Tag Info

New answers tagged

12

This is one of the most annoying and awkward pieces of 3.x rules You don’t get enhancement bonuses to AC, you get enhancement bonuses to armor bonuses So, armors grant an armor bonus to AC. Seems simple enough. Then we have enhancement bonuses. You could, in theory, have an enhancement bonus to AC; if you did, it would stack with an armor bonus, since ...


-1

To answer your question - No, The Enhancement bonus is not Armor bonus, they stack with each other. First, the general rules for magic armors and shields specifically state that: In general, magic armor protects the wearer to a greater extent than non-magical armor. Magic Armor bonuses are enhancement bonuses, never rise above +5, and stack with ...


0

The description of Dual Wielder says that you Gain a +1 bonus to AC Use Two-Weapon fighting, even when the one handed melee weapons you are using aren't light. and You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one. pg 165 PHB The description for Two-Weapon Fighting says When you ...


2

Dual wielding requires you to "hold" or "wield" a weapon. You can't wield or hold "unarmed strikes" so they shouldn't count for dual wielding. Otherwise this part of "martial arts" wouldn't be necessary since it basically states that you now (unlike before) can dual wield with unarmed strikes: When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a ...


15

Yes. An unarmed strike is a one handed, simple, melee weapon, as such it counts as a weapon for TWF. So for both of your cases, it would be valid. It's even valid for a non-monk as that strike is available to anyone who is proficient in Simple Weapons. The key is that it's not available to someone wielding a shield, an item or a non-weapon implement in ...


5

This information is currently not contained in the rules and is generally in the purview of the DMG (which will not be released until November). Until then, I would class most objects as having a DC of 5 or do (10 - 5 for a Dex of 0). Armored or particularly hard objects would have an AC equivalent to roughly their amount of armor, so somewhere between 10 ...


0

"Your Base AC", and "Your AC" mean the same thing. Normally, your Base AC would mean its the AC you have before you add any modifiers such as Dexterity, and that is how the term is used in the equipment section, however that is not what it means in the Mage Armor spell. Whether you are looking at unarmored defense, which sets your "armor class" to 10 + ...


2

Your base AC is exactly what your current AC calculation method says. Base AC is not a defined term, but to me it represents the less situation part of your AC. Current/total AC = base AC + temp/situational bonus/penalties (like those given from the shield spell). You will not be adding your dex mod twice when using Mage Armor. You only (sometimes) add ...


11

Your "base AC" is your AC before any modifiers. However, it is not a defined game term at this time as it has little or no use outside of the Mage armor spell. Such modifiers may include: Class based bonuses like from a Fighting style Magic bonuses from items Temporary bonuses from spells. Other things not included in this list. So your "Base AC" is ...



Top 50 recent answers are included