pinned and Helpless” mean when an opponent has been successfully pinned?

I have a player that has pinned an opponent. What actions may third parties, other characters, take against this pinned individual? Do they still need to roll to hit? Do they get bonuses? The "Pinned ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

D&D 4e Campaigns/Adventures that spell things out for a brand new DM

I am brand new to D&D I bought the Player's Handbook, DM Guide and Monster Manuel.. Along with Monster Vault and The Dungeon Master's Kit.. I also got the Starter Red Box... What I am looking for ...
3
votes
1answer
374 views

How to represent streetwise skills?

Some game systems have a Streetwise skill. Here are things that it's usually related to: Knowing about urchins, pick-pockets and urban gangs, their organization, codes, behaviors Knowing who's where ...
11
votes
4answers
634 views

Chances of rolling up characters for classes in first edition Dungeons and Dragons

I recently read a blog post about the probabilities of rolling up a character that would meet the requirements for all of the different classes in first edition Dungeons and Dragons. I'd love to read ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

Does a Pathfinder Witch's Slumber Hex Count as Mind-Affecting Effect?

From d20pfsrd.com, the Witch gets the following Hex: Slumber (Su): A witch can cause a creature within 30 feet to fall into a deep, magical sleep, as per the spell sleep. The creature ...
8
votes
3answers
568 views

Can a shaman have 2 spirit companions?

I'm making a Shaman in 4th edition and I'm trying to make him be one with the spirits. I was wondering if a shaman can have 2 spirit companions. It would be cool if I had a Phoenix as one spirit ...
2
votes
1answer
135 views

Does Swordmage Warding benefit a multiclassed wizard's summoned creatures?

Okay, I looked around online and read both Forgotten Realms and Arcane Power, but am unclear on if Swordmage Warding benefits a Wizard's Summoned creatures. I'm a wizard who has the Blade Initiate ...
16
votes
1answer
440 views

Is there a tabletop role-playing game based on Hello Kitty?

Looking for an appropriate role-playing game to introduce little girls into the hobby (*), I have found a role-playing game based on My Little Pony and a Massive Multiplayer Role Playing Game based on ...
7
votes
2answers
446 views

Correctly deploying Smokestick

I've been trawling the handbook and google for information on the correct deployment of Smokestick. The reason being that I currently have a character "on the run" evading a much stronger CR enemy ...
8
votes
6answers
457 views

In FATE, can action descriptions be revised after die rolls to apply aspects?

In FATE, you can utilize aspects to improve your die rolls, granting bonuses or re-rolls. However, you can choose to apply aspects after the die has already rolled. Does one revise the description of ...
1
vote
1answer
94 views

How long does a Binding last?

The Binding advantage in GURPS allows a character to hold another character in place, in a way similar to being grappled by a creature with ST equal to the level of your Binding. My problem is that ...
8
votes
0answers
158 views

How can I distill “Expedition to the Barrier Peaks” down to the best 7 or 8 encounters to fit inside one hour? [closed]

On Friday I'll be doing a role play demo for 13 Montessori students between 12 and 14 years old. It's a one hour deal, and this is my second time to do it. Since it is such a short time frame, and ...
11
votes
3answers
4k views

Quick Draw / Quick Sheath Items?

Does the Quick Draw feat allow you to also store the weapon you were wielding as part of the free action? If not, what sort of action is it to 'switch weapons' without dropping one or the other on ...
22
votes
3answers
3k views

Is a Dragonwrought Kobold a True Dragon?

The Monster Manual refers to some creatures with the Dragon type as “True Dragons,” and some later books refer to True Dragon status as a prerequisite for various options. Races of the ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Where has the community from Avidgamers (1 & 2) migrated to?

Where has the community from Avidgamers (1 & 2) migrated to? The original Avidgamers.com was teeming with personal RP site. There was a conversion/migration to a new ag2.avidgamers.com site, but ...
8
votes
3answers
478 views

Dual cursed mis-fortune revelation

Misfortune (Ex): At 1st level, as an immediate action, you can force a creature within 30 feet to reroll any one d20 roll that it has just made before the results of the roll are revealed. The ...
2
votes
0answers
39 views

looking for advice on miniatures and RPG [duplicate]

can anybody offer any advice on what path to follow for solo playing games. I have been looking at different aspects of gaming. I have looked at a lot of board games and have recently bought Arkham ...
13
votes
3answers
594 views

Why can't a bonded item be in the head slot?

In pathfinder, a Wizard's bonded item can only be an amulet, ring, wand, or staff. Why? Is there something gamebreaking about allowing a head-slot item as a bonded item? We're considering removing the ...
1
vote
2answers
309 views

Can Flaming Sphere attack each turn?

I have a question as to the sustaining of Flaming Sphere. I know that it only needs to be sustained once, but in the Sustain Minor effet, it reads: "You can sustain this power until the end of ...
5
votes
2answers
142 views

Incapacitation wound modifiers

When a character takes more than three wounds do all of the wounds apply for a penalty? For instance if a character somehow took 10 wounds would that character have to make the roll at -10?
2
votes
3answers
150 views

Dominate and interaction with environment

Here's the situation: the player had a creature dominated. The module gave the list of standard, move, and minor actions the monster had in the standard monster block. But, there was a separate ...
4
votes
1answer
249 views

Downtime: separate building checks vs summed bonus

The earnings passage under Rooms and Teams states If you have multiple buildings or organizations in a settlement and they can generate the same kind of capital, you don't have to roll for ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Multiple attacks [duplicate]

If a feat or power gives you two attacks, is that two attacks per BAB, or is is two attacks total? Here is the power that prompted this question: Lesser Beast Totem
6
votes
1answer
102 views

How do attunement and consorts work?

In Wraith the Oblivion, I fail to fully understand a rule as basic as attunement and consorts. Consorts are defined as the people (or object) a Wraith attunes to. Attunement consists on expending ...
5
votes
2answers
130 views

How would I run a game of Legend without a Battlemap?

Since both battle-mats and miniatures tend to be fairly expensive (and I would personally prefer a more descriptive style of battles anyway), I was wondering how one might run a game of Legend without ...
3
votes
1answer
492 views

Wizard's Fury grants a second attack per turn?

I was wondering if it was possible to chain the effect of Wizard's Fury's power on following turns (after the turn I activate it) with other attack spells for a secondary attack each turn, seeing as ...
5
votes
1answer
121 views

Can a Giant Flytrap in Pathfinder engulf a medium creature?

For a Giant Flytrap in Pathfinder, the rules text indicates: "If a giant flytrap begins its turn with an opponent at least two size categories smaller than itself grappled..., it can close its jaws ...
16
votes
2answers
9k views

How does time work in 3.5/Pathfinder?

I am wondering about preparing spells per day. How long is a day? One session? Also some spells last 15 minutes. How long is that during a combat encounter?
3
votes
1answer
560 views

Does Perfect maneuverability need Fly checks?

I can't seem to find a detailed breakdown of how to use Flight as a PC beyond what to expect of different maneuverability levels, but whenever flying is mentioned I sometimes come accross mention of ...
10
votes
2answers
5k views

How are dual-wielding penalties applied?

Regarding dual-wielding as outlined in the 2012-01-28 (latest as of posting) playtest packet for D&D Next; with two light weapons equipped – one in each hand – do both attacks made on a turn ...
3
votes
2answers
806 views

Are there rules for creating animated objects?

Craft Construct allows player characters to create their own homunculus, golem or shield guardian. Other than by the spell animate objects with permanency, are there any rules allowing the creation of ...
3
votes
1answer
114 views

Improved Beastmaster?

I have a player who has the beast master edge and also a minor pacifist hindrance, in my last game he asked to do an intimidate test of will to try to setup his dog for a defensive attack on a bandit ...
8
votes
3answers
448 views

Can a flying creature that has been knocked prone fly away without standing up?

Focus of my question is given in the title. More generally, which movement options a prone creature has? I am aware of the 5-ft. crawl and the stand up (both move actions that provoke an attack of ...
5
votes
1answer
325 views

What bonuses apply to Flame Spiral's Effect line?

I'm trying to figure out which bonuses apply to Flame Spiral's Effect text: Effect: Until the start of your next turn, any enemy that enters a square adjacent to you or starts its turn there takes ...
8
votes
7answers
833 views

Cyberpunk chronicle… any ideas? [closed]

I want to run a Cyberpunk chronicle using a system that I designed, but have run out of ideas. I don't want to employ the clichés, like the AI who's gone sentient and want to merge his mind with ...

15 30 50 per page