Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

16

Yes. From the D&D Basic Rules: Casting the spell doesn't remove it from your list of prepared spells. Basically, 5e Wizards (and Clerics) are 3.5e Sorcerers who can swap out their "known spells" based on their spellbook (or godly mandate). I can't speak to the exact reason behind the design decision, but I assume they wanted to enable a level of ...


6

It Depends on the Cleric's Deity The cleric's class features include the class feature titled Chaotic, Evil, Good, and Lawful Spells, which says A cleric can’t cast spells of an alignment opposed to his own or his deity’s (if he has one). For example, a good cleric (or a neutral cleric of a good deity) cannot cast evil spells. Spells associated with ...


6

Yes its called a Laser Cleric Laser Cleric is a build for the 4e Cleric(Templar) class focused on making ranged, radiant attacks and handing out buffs to allies and debuffs to enemies. You choose holy symbol implement powers and can pretty much avoid making any melee attacks at all. Wisdom is your primary stat, charisma gets a boost for some rider effects. ...


5

You can't boost reflexes too, but it's not an exception. Shields are items that add a shield bonus to AC and a shield bonus to Reflexes. This does not mean that everything that gives a shield bonus to one of the two needs to give a shield bonus to the other: it's coincidental. Battle Cleric's Lore only gives a shield bonus to AC (arguably because it's not ...


4

In DnD4 the rules are very strict. If it says AC, you only increase AC, even if something implies it otherwise. So you do not get any bonus to Reflex.


4

Yes, a cleric can UMD items of opposed alignment spells. UMD is always available for activating any item, regardless of your class or class features. This is also why a specialist wizard can use UMD to activate items from banned schools. Doing so is still an aligned action, so doing so too often can change your alignment and put you in disfavor with your ...


3

Yes, both the Cleric and the Wizard can use a prepared spell multiple times as long as she or he has expendable spell slots for it. Both classes' "Preparing and Casting Spells" section explicitly states that casting a spell does not remove it from your character's list of prepared spells.


2

Yes, by RAW they can, though your DM may not be so permissive. Personally I would allow it—working under the assumption that casting a sanctified spell is a [Good] act in and of itself, in the same (nonsensical) way that Deathwatch is [Evil].


2

I house rule that Clerics can use their deity's favored weapon. It isn't like they are getting free weapon focus unless they take the war domain. You have much more power issues from Clerics using Righteous Might, Divine Metamagic, and Miracle then whether or not they are using a Quarterstaff, a Mace, a Longbow, or a Longsword.


1

Yes. Preparation doesn't mean the same as it does in 3.x; this is a case where knowledge of prior editions is an impediment to understanding D&D Next. Preparation in D&D Next is a separate pool of capability from casting capability, and is not undone by casting the spell. Page 78 of D&D Next Basic Rules (Bolding mine for emphasis): Known ...


1

Yes. In 4E there are a handful of classes, which include the cleric, for which there are basically two half sets of powers based on two different stats. For the cleric that would be either strength or wisdom. The cleric's strength powers are mostly melee, while the cleric's wisdom powers are nearly exclusively ranged. So to build a good ranged cleric, ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible