Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

32

Things are different now. The Wizard and Sorcerer from prior editions have now combined into one class, called... the Wizard. Also, the Cleric picked up the same mechanics. (Meanwhile, something mechanically new has emerged in 5e to take the name of 'Sorcerer', which has picked up some different stuff for its defining features, like a spell point mechanic.) ...


30

My group usually agrees that you need to touch the target with your hand to cast a touch spell on them, which mitigates a lot of real stupidity that can happen when you're taking touch spells too literally, so we usually count stuff that's "attached" to you as having the grappled condition (even if they're too small to actually grapple you, in which case you ...


27

Page 32 of the PHB has the description of the Cleric's Spells class feature. A cleric may prepare and cast any spell on the cleric spell list (page 183) So, yes, your cleric does not need to add his spells to a list of known spells, because (unlike the arcane casters in this book but like every divine class in this book) he already knows the whole ...


27

Under "Chapter 5: Equipment" in the Player's Basic Rules and Player's Handbook: A cleric or paladin may create holy water by performing a special ritual. The ritual takes 1 hour to perform, uses 25 gp worth of powdered silver, and requires the caster to expend a 1st-level spell slot. (PBR, p. 49; PHB, p. 152*) The ritual only expends a 1st-level spell ...


26

Protection against Spells Disguise Undead does just what it says - hides undead. Unfortunately Clerics can't cast it, so you'll either need an Arcane casting lackey to do it for you, or an item that can do it (Wands with Use Magic Device, or some other use per day item). Undetectable Alignment can hide the alignment of one creature per casting for 24 hours ...


25

From the Basic Rules, p22 & p30: The (class) table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells of 1st level and higher. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest. You prepare the list of (class) spells that are available ...


21

It's Not a Cleric Thing According to both and Wikipedia's entry on Pelor and Canonfire!'s entry on Pelor--a site which documents a lot of Greyhawk1 stuff--Pelor requires neither chastity nor celibacy of his worshipers or representatives. Just in case none of the gods listed on Canonfire! mentioned sexual practices, I searched a little more and found that ...


21

Yes, you can cast spells with a Material (M) component without issue. Your Holy Symbol takes care of it. This is one of the more difficult things to look up in the current 5e rules. It starts on page 58, under Cleric spellcasting: You can use a holy symbol (found in chapter 5) as a spellcasting focus for your cleric spells. In the equipment section, ...


21

Persistent Death ward can protect you from harm. Persistent spell allows the spell to last all day, and Death ward makes you immune to, among other things, negative energy. Find a very high level paladin or archivist and get an item enchanted with "Favor of the Martyr" (spell compendium) which explicitly protects against Wrack, and all of the status effects ...


19

You are able to cast the cleric spells at a higher level. While spells known / prepared are handled on a class basis, your spell slots are combined. PHB, page 164, Multiclassing, Spellcasting, Spell slots Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels ... Use this total to determine your spell slots by ...


18

Yes. From the D&D Basic Rules: Casting the spell doesn't remove it from your list of prepared spells. Basically, 5e Wizards (and Clerics) are 3.5e Sorcerers who can swap out their "known spells" based on their spellbook (or godly mandate). I can't speak to the exact reason behind the design decision, but I assume they wanted to enable a level of ...


18

It's not like this question lacks good answers, but since your experience mirrors mine so well, I'd like to share a story. I got into my first 3.5 game in college. I'd been playing a heavily modified AD&D through high school, but we had the curious custom of having the DM handle all the rules; I barely know what an attack bonus was. So when I showed up ...


17

You can prepare any of the inflict wounds spells as a Good Aligned Cleric, because they do not have the Evil descriptor. What you can't do is spontaneously cast your prepared spells as inflict wounds spells in the same way that you can do that for cure wounds spells. It doesn't have anything to do with the Necromancy school of magic. The Necromancy school is ...


16

The word include indicates a subset: every element that is included appears in the including set. So the statement about the cloistered cleric’s class skills is that the given list, “Decipher Script, Speak Language, and all Knowledge skills (from the Knowledge domain, see below),” is a subset of the full set cloistered cleric class skills. ...


16

Your DM is wrong SRD > Magic Overview > Spell Descriptions > School: Beneath the spell name is a line giving the school of magic (and the subschool, if appropriate) that the spell belongs to. Almost every spell belongs to one of eight schools of magic. A school of magic is a group of related spells that work in similar ways. A small number of ...


15

From the 3.5 SRD in the class description for the Cleric: Weapon and Armor Proficiency Clerics are proficient with all simple weapons Which means that normally, Clerics are proficient with simple weapons only. But a Cleric who chooses the War domain becomes proficient in the deity's favored weapon. A cleric who chooses the War domain receives ...


15

1. Is there any requirement that the alignment be the same or close to their deity's? No, your alignment does not need to match the alignment of your deity. In the introductory paragraph for the cleric it reads (page 35 of the Player's Handbook): As you create a cleric, the most important question to consider is which deity to serve and what principles ...


15

Yes. From the 3.5 d20srd: Divine spellcasters prepare their spells in largely the same manner as wizards do, but with a few differences. […] Spell Selection and Preparation A divine spellcaster selects and prepares spells ahead of time through prayer and meditation at a particular time of day. The time required to prepare spells is the same as ...


14

No, by a strict reading of RAW. See the other answers for more details. As a house rule, you could easily allow a broader spectrum of alignments for a Death cleric. Fifth Edition has done away with alignment restrictions on classes in the Player's Handbook. You can just as easily apply this same concept to the Death domain in the DMG. Just as the game will ...


13

In 3.5, you gain experience for overcoming challenges, not for individual things you do. So a fighter doesn’t get XP for successfully attacking, a wizard doesn’t get XP for successfully casting a spell, and a cleric doesn’t get XP for successfully turning an undead creature. Rather, they get XP when their attack, spell, or turn undead ...


13

In terms of the Rules, no. Powers do what they do and cannot be voluntarily lowered, as there are no rules anywhere that allow it. Torturing an undead creature would be most likely be a Skill Challenge, but the ability to channel Divine Power would (for me, at least) definately be worth a +2 circumstance bonus on all checks and primary skills would include ...


13

There's plenty of mechanical solutions (which other answerers are better equipped to provide, and I hope they do), but there are always other things the evil cleric can use against you. This quickly turns into an escalating arms race which takes the focus off the rest of the game. I'm going to suggest that you start by looking away from the mechanics and ...


12

First off, if you want advice on being a cleric, the Cleric Handbook is the best place for it. Most of the guides on that site are actually pretty good, if a little in depth. In 3.5, the default martial arts character is usually the Monk. They tend to come from monasteries, and the typical image of them is guy who spends several hours a day meditating, and ...


12

Awaken Undead From Spell Compendium, this spell gives a Mindless undead an Int/Cha score, much like the druid spell awaken. In that book you will also find the undead lieutenant, undead torch, and iron bones spells. In combination, these will produce a badass undead. If you want a small horde though, i'd just make one of them Badass and make it your ...


12

You can earn enough money to support a comfortable lifestyle. You might be able to swing wealthy with the right conversation with your DM. Basically the way that downtime activities work in 5e is as described on pg 187 of the PHB. What it boils down to is as follows: practice profession (unaffiliated) - Modest lifestyle practice profession (affiliated) - ...


12

You can definitely make it look like a dragon's head. From the description of Spiritual Weapon: The weapon can take whatever form you choose. Clerics of deities who are associated with a particular weapon (as St. Cuthbert is known for his mace and Thor for his hammer) make this spell’s effect resemble that weapon. Bahamut isn't "associated with ...


12

Yes, a cleric can take the feat Spell Focus As a feat wholly lacking in prerequisites, nearly any creature can take the feat Spell Focus, even those that can't cast spells at all. (Maybe such a creature needs the feat to qualify for a prestige class or another feat--like the feat Augment Summoning--or is planning to take levels in a class that casts spells ...


12

Yes, that's fine. The only difference between the general class X spell list and your character's personal spell list is specific additions/subtractions for special cases like this. "Is a cleric spell for you" means "it is on your character's clerical spell list." D&D is not a legal document, so just assume reasonably close equivalencies are the same ...


11

The description under domains is a good resource for this Each domain grants a number of domain powers, dependent upon the level of the cleric, as well as a number of bonus spells. A cleric gains one domain spell slot for each level of cleric spell she can cast, from 1st on up. So this bit covers how you gain domain spell slots. You get 1 slot ...


11

This question would be a lot better if you specified what level you were, what resources and such you had access to, what kind of undead, etc. Disguise Undead from the Spell Compendium is your best bet here. (You could make a more expensive version of the hat of disguise with this spell instead, if you have 100k gp burning a hole in your pocket, and you ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible