Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

25

Area effect spells generally don't involve attack rolls. This might be why you're having a hard time finding it. 4e has got you used to making attacks against all targets in an AoE; but 5e doesn't work that way, and therefore doesn't tell you to do that anywhere. (It also doesn't say not to, but naturally it can't include every possible negative ...


15

A creature's stat block will indicate what kind of multiattack it gets to make. For instance, if we look at a Black Bear (MM pg.318), it says: Multiattack. The bear makes two attacks: one with its bite and one with its claws. If a bear were somehow to pick up a sword or two it wouldn't be able to use them for multiattack. However, if we look at a ...


12

You can only take 1 action per turn. PHB, page 189: On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. The "Attack" action and the "Cast a Spell" action are both actions, listed on page 192. So if you take the Attack action, you can't also cast a spell that requires 1 action to cast (such as firebolt). The Fighter's Extra ...


10

Cue obligatory "The DM is always right. However..." However, yes, there is such a rule. It's the very first sentence of the "Full Attack" section of the Combat chapter. http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/actionsInCombat.htm#fullAttack If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough, because you fight with two ...


9

Generally, area spells do not require you to make an attack, as your spell is not focusing on a particular target or set of targets. Rather, your spell targets a specific point of origin, from which the spell's effects originate in whatever shape is in the spell description. For instance, Fireball deals 8d6 fire damage to everything within a 20ft radius ...


6

Bottom Line A full attack is not something granted because you have multiple attacks, it is the required action to take advantage of them. You can always make a full-attack, even if you see no benefit for doing so. A character with haste, by definition, has multiple attacks. Thus, they not only can use a full attack (as usual), but they must if they wish ...


3

If you take an attack action you may only make up to as many attacks as granted by extra attacks. So at level 20 you may make up to 4 attacks. You cannot use one of those to cast a spell. As a fighter you can use ACTION SURGE to make a 2nd action, which would then allow you to make your attacks and cast a spell. This can only be done once per short/long ...


3

Yes, that's how it works. You compare the total result to the listed defense, and if the total is equal or better than the defense, the attack hits.


3

Let's look at what the rules say about casting touch spells. Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a separate action. Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the ...


3

Yes, the ranged touch attack is a part of the spell, and the spell as a whole is quickened. So your swift action includes the attack. There is nothing in the Quicken Spell feat that says attacks made as part of a spell are not quickened, and there is nothing in general about attacks that prevents them from being made as part of a swift action. This is not ...


2

D&D 3.5e's actions use a prescriptive design: you choose your action first, and that prescribes what you can and can't do during it execution. What your DM seems to be doing is reinterpreting the entire combat system to be a descriptive design: "do stuff", and then figure out after the fact what actions that stuff adds up to.1 Full attack is an action ...


2

The description of the full attack action very clearly states that after the first attack you can decide to not follow through with all your attacks and instead take a move action. The book is quite clear about the fact that this is an optional decision by the player that is taking the action. Deciding between an Attack or a Full Attack: After your ...


1

The short answer to your question "Can you cast a spell and use the Attack action in the [same] turn" is: Usually no, but in some cases, and specifically in your example scenario, yes, though not in the way you probably envisioned it. Usually, you cannot cast a spell and attack during the same turn, as most spells, including Fire Bolt, have a casting time ...


1

As far as I know, the rules never come out and say explicitly what I'm about to say, but in my understanding, it is at least implied. An attack action is a standard action, unless it is part of a full attack action (or Attack of Opportunity or granted from a feat or class ability). Often times the rules state an attack is a standard action, though I don't ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible