Hot answers tagged

15

Each character starts with 3 dots worth of Disciplines, so if you put all three into the same dot, and then spend 14 of your 15 Freebie points on the same Discipline, you could very well do so. There is a trade-off to be made though. During the game, buying an additional dot in a Discipline you possess requires Experience equal to the current rank of ...


7

Skill modifier = relevant ability modifier + proficiency bonus (if proficient) + other modifiers What follows is a distillation of much of Chapter 7 of the PHB, "Using Ability Scores" relevant ability modifier: each skill is associated with an ability; you can find which either in tiny letters next to the skill on a WotC character sheet or in a chart on ...


5

By RAW, you can only have sorcery from a single nation. In character creation you choose a nation for your hero (as part of step 0). This choice impacts the trait bonus that you receive during step 2, as well as impacting the costs of several advantages. The wording clearly intends for each character to have a single nation, and there does not appear to ...


4

Yes, the Entertainer background is exactly that - a 'background' feature. It reflects what the PC did before they took up the life of adventuring. The overlap of having two musical instruments thus applies. It reflects that your Bard character's entire life has been immersed within the world of entertainment - as such, they have mastered (and possess) a ...


4

This is up to you and your DM. There aren't rules to cover this problem because you won't face this problem when using published classes and backgrounds, because they don't have this problem. The classes' starting equipment and backgrounds' starting equipment in the PHB don't suffer this problem. Generally speaking, you get some weaponry, armor, a pack, and ...


4

In the sytem, nothing forbids you from doing so and then handing the sheet to the GM for approval. Nothing stops you either from taking the maximum ammount of flaws to fund yet another dot in some other disciplin or any other things you feel like you need (like the skill that belongs to the disciplin's abilities on 5 for another 4 freebies.) However, the ...


3

The rules don't really work together Let's start with retraining (PHBII page 191). It cannot change your class levels - for that, you need rebuilding (PHBII page 196). However, you cannot rebuild a monster class, because Savage Species page 152 says: A monster may not multiclass until it completes the full progression of its monster class. As soon as ...


2

My gut feeling is that it would go by the same rules as for power flaws: A flat-value flaw cannot reduce an effect or power’s final cost below 1 power point. So a 0 ep or -1 ep headquarter will still cost you 1 ep. Of course, anything that the GM rules is free (many will give you a cell phone and a place to stay, albeit ones tied to your civilian ID) ...


1

I will have to repeat some other answers, but I am sure that I have something really new to add. TL;DR: you can do it, but it is very, very impractial and not logical for various reasons. Yes, it is technically possible to raise your single discipline to level 5 at character creation. Most, or at least a lot of really strong discipline powers require you ...


1

If I remember correctly, skill costs are dependent on how useful a skill is for a setting. If the setting centers around the use of certain skills they should be costly, while off-center skills should be cheap so they can be used for flavor. Typically, if a skill has the potential to be a characters main 'solve problem skill' such as combat skills, magic ...


1

You get all of the equipment from both sources. The intent is that your chosen race, class, and background all combine to form the core of your character. See page 14 under "Choose Equipment": Your class and background determine your character's starting equipment, including weapons, armor, and other adventuring gear. If you're concerned about ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible