New answers tagged

2

I’m going to apologize up front: I don’t think this is going to answer your question. It’s a partial answer, at best, and while I hope some of this is helpful, it doesn’t present a complete build. I aimed to offer one, but basically, I came up empty: unfortunately, Paizo really doesn’t seem terribly interested in helping you to do what you want to do. There ...


21

Magical Secrets lets you choose spells of a level you can cast. By 10th level a bard can cast 5th level spells. Banishing Smite and Destructive Wave are both 5th level spells... There's nothing stopping you from choosing these spells.


7

You can't use Bardic Inspiration at all Suggestion forces a saving throw on your target's part. Even if you could use Inspiration on your own ability checks -- which you can't, that's a high level ability -- it won't apply to this scenario. You can't Cutting Words a saving throw Your target's saving throws are unaffected by Cutting Words. You can only use ...


0

By current RAW, there's nothing stopping anyone from using Inspire Courage while raging. That being said, I do not believe that it should be allowed per RAI. Barbarians have a very limited set of things they can do while raging and the prohibitions should, logically, extend to charisma-based skills and abilities (which would include performance). Consider ...


-1

In general, Bards use music to replace the "Verbal" component of a cast and the action of playing the instrument to satisfy "somatic" requirements. If A spell requires "Verbal" then it must be sung or played. if it requires "Somatic" then yes the instrument must be fingered and played. (If its Somatic but not Verbal I'd allow a Bard to play very softly.) ...


9

It isn't explicitly stated that a bard needs to play their instrument to use it, no, and if you wanted to leave it at the exact letter of the rules, that would be your answer. However, you already know that, and so I assume that the question is not whether it is explicitly stated, but if it is implicitly stated that a bard must play. The answer would appear ...


1

There's nothing in the RAW that requires a bard to play the instrument to cast their spells. If we look at this from a rules-as-interpreted (RAI) perspective, I would posit that you do not have to play the instrument unless the spell also has a somatic (S) component: Components Somatic (S) Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful ...



Top 50 recent answers are included