Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

30

My group usually agrees that you need to touch the target with your hand to cast a touch spell on them, which mitigates a lot of real stupidity that can happen when you're taking touch spells too literally, so we usually count stuff that's "attached" to you as having the grappled condition (even if they're too small to actually grapple you, in which case you ...


19

Yes, you can cast spells with a Material (M) component without issue. Your Holy Symbol takes care of it. This is one of the more difficult things to look up in the current 5e rules. It starts on page 58, under Cleric spellcasting: You can use a holy symbol (found in chapter 5) as a spellcasting focus for your cleric spells. In the equipment section, ...


18

It's not like this question lacks good answers, but since your experience mirrors mine so well, I'd like to share a story. I got into my first 3.5 game in college. I'd been playing a heavily modified AD&D through high school, but we had the curious custom of having the DM handle all the rules; I barely know what an attack bonus was. So when I showed up ...


13

In terms of the Rules, no. Powers do what they do and cannot be voluntarily lowered, as there are no rules anywhere that allow it. Torturing an undead creature would be most likely be a Skill Challenge, but the ability to channel Divine Power would (for me, at least) definately be worth a +2 circumstance bonus on all checks and primary skills would include ...


8

If we combine the rules for preparing spells: Spell Slots The character class tables show how many spells of each level each can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability ...


8

According to d20PFSRD.com, the description does say "melee touch attack", however since they creature is already touching you, do you have to do anything? I would look at it as DM discretion. If the creature is attached to you, perhaps you should get a bonus to touch it. Is it attached to your boot, your skin? All these factors will come into play. Here ...


7

From page 203 of the 5e PHB Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5) in place of the components specified for a spell. In regards to the Divine Focus the 5e designers stated here A divine focus can be ...


7

Taking your hand off the weapon should not require any action expenditure - you are just letting go of it, same as if you dropped it. You can then use your free object interaction to restore your grip after casting.


7

The two handed weapon property reads: Two-Handed. This weapon requires two hands to use. It says nothing about requiring 2 hands to hold, carry, or lift. The heaviest weapon in the game is the Pike, or the Heavy Crossbow, at 18 lb. However, the amount you can lift is your Strength score multiplied by 30. Even assuming that lifting with one hand only ...


5

Not a RAW, but quote from designer's twitter Matt Petruzzelli ‏@mpetruzz Jul 28 Does an arcane focus staff also/always count as a quarterstaff? @mikemearls Mike Mearls ‏@mikemearls @mpetruzz believe so, yes. i think that's why the quarterstaff became a one-handed/versatile weapon Whilst not a proof, it is at least strong indication that ...


4

There's no such thing as "partially using" a power. That said, all damage in 4e can explicitly be non-lethal, at the attacker's discretion. From the PHB pg. 295: When you reduce a creature to 0 hit points or fewer, you can choose to knock it unconscious rather than kill it. Until it regains hit points, the creature is unconscious but not dying. Any ...


3

Extended magic circle against evil is a Good domain spell of 4th level or lower. It can be prepared in a 4th level or higher domain slot by a cleric with access to the Good domain. The domain slots only follow special rules regarding which spells can be prepared in them as a whole. They don't follow special rules about what levels those spells can be. ...


3

I would say that restricting touch attack to "touching with a hand" is reasonable and, along with the clothes/armor bonus that Green Chili mentioned, you could also keep in mind "where" the creature is attached (depending on how detailed the GM gets. For instance, if a creature is attached to the character's back, I would say that they'd actually have a ...


2

Spellcasters are generally more powerful than martial, particularly at high levels. Clerics have a number of advantages compared to many spellcasters. 1) Compare their spells (casts/day including domain, spells known (all) and spell selection) to other casters and they do quite well. The advantage over wizard increases as you use more books as clerics know ...


2

Yes you can cast a Bonus Action spell and still attack with a two-handed weapon. Taking your hand off it in the first place should not require any action expenditure - you are just letting go of something, same as if you dropped it. Reloading is part of the attack action with a ranged weapon. To reload, you must first take one hand off the crossbow. If ...


1

Each day, a cleric can prepare one of the spells from her two domains in that slot. The question is, does metamagic change a spell enough that it is no longer the same spell, no longer the spell that is on the domain list? The rules don't say one way out the other. This question usually comes up when asking if a wand could be made of a spell with ...


1

Let's look at it this way; an archer can, as part of their attack action do the following, while maintaining a grip on their two-handed bow with one hand: Reach to their quiver Draw an arrow Align the nock with the string Put the nock on the string Change their grip on the arrow/string Draw the string back Release the string Here we have gripping and ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible