New answers tagged

6

You are incorrect that the rules do not limit the move. Your cleric should only be able to ask for Divine Guidance when they fulfill the precepts of their religion. The description for the move Divine Guidance states: When you petition your deity according to the precept of your religion... There are four precepts listed in the Dungeon World rules; ...


20

It can have only one sanctuary designated at a time, because the spell provides no method of choosing between sanctuaries. In fact, read as a whole, it becomes clear that designating a (one) sanctuary ahead of time is how you choose where you go when the spell is cast again later. So you can't use this to create an intercontinental travel network. … At ...


5

Yes, this should work. Disciple of Life says that Whenever you use a spell of 1st level or higher to restore hit points to a creature, the creature regains additional hit points equal to 2 + the spell’s level. Vampiric Touch is a spell of 1st level or higher, check. You are a creature, so if you use Vampiric Touch to restore your hit points, you ...


2

To tilt the frame slightly, instead of increasing your caster levels to ridiculous heights, you can try to avoid getting your spells dispelled by just becoming immune to spells that dispel magic. While many spells dispel magic, unless the DM is Dumpster-diving to deliberately overcome your shored-up defenses, you only really need worry about the 3rd-level ...


1

Class Ability: The Master of Masks (Complete Scoundrel), gives you the ability to craft and wear Persona Masks. You may only wear one mask at a time, and at level 1 you may craft two. Of particular interest is the High Priest mask, which gives (among other benefits): Your caster level is treated as two higher for the purpose of casting divine spells ...


2

Godhood is decided primarily based on power, which in turn is generally decided based on the number of worshipers the prospective deity has (paraphrased from DMG 5e, p 11 under Divine Rank). That means that gods - both lesser and greater - grant spells to clerics as a defining trait. Not being able to grant spells to clerics makes immensely powerful beings ...


7

These are both answered directly in the rules. The last paragraph under "Preparing and Casting Spells" in the Cleric class in the Basic Rules or p.58 of the PHB states: You can change your list of prepared spells when you finish a long rest. Preparing a new list of cleric spells requires time spent in prayer and meditation: at least 1 minute per spell ...


7

In short, yes. Your numbers are correct. A level 1 cleric can cast 4800 cantrips in 8 hours, which would make 9600 gallons of water, just like you say. It's definitely true that a civic-minded cleric could totally solve the water problem for a mid-sized city. If you've got a backup cleric or two, or are willing to take a risk on occasionally not having ...


4

Your numbers look good to me, but that's only for a level 1 Cleric! Here's the math in long form: Level 1 Cleric, Create Water: Create Water has a casting time of 1 action, so every 6 seconds (or 10 times a minute) he can Create Water producing up to 2 gallons of water. Providing that he's given ample containers to cast into, that means that he can produce ...


-3

That's going to assume that your cleric is casting spells at the full speed that they would as if they were in tactical movement. From the movement page; Tactical Movement Tactical movement is used for combat. Characters generally don't walk during combat, for obvious reasons—they hustle or run instead. A character who moves his speed and takes ...


6

The basic consensus on what the GM should allow in DW seems to be anything, as long as it fits with the fiction. This results from the GMs principles and agenda, especially be a fan of the characters and play to find out what happens. So the first question the GM should ask oneself is: Does this make sense in the fiction? Taking your example of the Black ...


-1

In response to Ellesedil and your comment back, you could consider being a Bard if you only want healing spells. They use Charisma, have a huge number of skill points for Diplomacy, Bluff, etc and provide large bonuses to party defenses. There is no problem with using a Katana 2 handed and removing one hand to cast as necessary. Remember with the bard, you ...


1

Yes. No. http://www.dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Turn_or_Rebuke_Undead If you approach within 10 feet of them, however, they overcome being turned and act normally. (You can stand within 10 feet without breaking the turning effect—you just can’t approach them.) You can attack them with ranged attacks (from at least 10 feet away), and others can attack them ...



Top 50 recent answers are included