Hot answers tagged

17

Charging Last one first: you can't “charge” someone's back when they're facing you, because charging has to be a relatively straight, well, charge at the intended target. It's definitionally not charging if you're not running straight at them. A charge can't involve stopping to turn around. (If you're coming to AD&D 2e from D&D 3.5e, this may seem ...


7

Monsters and PCs don't use the same math for their statistics — monsters don't have Dexterity scores, let alone a bonus for a high score. There isn't even a “hidden” Dexterity bonus to AC included in monsters' final AC numbers that you can reverse-engineer. You can see this in the Halfling entry in the Monstrous Manual/Compendium: even though they are ...


6

First of all, there is no two-weapon fighting proficiency in AD&D2E (in the Core at least). You don't need any proficiency to do it. The prerequisities for doing that are in the combat section of PHB (chapter 9). There is a subsection titled Attacking With Two Weapons there. A tricky fighting style available only to warriors and rogues is that of ...


6

In 5e, spells which deal damage require an Attack roll or a Saving throw. The lack of a Saving throw makes this spell OP at 5th level. If you add the Saving throw, the damage that you can deal by teleporting an enemy 300 ft into the air seems balanced to me. Compare for example with the 10d6+40 damage for Disintegration (level 6) or the 8d8 damage to ...


5

As you have said you are willing to consider Spelljammer rules, I can pull a few quotes in for you that might help clear this up. From Spelljammer Core Rules: Book 2, Concordance of Arcane Space, p. 17 Clerics in Space: A cleric may not regain spells above 2nd level while in the phlogiston. This is because he remains out of direct contact with his ...


2

The main reason is avoiding attacks of opportunity. You can't pass through an area within reach of your opponent without provoking an attack of opportunity. This means with an opponent with a reach of 5 feet, starting just out of reach you have to travel 16 feet just to go around them. IF you are already in melee you have to leave melee, which again provokes ...


1

I'd raise the question of specificity -- if the caster points "up in the air" while outside, where is he actually pointing? Could be any position from just above his hand to that 300 foot limit (or well beyond, causing the spell to fail). Much more useful to precipitate the victim into the Astral Plane. That said, if you have a single creature to deal ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible