Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

15

A rogue gets sneak attack die, or combat advantage if at the begining of their action they have cover, or are concealed. The rogue can charge from behind a wall and get the sneak attack dice, but since odds are they won't really have cover unless there is a tapestry or something like that, most of the cases they actually have to move, and then charge. That ...


14

Once per encounter only. The Rules Compendium has, on page 141 (I've omitted a few paragraphs unnecessary for this discussion) Bluff Gain Combat Advantage Action: Standard action. A creature can take this action only once per encounter. As the Rules Compendium was printed well after the Dungeon Master's Guide, the RC should take precendence. ...


13

A rogue should be getting combat advantage nearly every round. There are two main ways. Flanking - as @Sohum noted a melee rogue is likely to be in the middle of combat. The defender is his very close friend! The defender should be assisting the rogue and actively placing himself in optimal positions each round to enable flanking. Stealth - used more ...


12

The Riddle of Steel The Riddle of Steel is an early 2000s indie RPG designed by a practitioner of Renaissance Martial Arts, Jake Norwood. The game has a unique combat system that models what you're looking for, I believe. I have written some more on TRoS on this site here You can check it out for yourself with the quickstart rules. The rest of the game, ...


10

Opportunity attacks are interrupts triggered by attempting to leave an adjacent square "Leaving an adjacent square to enter another adjacent square" is just as much "leaving an adjacent square" as is "leaving an adjacent square to enter a non-adjacent square." It's not about leaving his reach entirely, it's about leaving a square he threatens. If I'm ...


8

Yes. The grabbedDDI condition doesn't prevent you from attacking the grabber, so you can flank it if your ally is in the right position. Grabbed. While a creature is grabbed, it is immobilized. Maintaining this condition on the creature occupies whatever appendage, object, or effect the grabber used to initiate the grab. This condition ends immediately ...


8

Short Answer: Yes to both. In 4E, generally as long as all conditions are met properly, bonus effects will always apply. Essentially, unless there is something preventing it from happening (as in the case of Tikulti's version of sneak attack re: the domination rules because its a once per turn thing), it should in fact still trigger. So yes, as silly as it ...


7

Yes If you find yourself in the unenviable position of flanking while holding a ranged weapon, you may indeed flank. The only requirements in this instance are: Opposite Sides: To flank an enemy, you and an ally must be adjacent to the enemy and on opposite sides or corners of the enemy’s space. When in doubt about whether two characters flank an enemy, ...


6

RuneQuest, at least the old editions from the 1980s that I'm most familiar with, had the concept of Strike Ranks. An attacker's SR was based mostly, maybe entirely, on his weapon's SR (longer/faster = better) and Dexterity modifier. The game designers were said to have drawn on their experience in the SCA when designing the combat rules. In that edition, ...


6

Disclaimer: This is for melee rogues only. Surprise rounds and First Strike should get you two attacks worth of CA at the beginning of combat. Your bread and butter is going to be flanking. Rogues have a bunch of powers that increase their mobility around the battlefield, which are helpful for precisely this purpose. Artful Dodgers absolutely rock at this, ...


5

Here is the list of conditions that grants you CA: Blinded, Dazed, Dominated, Dying, Unconscious, Helpless, Prone, Restrained, Stunned, Surprised. So, you only have to pick a list of Rogue powers that buff with any of these conditions, there are a lot of them ;) to mantain CA almost during all the encounter. I specially like Close Quarters and the Hide in ...


5

Immobilized is not Helpless/Restrained The reason Immobilized doesn't grant advantage is because it merely limits you to one location and does not actively stop you from performing any defense. The fact is, being stuck in one square doesn't mean your entire body isn't usable, or that your senses are altered just yet. That's where other status effects jump ...


4

You can provide flanking only if the enemy is at range 1. It order to generate combat advantage you must have both allies at range 1. From DDI: Opposite Sides: To flank an enemy, you and an ally must be adjacent to the enemy and on opposite sides or corners of the enemy’s space.


4

Even the last reviewDDI of this spell didn't make this point clearer. My reading is that - even if the attack listed in the spell block is not defined as a secondary attack - it complies to the same rules. Under this hypothesis, the attack inherits all the attributes of the encompassing power that are not explicitly overridden (see Rules Compendium, page 96 ...


3

Unless the creatures are hiding, the locations of all creatures are known to all other creatures. Bright light means that everything in the room is visible. provided it's not concealed in some other way. Dim light provides light obscuration which provides partial concealment against folks without low light vision. That's a -2 penalty to attack rolls. ...


3

No! The player cannot Move and Then Charge and remain Hidden. The player can, however, Charge while hidden. The reason is that any action which would cause a player to lose Hidden status does so at the end of that action. If the player moves out from behind cover, and then charges, the move action ending causes the player to lose Hidden status, before ...


3

Everquest RPG D&D 3.x OGL product based on the MMO world. It has a modification to weapons that incorporates things like weapon speed in order to create an interestingly complex change to the standard 3.x combat system as a whole. Basically the speed of a weapon influences the iterative attacks you get from it. e.g. a speed 5 weapon with a 10th level ...


1

Shadowrun Melee weapons have a 'Reach' attribute (and some creatures have extra reach) that adds extra dice in melee combat. Polearms are usually a 2, whereas a katana is a 1, and a dagger is a 0. Speedy characters (i.e. ones enhanced with cyberware or magic) can attack first (and depending on the eddition, more often), but there are no weapon-specific ...


1

I think the wording is ambiguous, and could be argued either way. I'd be tempted to say that the wording leans toward "once per encounter, total," but I think it makes more sense to say it's once per encounter per target. That is: you're fighting against Meepo and you feint and confuse him, but he won't fall for it again. He ally, though, isn't yet wise ...


1

Reading it as written it seems to be only once per encounter, regardless of the number of different targets you attempt it against.


1

Thieves have tricks that auto-grant CA. Rogues have a number of powers and items, as detailed below Thieves get Ambush Trick and Tactical Trick as ways to get trivial combat advantage as part of their move action, not counting flanking. Therefore a thief will always have CA whenever she wants it. Full stop. Rogues require the use of flanking more. ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible