Tag Info

New answers tagged

4

For reasoning purposes, you could have a look at what the rules encourage the GM to do in order to keep major enemy NPCs alive, considering the fact that players are more often than not quite pragmatic in their approach to outright murdering enemies. In FATE Core page 219 (on concessions and supporting NPCs), conceding is presented as a way of achieving ...


9

This sounds like an abuse of the spirit of the rules to me. You can't use concession to undermine the opponent's victory. If the opponent's goal is to kill you, then not killing you turns their victory into a failure. Second of all, you get to avoid the worst parts of your fate. Yes, you lost, and the narration has to reflect that. But you can't use this ...


5

You don't concede to the NPCs, you concede to the other person—the GM, in this case. Does the GM want your character dead? I'd hope not! There is lots of room to offer a concession that doesn't involve your PC's death while still offering something that the other person (the GM) wants out of this scene in their capacity as a fellow crafter of the narrative. ...


18

"Doctor! It hurts when I move my arm like this!" "So don't do that, then…" On page 168, the rules discuss what it means to be "Taken Out" — and, in particular, what the circumstances are like in groups where Taken Out equates to "dead": So, if you think about it, there’s not a whole lot keeping someone from saying, after taking you out, that your ...


2

Short Answer Yes, at least until an official source clarifies otherwise. Long Answer To me, the wording suggests that, no, you do not count hits to a stable character as a death saving throw failure, but technically, that may be the rule. Evidence Against Failure A stable creature doesn't make death saving throws, even though it has 0 hit points... ...


3

If you take any damage while you are 0 hit points it counts as a failed death saving throw. See the previous section on that page (p76): Damage at 0 Hit Points. If you take any damage while you have 0 hit points, you suffer a death saving throw failure. If the damage is from a critical hit, you suffer two failures instead. If the damage equals or exceeds ...



Top 50 recent answers are included