Hot answers tagged

44

You were quoted the rules incorrectly. First, Eldritch Blast has a casting time of 1 action (PHB p.237). You've only got one action on your turn, so you can only cast Eldritch Blast once. ("Off the shelf," that is. There are features, like the Sorceror's Quickened Spell, that might change this.) It is possible for a caster to cast multiple spells in one ...


32

According to The ever useful d20PFSRD: In a round of combat, you can do either : 1 Full-round action OR 1 Standard action plus 1 Move action (in any order) OR 2 Move actions (effectively trading your Standard action for a Move action) Plus a combination of : 1 Swift or Immediate Action AND Any number of Free Actions A few special cases The 5 ft. ...


29

There are conditions that prevent characters from taking actions altogether (stunned, unconscious, dying, etc). This prevents free actions, but a "No Action" power could still be used. Also note that most powers that enhance your initiative are No Action because you are using them before combat technically begins. For example, a Deva could use the Memory of ...


28

Cunning Action absolutely does let you Dash again, but Dash doesn't work quite like you're remembering (PHB, p. 192): When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. So it's not multiplying your speed, it's adding your speed to your speed. With only one Dash, ...


27

In general, you have a number of options - some need more preplanning however. Doctor, It Hurts When I Do That If characters are frequently getting caught in situations where they don't have anything to do, they are not playing the long game very smart. They should consider these times in builds, when purchasing magic items, etc. "Oh I'm a melee guy if ...


27

The rule for bonus actions says: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action. So unless the bonus action specifies that you have to take it at a specific time, you can take the bonus ...


25

There's nothing in the Ready action description that would prevent readying Disengage. When you ready an action you: decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it. The perceivable circumstance is that the ...


24

The misconception here is that you don't have "a bonus action" just lying around that you "fill" with a Bonus Action. When something says that you can use a bonus action, that means you have that bonus action lying around. Any time a rule talks about having or using a bonus action, that is both making it available and permission to use it, not just ...


23

No, you cannot draw your dagger and attack with it while retaining your Duelist feature But you can draw your dagger as part of an attack and then use it. The core argument behind this answer is that you can only attack as a bonus action with your offhand weapon when you use your action to attack. When you take the Attack action and attack with a light ...


21

The way bonus actions work is: You can't take more than one bonus action per turn If using an ability is a bonus action, you can do it (bearing in mind #1) So bonus actions aren't something you have or are granted — they are something you do up to a limit of one. Casting the spell is itself doing or taking the bonus action. Anything that is a bonus ...


21

No. Drinking a potion is explicitly an action. Healing Potion:.... Drinking or administering a potion takes an action (PHB 153) You can draw the potion as a part of the action that you use to drink it, but you cannot drink it as a free action. However, it takes an action and cannot be used with the Rogue's Fast Hands ability per the DMG(p141): If ...


21

Your assumption is correct. Unlike, for example, Spiritual Weapon, Mage Hand doesn't say anything about a free use on the turn you cast it, so it requires your action to cast it followed by your action on a subsequent turn to use it. Minor caveat: An Arcane Trickster can control a Mage Hand with a bonus action, so they could create with their action then ...


21

Controlling a spell is not casting it On the first turn, you are right, you can cast Spiritual Weapon (as a bonus action) and a Cantrip (as an action) but not any other spell. On the subsequent turns you can cast any spell as an action and then use your bonus action to control an already existing spell. In fact, you can have both active and control one of ...


20

The short answer is that you are right. In your turn you may make 1 standard action and a move action, or a full round action, along with one or more free actions - source A single attack is a standard action, as is using an ability. When used as such you get a single standard action, plus a move. That means you can only use your ability once per round ...


20

Anyone wielding two light weapons can attack with one weapon and use a bonus action to make an offhand attack. The Rogue's having Cunning Action as an option does not prevent them from instead choosing other bonus actions. The restriction only applies to Cunning Action itself - if the Rogue chooses to use Cunning Action, only Dash, Disengage, and Hide can ...


18

It's really the rules as written. The spell charges your hand with energy, you move, and then release it as an attack. You can also take a 5' step between iterative attacks, so this isn't some weird isolated thing. The idea of standard actions, full actions, and the like are abstractions that exist for game balance reasons; they're not supposed to ...


18

Swift actions, like Free actions, take place during your turn, and cannot be taken outside your turn. Immediate actions take place outside your turn, and use up your next turn’s Swift action. So no, you must activate that bonus on your turn in order to have it for the round, you cannot try to activate it just when you need to.


18

A Swift Action Can Be Taken During the Surprise Round The Surprise Round says... If some but not all of the combatants are aware of their opponents, a surprise round happens before regular rounds begin. In initiative order (highest to lowest), combatants who started the battle aware of their opponents each take a standard or move action during the ...


18

Lenny Balsera, one of the main system developers for Fate Core, has given an official answer as follows: So, first, the incongruity only comes up when you're talking about a Create Advantage action that piles invokes on an existing aspect. Making one from scratch, it all tracks: Creator succeeds with style, Defender fails, creator gets an aspect ...


17

Through inference, there is no action cost for controlling facing. The SRD presents a combat facing "add-on" that states: The standard d20 combat rules intentionally ignore the direction a creature faces. The rules assume that creatures are constantly moving and shifting within their spaces, looking in all directions during a fight. In this variant, ...


17

It appears the player has garbled the rules on Bonus Action casting time spells (PHB p.203): Bonus Action A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except ...


14

The maximum number of spells a character can cast in a round is 3. You can only take 1 reaction per round, although some monsters have an ability that allows them to ignore this restriction. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This means that you can cast a bonus action spell and a ...


13

Not normally. As Colin explained, attacking and using a breath weapon are both standard actions. You can't normally take two standard actions in a round, and you can't substitute a move action for a standard action. You can however take the Metabreath Feat Quicken Breath (Draconomicon). That lets you use your breath attack as a free action, which would let ...


13

Each combatant gets 1 action, a bonus action if they have a power to use it, a reaction and movement equal to their racial movement ability. The rogue has way too many actions. On action 1, do they have advantage or a buddy in melee? If so then they get SA. Action 2 if they have used SA, they don't get it again. Their bonus action is used to make this ...


13

No. A character can only take at most one bonus action in their turn. Bonus Actions, PHB p. 189: You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available. Frenzy, PHB p. 19: you can make a single melee weapon attack as a bonus action on each of your turns after this one. ...


12

No, a standard action cannot bisect a move action. Each action must be fully resolved before you can begin another action (aside from triggered actions). However, you can use them in any order you like: attack, then move; or move before attacking. There are specific powers and features which provide exceptions to this rule.


12

No, a full round action does not equal two standard actions. It takes place instead of all actions on your turn (except free actions). From Actions in Combat on the d20srd: Full-Round Action A full-round action consumes all your effort during a round. The only movement you can take during a full-round action is a 5-foot step before, during, or ...


12

Even if it's a scroll of a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action A Scroll Takes a Standard Action to Use... According to the Dungeon Master's Guide Activating a spell completion item [like a scroll] is a standard action and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does. (213) ...Unless One Uses the Rules Compendium According ...


12

You are right, Some first level spells are not (that) useful for first level characters The combat rules for measuring the duration of effects (including spells) state: When the rules refer to a "full round", they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that ...


12

From page 69 of the Player's D&D Basic Rules: You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. Emphasis mine. This doesn't grant you a bonus action, but instead grants you something to do with your bonus action, which you always have, whether you can ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible