Hot answers tagged

22

No, critical hits must be linked with attack rolls. I checked with Jeremy Crawford on Twitter and he says that critical hits must come from attack rolls: @JeremeyECrawford No, since only attack rolls can score critical hits. In response to @Kevinaskevin Can my Rogue's Assassinate cause my Wand of Magic Missile to crit against surprised creatures? ...


20

The Dungeon Master’s Guide sheds some light on why all assassins, as written, are Evil In the Dungeon Master’s Guide, the assassin prestige class isn’t just for someone who kills for hire, but rather quite specifically for a member of a (fairly generic) “Assassin’s Guild,” and that guild requires that you kill someone for no other reason than to enter the ...


19

By strict reading of the text, Yes. Although you are not rolling to hit, the spell itself says it automatically "Hits" and therefore fulfills the requirement of: In addition, any "hit" you score against a creature that is surprised is a critical hit. Critical hits with spells are double damage dice. Therefore, each missile you produce would deal ...


16

Assassinate gives you advantage on attack rolls. So if a spell requires you to make an attack roll than yes, Assassinate can be used in conjunction with that spell. If it was only meant to be used with weapon attacks than it would specifically say so.


14

First off: SNEAK ATTACK (HYBRID) This class feature functions as the rogue class feature, except that you can deal the extra damage only when you hit with a rogue power or a rogue paragon path power. And: ASSASSIN'S SHROUD (HYBRID) You gain the assassin power assassin’s shroud, except you can subject a target to a maximum of two shrouds ...


13

Unfortunately, (or fortunately) your group was correct. Page 243 of the Rules Compendium reads: Escape A creature can attempt to escape when it is grabbed. Other immobilizing effects might also let a creature try to escape. Escape a Grab or Immobolizing Effect Action: Move action. Acrobatics or Athletics Check: The creature makes ...


11

Flavour over Fluff The key to understanding 3.5e/PF classes is that while they have evocative names (Rogue, Fighter, Assassin, Archmage) and a big pile of writing at the front that says it tells you what they do, often the mechanical effects of the class are not in line with the fluff - and another class might make a better version of the concept you are ...


10

To answer your second question first: NO. In this case you do not. You missed a very important piece of the hybrid version of this feat (emphasis mine): "You gain a bonus to damage rolls with assassin powers and assassin paragon path powers equal to your Charisma modifier against any target that is adjacent to none of your enemies." - Dragon 385 You ...


9

Critical hit means, for each damage die you would roll for a non-critical, you roll it twice instead of once. Death strike means you take the damage you would have dealt if it were not a death strike (which would still be a critical hit), and you double that. The order of operations is: Decide which damage dice, and how many of them, to roll. Roll them ...


8

If an attack successfully hits you, it will then deal damage. The two are linked. In addition, Immediate Reactions occur after the trigger that allows it to be used resolves. I think you are instead thinking about the "when you are attacked" trigger, often an Immediate Interrupt, which would allow you to use a power to avoid the attack altogether once the ...


8

Oddly, the answer appears to be No. Yes, you may take an Opportunity Attack against them. Opportunity Attacks are defined on Page 246 of the Rules Compendium. It specifically mentions that the target triggering the attack must be adjacent to you. EDIT - Upon further review, I must reverse myself. Rules Compendium p201 defines Adjacent Squares and includes ...


8

I don't think that the class is outright broken (as in "unplayable") but rather is seriously lacking feat/item support and requires a much higher level of expertise to properly build and play than other strikes (especially the ranger, where spamming Twin Strike is almost always the perfect answer to any problem -_-'). Anyway, there are some ways to increase ...


8

Assassin Analysis First, a quite analysis on assassin’s requirements and features Requirements 8 ranks in each of Hide and Move Silently mean you’ll need to be at least 5th level, since your ranks are limited to level+3. Otherwise, entry is easy. Sneak Attack 1d6 on each odd level; that’s as good as a rogue, which is as good as it gets. Solid. Death ...


7

I've had no problems producing Striker Damage with my original assassin. As a Drow you should comfortably have 18 Dex 18 Cha. The 3 feats I think are most important to my character's success are; Sneak of Shadows (you can reliably get CA as an Assassin giving you a 1/Enc +2d6), Killer Instinct (gets that 2nd Shroud down round 1), and Light Blade Expertise ...


7

The original assassin is severely underpowered in typical scenarios. To raise an exception to your wording, the assassin is not "broken" in the normal sense of the word (game-breakingly over-powered) but is broken in the "lying on pieces on the floor" sense. It does not compete in damage, though its mobility options are exceptional. It is, however, worth ...


6

Incantations Unearthed Arcana has rules for Incantations, rituals similar to spells that can be performed by anyone. And, since Unearthed Arcana is one of the books released under the Open Game License, all of those rules can be found on the System Resource Document.


6

In my current planescape campaign, the hardest fight my players ever were in was against a bunch of level one and level two goblins (they were level 5). As you noted, the striker's specialty is doing a lot of damage to a single target. Therefore, make single targets less important. In 4e, boss monsters are often less of a challenge than multiple smaller ...


6

Yes, the extra damage is maximized on a crit. From the Players Handbook FAQ: Which dice do I maximize when scoring a critical hit? Only the dice you would normally roll to calculate damage are maximized. If another bonus (like from a weapon or feat) causes you to roll extra damage dice when scoring a critical hit, those dice are rolled as ...


6

Just take the Two-Fisted Shooter feat and move on. You can treat the hand crossbow as an off-hand weapon, and you can reload it one-handed as a free action. When you score a critical hit and have a loaded hand crossbow in your off hand, you can make a ranged basic attack with that weapon as a free action. (MP 140) This will let you reload a hand ...


6

Yes, a target knows the relevant facts about a power applied to it unless something says otherwise. A conscious creature affected by a power knows what a power has done to it, regardless of the power's type. [Rules Compendium 90] This is because D&D 4e is a tactical combat engine and its focus is on making difficult tactical choices. Part of that ...


6

Mechanically speaking, there is no problem. Other than potentially the requirement of having to kill someone for no reason, which is hard for a Good or Neutral person to meet. (But can easily be waived as well) Classes are generally balanced around their mechanics and there is no "extra power" granted for alignment restrictions. In fact, many classes with ...


5

The Vanish Power is an immediate reaction. Reactions always happen after the triggering action has been affecting its target. Would this power have been an immediate interruption instead, the trigger line would also have been something on the lines of "someone attacks you".


5

There is one, but it's not useful: Iff you paragon multiclass, Darkened Soul allows you to gain the class feature Shade Form.


5

Conjurations are normally invincible unless stated otherwise Yes, your Conjuration is invincible. Mostly*. According to the Compendium entry on Conjurations, a conjuration cannot be attacked unless the power says it can be, and Twilight Assassin doesn't say the conjuration can be attacked: Conjuration An effect type. A conjuration power produces a ...


5

Yes, the implement enhancement is applied to any weapon you're using. If you're using a magic weapon, you choose between the implement enhancement and the weapon enhancement before you roll to hit. You only get the effects and powers for the one you use -- so if you used a weapon enhancement bonus instead of the Scavenger Bird enhancement bonus, you wouldn't ...


4

It won't help for your bosses, but a way to balance out encounters against insane DPR characters are using two-hit minions. These non-canon creature types function entirely as minions on every aspect of the rules (including no damage taken for "miss") with three important exceptions: The minion has 2 hit points instead of 1. Whenever the minion takes ...


4

The intent of the rule, IMO, is that an assassin gets a death attack on someone not expecting to get ganked by you. So being alerted that "there's a suspicious invisible guy over there" does indeed foil a death attack since it puts the target on their guard against you (even though "you" are not totally clear to them, your presence and square is and that's ...


4

There isn't one. Pre-Essentials Assassins have very, very little feat support, including in the multiclass department. And even the core classes don't have multiclass feats to mimic all their class features.


4

There are a lot of character options that have plot/alignment based restrictions. Almost all can be ignored by DM fiat, and many only apply to a very specific campaign world that you may or may not be using. Many races have alignment restrictions, which is, lets be honest, a tad racist. Fantasy is full of examples of non-evil goblins (World of Warcraft), ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible