9
votes
2answers
407 views

Can I exclude characters from understanding my magically understandable speech?

The rules for the monk ability Tongue of the Sun and Moon state: Starting at 13th level, you learn to touch the ki of other minds so that you understand all spoken languages. Moreover, any ...
9
votes
5answers
2k views

Paladin Smite Spells and the Steed: Can either or both trigger the damage?

Short question How does the family of Smite spells work when a Paladin is mounted on a Paladin's Steed that was summoned by Find Steed spell? Steed and Paladin share the effects of some spells. ...
9
votes
1answer
319 views

Do illusionists see through their own physical illusions?

In the English core rule book on page 290, under the Mana Illusions heading, it says "you're never affected by your own illusion spell", but doesn't qualify this statement as explicitly only applying ...
9
votes
5answers
2k views

Maximum levels in AD&D 2nd Edition

I just inherited a bunch of old school adventures for AD&D 2nd Edition, which I'm going to adapt for Pathfinder. At the beginning of many of these old adventures it lists what levels characters ...
9
votes
3answers
837 views

What kind of action is rake?

Rake descriptions are annoyingly unclear. Does winning a grapple check let you rake immediately as a free/triggered/no action, or Is winning a grapple check simply a prerequisite for being able to ...
9
votes
2answers
11k views

What does insubstantial mean?

We've seen a few powers that make a creature insubstantial now, but we haven't been able to find out what it means. What does it mean and where can we get a clear definition?
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Do I draw opportunity attacks when my mount uses flyby?

I am a forest gnome ranger under the beast master archetype. If I have a flying mount with flyby, like the pteranodon, do I still draw opportunity attacks while riding it?
9
votes
2answers
446 views

Are creatures outlined by Faerie Fire concealed by Obscuring Mist?

Faerie Fire: A pale glow surrounds and outlines the subjects. Outlined subjects shed light as candles. Outlined creatures do not benefit from the concealment normally provided by darkness (though ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

Does Sentinel's opportunity attack trigger when I shove someone?

Alright, so me and my pal are working through making a 5e fighty Cleric. He wants to take the Sentinel and Shield Master feats. Sentinel and Shield Master's relevant pats read: Sentinel You ...
9
votes
4answers
2k views

Rules for lasso capture?

In D&D 3.5 suppose a character decides to capture another character, animal or object with a lasso. How would you handle a throw for this situation ?
9
votes
4answers
6k views

What class/builds can be used to fulfill both striker and controller roles?

Many classes/ builds allow one to fulfill multiple party roles. For example, a Paladin is a hybrid leader/defender. What classes/builds are a good way to handle striker/controller? I'm looking for ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Question about D&D 4E bonus stacking

I have a question related to D&D 4E bonus stacking, specifically related to overlapping type stacking. I understand that in general similar types do not stack, however I'm wondering if there are ...
9
votes
2answers
691 views

Where does the “apply bonuses and penalties in the most beneficial order” rule come from, if it exists?

I have seen quoted several places on the internet a rule that one can apply bonuses and penalties in the most beneficial order. An example I come across frequently (as a druid) is the combination of ...
9
votes
2answers
842 views

How does the Chain Lightning spell target?

Does the caster choose all targets or only the initial one? Must the secondary targets be in the caster's line-of-sight? I'm probably way over thinking this, but the 6th-level chain lightning spell ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What action is removing a shield and dropping it to the ground?

I know that removing an equipped shield and stowing it (usually on the back) is a standard action. I also know that dropping an held or wielded item is a free action. What action type is removing an ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

How much do scrolls and potions weigh?

The physical description for potions: Physical Description: A typical potion or oil consists of 1 ounce of liquid held in a ceramic or glass vial fitted with a tight stopper. The stoppered ...
9
votes
1answer
275 views

Do the 3.5 books ask you to refer to 3.0 books?

I noticed some of the 3.5 manuals refer to books like Manual of the Planes and Oriental Adventures, but when one of my friends found those books, they were 3.0 edition. Is that right, or were there 3....
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Do multiple Speed weapons grant multiple extra attacks?

I was asked by a player if Speed weapons granted an extra attack per speed weapon. So if a player dual wields speed weapons do they get two extra attacks. I have always interpreted the rules of speed ...
9
votes
2answers
410 views

Does using “Flee” with Command provoke an Opportunity Attack?

On a failed save, the target obeys the Flee command by [Spending] its turn moving away from you by the fastest available means. Three questions: Does that mean they take the Dash action? If ...
9
votes
2answers
947 views

Celestial Commander Summoned Monsters

This is a follow-up on this question Can a summoned monster be commanded to aid another? The answer to that questions seems to be "Not if they cannot understand you." I am currently playing a ...
9
votes
1answer
432 views

Multiple Sources of Damage against a single vulnerability

A very common occurance, a Paladin has used Sign of Vulnerability to apply Vulnerable 5 Radiant to an enemy. In the following round, they use the Minor Action, Bless Weapon, which adds 1d6 radiant to ...
9
votes
1answer
421 views

Can a demon or devil be redeemed?

Alignment is an essential part of the nature of celestials and fiends. A devil does not choose to be lawful evil, and it doesn’t tend toward lawful evil, but rather it is lawful evil in its ...
9
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the offhand attack from Crossbow Expert get a Dex bonus?

The Crossbow Expert feat lets you use a Hand Crossbow in your offhand and take a shot when you attack with your main hand. Most people I've seen, seem to think this will allow Dual Wielding Hand ...
9
votes
1answer
635 views

If you are dying, are you still bloodied?

There are some powers that allow you to keep fighting when dying. Do you still count as bloodied if your HP are at 0 or less?
9
votes
1answer
530 views

Can you kill a gargantuan monster from within?

Imagine that a party manages somehow to get inside a dragon turtle without injury to themselves (we have some plans using magic, but that's not part of the question). Once inside, could you kill it ...
9
votes
3answers
586 views

Does an unconcious creature automatically fall prone?

While looking for the answer to another question, I have stumbled upon a weird curiosity in the Pathfinder (and presumably 3.X as well) RAW. Unconscious Unconscious creatures are knocked out ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Minor Creation and food

So, a hungry wizard walks into a bar... And then gets kicked out before he's able to get any food in his stomach. He throws some curses and then remembers - he has some olives left, as well as a Minor ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

What happens to the current hit points when Aid ends?

The 5e D&D Basic Rules v0.1 description of the second-level cleric spell Aid says (p. 83): Your spell bolsters your allies with toughness and resolve. Choose up to three creatures within range....
9
votes
1answer
9k views

Multiclass Warlock/Sorcerer: How do spell slots recover?

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features. PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots: You regain all ...
9
votes
2answers
696 views

Does the Confusion Spell Affect Ghosts that are Possessing a Character?

Let me lay out the scenario: I'm running a D&D 5e session where the party enters a haunted castle and begins snooping around. They encounter four ghosts and one of the PCs gets possessed by a ...
9
votes
1answer
585 views

Would “Detect Magic” reveal a sorcerer?

Since sorcerers are inherently magical (or maybe more accurately, inherently contain magic), would Detect Magic reveal an aura around the sorcerer? If so, would this also be the case with a warlock? ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Do two standard actions equal a full round action?

If a character was somehow able to get two extra standard actions on their round in combat, could those actions be used as an extra full attack action or full round action? Elaboration: In the first ...
9
votes
3answers
190 views

Can Disjunction destroy artifacts in its AoE (maybe accidentally) or only when directly targeting them?

My Sorcerer is only a few levels away from 9th level spellcasting and I'm considering taking Disjunction. But I don't quite understand this section on how it interacts with artifacts: You can also ...
9
votes
1answer
3k views

Playing Dresden Files RPG with Fate Core rules?

I just introduced my gaming group to Fate, and some of the players have expressed interest in the Dresden Files RPG. I understand that Fate Core has introduced some changes and refinements to the game,...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Does the New Magic Missile Trigger “On Hit” Powers or Effects?

The new Magic Missile (p203 in Heroes of the Fallen Lands) introduces a new (I think) mechanic. It is an Attack that does damage without an Attack line, only an Effect line. IE, you don't have to ...
9
votes
1answer
334 views

Is the Massive Damage Rule Needed? [closed]

In D&D 3.5 there is a Massive Damage rule: Massive Damage If you ever sustain a single attack deals 50 points of damage or more and it doesn’t kill you outright, you must make a DC 15 ...
9
votes
2answers
364 views

Are the names of the more generic planes copyrighted under the OGL as Product Identity?

E.g. "Negative Energy Plane", "Elemental Plane of Air", "Material Plane", essentially all the inner planes plus the material plane: Are these considered Product Identity or could I use them for other ...
9
votes
5answers
1k views

How do you transition from 1-page dungeon map to battle mat?

I have a bunch of different ways I use to make maps for my tabletop game. Sometimes I draw one on graph paper. Sometimes I use Dungeonographer. Sometimes I copy a map from a published adventure or ...
9
votes
2answers
319 views

Can you use the pounce ability during a surprise round

I remember reading that during a surprise round you can only take a single action. A charge is usually a full round action but can be used if you are restricted to a single action, as stated in the ...
9
votes
7answers
3k views

Is there any fluff for the druid's “A Thousand Faces” ability?

I played a D&D 3.5 campaign years ago, and one PC was a druid. The player did a pretty awesome job as a spy thanks to the multiple divination spells, Wild Shape and especially A Thousand Faces: ...
9
votes
3answers
3k views

What are the creative limits of Prestidigitation?

In our current campaign we've come across a village where the locals and I do not share a language. Some people in the party have garnered some trust through this by playing music, or showing off ...
8
votes
3answers
7k views

Attack of Opportunity & spell casting

I'm a little stumped with this. Example, casting a spell, 1 standard action provokes attack of opportunity. The enemy is allowed a single melee attack. So, each time the wizard casts a spell, ...
8
votes
2answers
2k views

How can I start Hoard of the Dragon Queen with 4th level characters?

I'm pretty new to DM'ing and was just wondering if there would be a way to start the hoard of the dragon queen adventure with a group of 4th level characters? There don't really seem to be any ...
8
votes
2answers
3k views

Do attack bonuses from different feats stack?

Like the +1 bonus from Implement Expertise and the +1 from Versatile Expertise?
8
votes
6answers
1k views

Prison break with an Aarakocra

I am going to play the Out of the Abyss scenario with my players, and I allowed them to choose among all available races (fun is my primary objective). One of the players chose to play an Aarakocra, ...
8
votes
1answer
846 views

Monster Vault Creatures Grab DC

I've noticed that in the monster block of Monster Vault creatures with a special grab ability/attack the escape DC for their grab is explicitly stated (example: Mind Flayer Thrall Master). ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

Intimidation in D&D 4e - What can it be used for and what are the consequences for doing so?

I'm a Halfling Warlock with a +17 to my rolls in Intimidation. As such I want to be able to make use of this as much as I can. So far I've only really used it to force bloodied targets to surrender. ...
8
votes
1answer
277 views

Under What Circumstances Do Additional Creatures Add to EL?

Question The Dungeon Master's Guide explains that DMs Do not award XP for creatures that enemies summon or otherwise add to their forces with magic powers. An enemy’s ability to summon or add ...
8
votes
3answers
283 views

short campaign with well defined characters

I am about to leave my home country and since I haven't been playing any RPG recently, I would like to play for the last time with my friends. I don't really have much time to prepare a game of my own,...
8
votes
3answers
309 views

Continuing a Charge after enemy shifts

Can a player doing a Charge action, continue the movement after the target uses an Immediate Interrupt to do something, e.g. <...

15 30 50 per page