3
votes
2answers
322 views

If the campaign stalls at a deadly cliffhanger and we never play again, is my character dead?

Is a character that's about to die just before a campaign is abandoned effectively dead? We have reached the climax of the game — the end all, "winner takes all" type situation. Two of us are ...
1
vote
0answers
23 views

Is there a way to auto-load an image in Fantasy Grounds, upon clients connecting?

Basically, I want to leave the server on, and when clients connect, I want an image/background to load, to start setting the mood/ambiance. I will be away from my computer, so, I won't be able to ...
7
votes
5answers
891 views

Dealing with a difficult player who's uninterested and disruptive, as a player

We've started a new campaign that's full of new players. The only people with experience are the GM (5+ years) and myself (1 campaign, 7 sessions). The other 4 have never touched a TRPG. It's been ...
3
votes
1answer
37 views

Can you use the Center stance (or any stance) outside of a duel or skirmish?

In a duel or a skirmish, the Center stance seems fairly straightforward: you give up your action one round in order to get a few benefits on the next round (chiefly, +1k1+Void to a roll). Outside of ...
12
votes
4answers
626 views

Dungeon World after much D&D (3.5E, 4E and 5E) - struggling with what degree of “fiction first” applies to moves

My group tried out Dungeon World for first time. We've played quite a variety of games, but the most time has been spent with D&D 4E and 5E. During the session - which in general I enjoyed - I ...
-2
votes
1answer
161 views

Are there any specific rules about how to prepare spells in D&D 5e?

[This question is related to my Dwarven Cleric character.] In the Player's Handbook it says that all spells need to be prepared in advance before they can be used. I get that this is done while ...
0
votes
0answers
43 views

Can I use my action to do something that requires a bonus action? [duplicate]

As per title. Working example I'm interested in: I'm a 2nd level Druid. Let's say I'm in Wild Shape, which takes a bonus action to dismiss, and let's say I want to cast Healing Word, which requires a ...
1
vote
2answers
98 views

Would Bronze and/or Iron weapons and armor have different stats than “typical” ones in games?

I thought about asking this in Worldbuilding, but since this specifically includes stats for said items, I figured I'd ask here. I want to create a Mid-Late Ancient Era (Classical Greco-Roman) type ...
10
votes
1answer
520 views

Do lycanthropes need to do damage in order to inflict the curse?

I'd like to clarify whether were-creatures need to do damage in order to have a chance of inflicting the lycanthropy curse. Considering the creature stats in isolation it would appear the answer is ...
5
votes
1answer
104 views

Size and nature of the Fields of the Dead in the Forgotten Realms

Am I reading the official map of Faerun right, is the Fields of the Dead (north of Baldur's Gate, as per SCAG) wider than 300 miles, from the coast to the Forest of Wyrms / Reaching Woods territories? ...
3
votes
1answer
50 views

What exactly is the distance one can teleport?

Looking at the teleport powers from the books and also the net supplement ultimate powers I'm unsure. Ultimate powers states Coulmn E on distance table while the core rules say the rank defines the ...
4
votes
2answers
189 views

Is escaping a grapple an action or an attack action?

GRAPPLING When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack ...
11
votes
9answers
4k views

How should I deal with metagaming?

I'm the GM and author of my own system, which we have been playing for a couple of years now. Last year, four completely new members joined. Two players are giving hints to others even when their ...
1
vote
1answer
113 views

From where do you start counting distance when you have natural reach?

I encountered an odd situation. I am playing a naturally large(tall) character so I have a natural reach of 10. My character is also based using a bow for ranged attacks, I also have point blank shot ...
0
votes
0answers
22 views

Does the spell effect of an alchemical device that miss their target still trigger?

In the Hellfrost setting ranged weapons such as arrows can be turned into alchemical devices that trigger a spell when they hit. For example, you can have an arrow that triggers a Blast. What happens ...
1
vote
4answers
115 views

Which other feat might I use for double wielding reach?

Starting from the assumptions that Dragon Magazine material was often unbalanced (under- or over-powered) and that adding lots of options always increases the chance of combining powers and feats into ...
3
votes
3answers
199 views

How do I design a campaign about stealing? [closed]

In the one-on-one campaign I'm running, the player's rogue wants to steal stuff. All the time. His goal is to become the Greatest Thief of All Time. I prefer good stories, but the player seems more ...
5
votes
2answers
205 views

How does Relentless Endurance interact with reduction of maximum hitpoints?

Yesterday, my Half-Orc was nearly insta-killed by a nasty crit from a wraith by reducing my maximum hitpoints to 0. Our DM, out of the kindness of his heart, ruled that I could choose to be reduced to ...
5
votes
1answer
215 views

Can a surprised creature contest a grappling attempt?

We know a suprised creature can't move or take an action on it's first turn of the combat, but can it actively try to contest a grappling attempt by making a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity ...
0
votes
1answer
30 views

What do I need for setting up a Shadowrun 3 character sheet on roll20?

I'm trying to set up a Shadowrun 3 game on Roll20, but they only have the Shadowrun 2 character sheet and macros. I'm not clear on everything Shadowrun 3 needs yet — am I able to get away with ...
14
votes
3answers
1k views

Can Prestidigitation soil someone's pants?

Assuming the pants in question are within 10 feet of the caster (20 if a sorcerer is using the distance metamagic on Prestidigitation for some reason) and the caster is targeting only a cubic foot ...
5
votes
2answers
76 views

Why are Wonders/Talismans double cost?

As the title says. Well, Mage Revised doesn't even say they're double-cost - but Guide to the Technocracy says: Like the Background: Device (Talisman), each dot in Enhancements costs two ...
3
votes
0answers
52 views

How long do metal, wood and other materials last when left unattended? [closed]

In most RPGs, adventurers break in long forgotten tombs filed with treasure that looks just like it was left there the day before. In a more realistic game, what would happen to materials left ...
4
votes
2answers
77 views

Can you retrieve a potion while grappling?

The Rules Compedium explicitly limits the options while grappling to a certain list. Retrieving a potion is not on this list, retrieving a spell component (full round action) and drawing a light ...
5
votes
1answer
100 views

Does increasing size stop the grapple if it has been initiated with Improved Grab?

A Huge reptile bit my Medium character and started a grapple using Improved Grab. My character activated a Polymorph item and transformed into an elefant - which is Huge. Improved Grab says: ...
2
votes
1answer
38 views

Is there any way to change my realm of magic?

I am currently participating in a MERP campaign in which I play a 3rd level fighter.When I generated said Fighter I researched spellcasting. Fighters can only learn very low level spells and have to ...
7
votes
1answer
57 views

What does “minimum” mean in the Force Training feat?

The "Force Training" feat reads: You add force power suite equal to 1 + Your Wisdom Modifier (Minimum 1) Does this mean that the feat gives a bonus of [(1 + Wis mod) or 1, whichever is higher] ...
7
votes
1answer
112 views

Can warlocks' familiars use armor/shields?

Can imps or quasits wear armor or shields? If so, how much would it cost to get armor and shields of the appropriate size (tiny)? Would they have a penalty for using such equipment, or do they have ...
3
votes
2answers
232 views

Do growing effects on creatures (such as Enlarge Person and Righteous Might) stack?

Actually nothing in the rules says anything about this, while anything affecting the size of weapons seems to not stack with other kinds of growing effects. It is mentioned for the Growing weapon ...
2
votes
1answer
45 views

Is there any power that allows one to drain PP?

I'm currently reading through the rules and wondering: Is there any power that allows one to absorb/drain PP of others? For example in some other games like wod and part time gods some splats have ...
4
votes
3answers
227 views

Can a PF cleric create 9600 gallons of water a day? [duplicate]

It seems like cleric in PF can use unlimited times of 0-level spell a day. By a simple calculation, a level 1 cleric working for 8 hours a day can create 9600 gallons of water a day, by using the ...
2
votes
1answer
64 views

Can I temporarily store evolution points in myself with the Summoner's Aspect ability?

When a Summoner uses the Aspect ability to divert evolution points to take on evolutions for himself, can those points then later be diverted back to his Eidolon's pool or are they permanently stuck ...
11
votes
2answers
365 views

Can you be cursed with multiple types of lycanthropy?

Can a single humanoid be cursed with multiple types of lycanthropy ? Like let's say a Weretigerboar, or a Werewolfrat ?
14
votes
10answers
2k views

How could I phys-rep a swarm of flying creatures?

Suppose my referee friend wanted to send a swarm of bees, bats, crows, or some other small flying creatures at some players. How could he simulate something that'd evoke the right reactions? The ...
8
votes
2answers
686 views

Can you cast an immediate action spell while you are casting a one round spell.

This came up on the /r/pathfinder_rpg subreddit, and it made me wonder, is it possible to cast an immediate action spell while you're casting a one round spell? The idea was that someone could begin ...
5
votes
2answers
95 views

How does encumbrance interact with Enlarge Person?

According to the Carry Capacity rules, an increase in size of one category grants a x2 multiplier to your carrying capacity, and a decrease in size reduces your capacity by half. When under the ...
16
votes
4answers
2k views

Can you draw a weapon as part of the Opportunity Attack?

Can you draw a weapon as part of the Opportunity Attack? The section about "Interacting with Objects around you" in the PHB p.190 says you can do things like "draw or sheathe a sword" as part of your ...
3
votes
1answer
93 views

Should an Aqueous Orb provide cover for a creature hiding behind it?

There's an Archer in my party, and I'm playing the party Wizard. It's likely going to come up that there will be a time when an enemy ends up behind the 10' diameter sphere of churning water made by ...
6
votes
1answer
119 views

Can Slippers of Spider Climbing be used to stick to the ground?

If a giant bird that can pick people up comes at me and I activate my Slippers of Spider Climbing while standing on the ground, will this hinder or even prevent the bird from picking me up? Is it ...
11
votes
1answer
571 views

What happens with lethargy when Haste is cast again on a creature before first cast runs out?

Haste states When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it. However, let's say Character A cast Haste on Character B. ...
4
votes
2answers
91 views

Does Bestow Curse stack with itself in Pathfinder?

My players are about to fight Marsh Giants, which have the supernatural ability to cast Bestow Curse. I found this answer for 3.5, I wasn't sure if the same rules apply here. Can I curse my players ...
17
votes
4answers
627 views

How to introduce the levelless, cost-based spells of Cthulhu d20 into D&D 5e

Cthulhu d20 has a magic system in which spells aren't tied to classes nor to levels. Anyone can learn and use a spell, if they're willing to pay the price, which usually comes in the form of a ...
18
votes
4answers
1k views

Are upper-level combat encounters still as complicated and time-consuming?

With level 10 and higher PCs, a lone Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 or Pathfinder combat encounter can take a long time, but I haven't heard if the same is true in Dungeons and Dragons 5E. Does a 5E ...
7
votes
2answers
160 views

Does Calm Emotions still allow a saving throw?

Old dragons can frighten you: Frightful Presence. Each creature of the dragon's choice that is within 120 feet of the dragon and aware of it must succeed on a DC 16 Wisdom saving throw or become ...
8
votes
2answers
568 views

What stops practitioners of Enchantment and Illusion magics from taking over societies? [closed]

What stops practitioners of Enchantment and Illusion magics from taking over humanoid societies in your average D&D 5e world? See, given enough time and resources, they could impersonate ...
14
votes
3answers
1k views

What is a “Living” campaign?

I have gone to many game conventions where I have seen a "Living" campaign referred to. I do not quite understand what a "Living" campaign is. Explain the overall concept of a "Living" campaign and ...
4
votes
1answer
119 views

Does concealment negate all precision damage?

I will start with the feat that leads me to believe that this might be the case. Shadow Strike: You can deal precision damage, such as sneak attack damage, against targets with concealment (but ...
12
votes
2answers
248 views

Can a paladin use his Divine Smite/Improved Divine Smite when using the Tentacle Rod?

Divine Smite can be used when the player makes a successful melee attack and at level 11 improved divine smite automatically adds 1d8 damage to all melee attacks. When wielding the tentacle rod you ...
11
votes
3answers
2k views

How can PCs find how to restore Horrifying Visage aging?

The Horrifying Visage attack of a D&D 5e ghost involves a Wisdom saving throw with a haunting failure ramification: If the save fails by 5 or more, the target also ages 1d4*10 years. ...
6
votes
1answer
458 views

Can a wizard brew a potion of a spell if the spell is higher than a level he can prepare?

I need clarification of the Brew Potion feat. As an example, can a 3rd level Wizard copy Heroism into their spellbook by making the appropriate Spellcraft check, even though Heroism is a 3rd level ...

15 30 50 per page