Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

57

Your issue has nothing to do with your Barbarian and his Strength. I assume you're talking about the encounter "Flat on Rat Street" from the adventure Shadow in the Sky in the Second Darkness Adventure Path. I ran that for my party too. They killed the baboon in one hit, downed the loan shark in one hit, and spent the rest of the time with him tied to a ...


53

Play to your other players' strengths Your barbarian, as you have noted, is very good at dealing high damage to a single target. Maybe even two targets if he took cleave. The aim now is to play to the strengths of the other party members as well. A swarm of 8-10 rats would be easier for a mage with burning hands or sleep than the barbarian. An incorporeal ...


18

Although the barbarian was introduced in Advanced Dungeons & Dragons (1st edition) in the Unearthed Arcana supplement, they were tribal wilderness warriors more akin to rangers, and didn't have anything resembling the rage ability. It wasn't until Dungeons & Dragons 3rd edition that barbarians appeared with an ability with the actual name "Rage." ...


16

Yes, Warforged Barbarians suffer no ill-effects after raging. From Races of Eberron, page 23: As a warforged, your Constitution bonus allows you to rage longer, your immunity to fatigue means you suffer no ill effect when your rage ends, ...


15

Quoting the description : Whenever the elemental kin takes an amount of energy damage equal to or greater than her barbarian level while raging If your Barbarian does not take damage, it won't benefit from this.


15

Yes, of course Rage specifies that you cannot do anything that requires patience or concentration, but it does not eliminate your ability to attack accurately (it actually enhances that), nor does it eliminate your knowledge of taking foes unaware. The Sneak Attack ability represents the fact that a rogue has practiced taking advantage of vulnerabilities so ...


14

No. You can only use a free action to attack once per round; from the Player's Handbook Update PDF (pg 19): Free Actions Page 267: Replace the “Free Actions” bullet in the “The Main Action Types” section with the following text. This update limits the power of builds that capitalize on recursive attack power combinations. ✦ Free ...


12

It exists The Quantum Barbarian hinges on the Berserker option (which causes him to start raging below a certain amount of hit points, and stop above that amount) and the Bear Warrior prestige class. Bear warriors turn into bears when they rage, gaining a certain amount of hit points in the process that they lose when the rage ends. As a result, if the ...


11

Yes, you can Sneak Attack while raging. As @KRyan has exhaustively explained, this need not be unreasonable. The reason this is mechanically possible is that Rage explicitly lists the activities that are impossible to perform while raging. While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, ...


11

In Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 Rage says, in part, While raging, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except for Balance, Escape Artist, Intimidate, and Ride), the Concentration skill, or any abilities that require patience or concentration, nor can he cast spells or activate magic items that require a command ...


10

Level 1 is, by far, the best time to be a barbarian. This issue will almost certainly go away quickly after you get a few levels. It may be appropriate to allow the player to be very strong now. While that doesn’t mean the other players should be bored (and there are a lot of good suggestions here about things for them in other answers), don’t take away the ...


9

No, you only roll 1 additional die. The player's handbook is consistent in its use of the words 'die' and 'dice', where die is singular and 'dice' is singular or plural. A good example of this is on page 196 under Damage Rolls: You roll the damage die or dice, add any modifiers, and apply the damage to your target. There is also this quote that ...


9

OK, so, to begin: you are going to get +2 Dex, which is nice-ish, −2 Con, which sucks but at least you’ll get bonuses and d12 HD, and you will get a bunch of other stuff that barely matters at all. For reasons, you probably will not be using any traditional elven weapons (though the less traditional elven-specific weapons in Races of the Wild are ...


8

Looking at this thread, there are a few of rage-substitute class features that fit the style you want: - Berserker Strength (PHB 2, p 33): Lose rage. Gain a rage that activates every time your hp drops to below 5x your barbarian level. - Crafty Hunter (UA, p 58): Gain favored enemy, archery combat style, improved archery combat style, and greater archery ...


8

It does not get fatigued Well, technically what happens is the rage tries to apply the condition and then the barbarian ignores it, but "immunity" is pretty explicit - the warforged cannot suffer the effects of fatigue.


8

Just one d6. I don't see anywhere that it specifically defines "damage die" for a weapon, but the fact that you roll one extra die, then two and three, indicates to me that you should only roll one extra die (of same the number of sides as the damage die or dice of the weapon). For a similar construction, see PHB 196 which describes rolling "the damage die ...


7

In addition to the prior answers, I think the most important circumstances for a sneak attack in this situation are as follows: Target is flat-footed You are flanking/surrounding the target Squishy bits are in reach When raging, a barbarian wants to go for the throat implicitly, so when the unlucky recipient can't properly sidestep the attack it is all ...


7

No. The problem is you can't get enough loft to avoid an opportunity attack (why you're trying to jump in the first place). To get the distance you clear vertically, you divide the check by 10 and add two. Your maxium distance cleared vertically is 37/10 + 2 = 5. This means you are 1 square above the ground, that's enough (if you get a 13 or higher) to ...


7

Roll an additional 2d6. The "point" of weapons with multiple damage dice is increased consistency, not reduced total damage potential, which rolling only one of the dice would obviously be. I would consider this to be a case of "specific beats general" — the general case of the casual language in the "one additional weapon damage die" is replaced by the ...


6

Assuming that there are no other criteria on the attacks, and that the power haven't been errataed, yes. Common restrictions: Extra attack is an immediate action (no more than once per full round, not on your turn). Extra attack is an opportunity action (no more than once per combatant's turn, not on your turn). Extra attack is a free action (no more than ...


6

No, there is no reason that prevents Berserker Fury from stacking with the rage benefits. Also, note that Berserker Fury is a class feature, while rage is not (it is a power keyword which has its own rules). However, besides for the specific rage daily power's benefits, there are no rage side-effects that could stack with Berserker Fury. In fact, Berserker ...


6

I haven't seen any indication in the rules which says that a "move through" must be a straight line. In fact, if "move through" meant a straight line, then you wouldn't even be able to make that move using Pressing Strike, as that power states that you may "move through" an enemies space. Since you are asking about the thunder hooves, and not pressing ...


6

Although the barbarian as a class was not introduced until AD&D, the idea of rage does predate that publication. The Dragon issue #3 (October 1976) had rules for a "New D&D Subclass: The Berserker" (by Jon Pickens). This class had an ability called Berserking. From that article: BERSERKING There is only a chance of a character ...


6

The ranger feature works just like it does for a ranger. These variants simply swap one or more of that class's features for one or more class features of another class. A class feature gained works just as it did for its original class, including the level at which it is gained and any other effects, except as noted below. (UA 59) So yes: the ...


6

I know of a Berserker Barbarian in the Essentials line, but I'm not familiar with it. I'm assuming you're asking about the PH2 class. Unlike in the previous edition of the game, now raging is no more something you get by itself, it's part of some powers instead. Whenever you use one of the barbarian's daily attacks (they all feature the Rage keyword but ...


6

Traps. I don't know if you do much role playing as well as combat, but a Raging barbarian probably shouldn't take time to consider if he should chase down the fleeing kobolds. I had a DM once who loved to do this with kobolds. They'd run in, fight for a couple of rounds and run away. If you chased them there were always one or two traps. With your loan ...


6

Unfortunately Not The extraordinary ability rage granted by the prestige class eye of Gruumsh says An eye of Gruumsh can fly into a rage just as a barbarian can, with all the same benefits and drawbacks (see page 25 of the Player’s Handbook). An eye of Gruumsh’s class levels stack with his barbarian levels (if any) for determining the number of times ...


5

Magic is your friend against Barbarians. He has a huge initiative buff? That's nice. Your wizard pre-cast haste on himself. He has a huge modifier to hit? That's nice. Your wizard has Hold Person (or any other number of disabling 2nd level spells) He can slay hordes upon hordes of monsters with his battelaxe? That's nice. Your wizard has a few ...


5

Yes, the power should work on surfaces with zero hardness. I refer to part in the description where they reference hardness: This attack automatically hits and deals damage normally. If the barbarian manages to deal more damage than the floor’s hardness, the space she occupies and all of the squares adjacent to her become difficult terrain. Since this ...


5

Yes, you can do this, no you won't get very far, and I'd definitely rule that both of you take the falling damage. First, yes you are allowed to move a target you are grabbing. So you can feasibly grab them with your action, then use your movement to fly with them. However, since you are moving with a grabbed target, your movement speed is halved, so you ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible