Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

31

Charge is not broken A character's turn ends on a charge (unless they use a Free Action after the charge), so the best they can do is maneuver then charge. Given that every square of the charge must take them closer to the enemy and that they must move at least two squares, the movement is quite useful here. The real balancing factor is the melee basic ...


18

I'm not a D&D player, but can't you take some variants of number 1 without it stinking like meta? Why are all encounters in a space large enough to charge in? How about tight quarters? What about bad footing - mud, slime, etc.. They'll impact everyone's base movement, but they should eliminate charge. Your players are treating this like a game. Why ...


17

You can charge as may things as you want, provided you're in the right condition (enough distance, no obstacles on your path) and you have enough time to do the action (with a belt of battle or on a high-level factotum you could do it even twice in a round). I can remember 3e's pounce ability (which was activated on a charge) worked only during the first ...


14

Opportunity attacks interrupt the current action (meaning they happen as soon as they are triggered either before an attack or before leaving the adjacent square). One of the properties of interrupts is that actions that are no longer valid are lost. If an interrupt invalidates a triggering action, that action is lost. (DDI) Thus the movement would ...


13

You can charge anytime you want providing you see your ennemy and there is a practicable 10-feet long straight path between you two. D20SRD says : You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent. You must have a clear path toward ...


11

No. From the RC, p240: Charge Action: Standard action. When a creature takes this action, it chooses a target. Figure out how far away the creature is from the target--even counting through squares of blocking terrain--and then follow these steps: 1. Move: The creature moves up to its speed toward the target. Each square of movement must bring ...


10

So my question would be how is the immobilizing being put onto the target? Is it something that is "until the end of the target's next turn" or "save ends". I personally don't count your turn over with until all of your actions have preformed. Since a readied action moves your place in the initiative order, I treat it just like a delay. The rules for ...


10

The charge special attack says you "make a melee basic attack" at the end of the movement. So, the damage-dealing attack is made when you're already in flianking position. The same is true for every power that has you move before striking. You consider flanking positions the moment the to hit roll is rolled. If you're flanking in that moment, you get combat ...


9

It depends on what triggered the shift. As @ioanwigmore pointed out, PHB1 p.287 describes a Charge as (emphasis mine): Move and Attack: Move your speed as part of a charge and make a melee basic attack or a bull rush at the end of your move. As @Ravn pointed out, PHB1 pg 268 describes an Immediate Interrupt as (emphasis mine): An immediate ...


8

It depends on the trigger of the readied actionDDI. As already cleared out on the Player's Handbook page 291... Interrupting an Enemy: If you want to use a readied action to attack before an enemy attacks, you should ready your action in response to the enemy’s movement. That way your attack will be triggered by a portion of the enemy’s move, and you ...


7

You can charge from within 5 squares. Wizards has updated the rules from the Player's Handbook. You can find all rules changes on their 4e errata page. In this case, the line which says "you must move directly to the nearest square from which you can attack the enemy" has been struck from the books. Quoting from the Rules Compendium (p240), which is the ...


7

NO The rules compendium for Druid Sentinels clearly specifies the results of taking actions for the animal companion: Move Actions: Whenever you take a move action, your animal companion can also take a move action. Alternatively, you can stay put but take a move action to command your animal companion to take a move action. (note that this comes ...


6

Extremely poorly. If you charge an enemy three squares away, the normal charge rules apply. Thunder hooves rage is not designed for chargers for the exact reasons you just raised. Instead, the rage is designed to work with Pressing Strike which allows shifting through enemy squares. Swift Panther rage is a better bet for charging barbarians.


6

Unfortunately, yes Looking at the commentary here and extrapolating, the shift granted by the boots modifies the charge, instead of being a free action of its own. Therefore, by the rules of hidden club, you're out of luck when it comes to rehiding after your charge attack. All hope is not lost, however. Consider unstoppable charge with a fighter MC: ...


5

They can. A half-elf Thief multiclassed Druid (Initiate of the Old Faith feat, grants Wild Shape) with Dilettante + Versatile Master feat for an at-will MBA Beast Form power (Grasping Claws, Savage Rend) can do it easily. Pounce is an option for purely charging, but usually, the other two are better. If you want to dump Wisdom, you can take the Vampire's ...


4

Its obvious that these players have invested heavily in charge based builds. If its frustrating to you and the other players you have to start putting them in situations where they can't charge, or where its less effective. Here are some suggestions: It sounds like they are moving away from a lot of creatures. Are they provoking AoO? Make sure you take ...


4

Your reading is correct Rules as written, there is nothing preventing your groups actions. As others have noted, it is a small stretch of a house rule to give ready and delay the same treatment with respect to AEOT effects, but though you could consider it "preemptive errata" with the thinking that WotC just has not seen fit to disco yet, it would be a ...


4

No, there are no feats exist to allow you to make Predator's Flurry instead of an MBA during a charge attack. 4e is premised on Simple Core rules, many exceptions. In 4e, only being able to make MBAs as part of a charge is the general rule. Specific powers with the line: Special: You can use this attack in place of a melee basic attack at the end of a ...


4

No, you cannot use Predator's Flurry on a charge. Unless a power specifically says it counts as a melee basic attack or can be used in place of an MBA when charging, there's generally no way to use it on a charge. There are a very few ways to change a few specific powers so that they can be used on a charge, but those are almost all for specific at-wills ...


4

To be able to use this as a MBA you would need something that allows you to use it as a melee basic attack. Typically this is accomplished using a feat, but this only works for a few powers and this is not one of them. I don't think there is any way to use this as a MBA. I've thumbed through the charge optimization stuff that wizards has out, and none of ...


3

It costs you your immediate action (which you only get 1 of each round), so you are limited 1 'free' charge per character per round. This charge is at the expense of any swift or immediate actions you might want to take. It also has some high prerequisites: +10 bab + 2 other teamwork feats. Since these are teamwork feats, both the rogue and the cavalier ...


3

Just to add to what Brian wrote, and to argue it in a different mannner. The text you provided reads: "After charging, you can shift 1 square before your turn ends." This means, that once you have charged, you may shift as an aftereffect of your charge. Your turn then ends and you can only do free actions. If it was the case that this shifting was a ...


3

No. As the rules in PH1 (page 287) for charge read Move and Attack: Move your speed as part of a charge and make a melee basic attack or a bull rush at the end of your move. I'd argue that if the interrupt occurs during the melee basic attack (or bull rush or substituted power), and not during the move, then by RAW "end of your move" means no you ...


3

Assuming the interrupt trigger was the charger moving adjacent to the interrupter: In Player's Handbook 1, page 268, it says about immediate interrupts; lets you jump in when a certain trigger condition arises, acting before the trigger resolves. If an interrupt invalidates a triggering action, that action is lost. For example, an enemy makes a ...


2

Because you've already spent the action to initiate the charge, getting dazed in the middle of it should not invalidate your action. Dazed condition would prevent you from taking additional non-free actions (and technically that's the case at the end of a charge anyway), but since you've already cashed in your standard action to initiate the charge, you ...


2

There are two issues: Unlike Delay, it doesn't explicitly say when (if) you get your End of Turn saving throw, but it makes sense to follow Delay's example and have it be Make Saving Throws after You Act: After you return to the initiative order and take your actions, you make saving throws against effects on you. The action triggered by Ready an ...


1

I would try to take care of it in game. The locals bad-guys have heard of your antics! I'd watch out! The next encounter in front of the controller is a covered, well concealed 3x3 pit, 30' deep, filled with any baddies they could get their hands on. Keep coming up with tricks for a while--based on the fact that the bad guys are all fascinated by their ...


1

The traditional defense versus a charge is using a spear, halberd or other long weapon. Equip your NPCs with weapons that have reach and the chargers will draw attacks of opportunity before getting within melee range. Stack your npcs two ranks deep then the chargers will have to pass through two attacks of opportunity zones before engaging in melee. In ...


1

They cannot. PHB2 page 184 - A feat that has a class as a prerequisite is available only to members of that class, including characters who have joined the class through a class specific multiclass feat. As long as your character is multiclass in Druid and meets all the requirements of a given feat you can take it. As for the wild shape, once ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible