Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

23

No, dealing damage does not mean you "hit" 4e uses a highly formulaic language. Miss, hit, attack roll and damage - these are all specific game terms. There are no gray areas there. As for hit points, they are an abstraction. Loss of hit points due to Missed attacks could be explained as exhaustion, demoralization, etc. You can even describe the Missed ...


14

Yes, it affects the attack roll. You're overthinking it. Marked opponents take a -2 to attack rolls when making attacks that don't include their marker. Deathrattle Viper's secondary attack involves an attack roll. That attack roll takes a -2 if it doesn't include the marker. The reason for the attack roll doesn't matter, and is entirely fluff. (Seriously: ...


9

Fourth edition is very "game-y," which means the actions which happen on the table may not match up with the actions as you perceive them. Since hurting people with real, live weapons relies on you making contact with that person, seeing "damage" on a person implies they've been hit by a weapon. This can lead you to say "If I've hurt someone, I've hit them." ...


3

The rules are behind walls of text and part of a rules salad, but A Creatures Doesn't Get More Than Four Attacks from Its Base Attack Bonus In the sidebar Behind the Curtain: A Limit to Attacks and Saves the Dungeon Master's Guide says, in part, After 20th level, your base attack bonus never improves. You gain epic bonuses and other bonus on your ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible