Hot answers tagged

41

You have a few options: You could tell your player "If you want to disarm enemies, you need to be a Battlemaster (or take the Martial Adept feat) and use the Disarming Attack manuever." This is probably the simplest option - you stick to the rules in the PHB and if that doesn't work for your player, that's just too bad. You could allow the player to use ...


33

Consider a house rule: Novel improvised actions are more effective, repeat improvised actions are less effective We've only played with this house rule for two weeks explicitly but it pretty well captures something that has been our convention for much longer. We've called it, "Show Me Something New". New Rule: Show Me Something New When a character uses ...


27

The closest thing to a general rule I can see is the sidebar in the section on Grappling/Shoving a Creature (Basic Rules p.74): Contests in Combat Battle often involves pitting your prowess against that of your foe. Such a challenge is represented by a contest. This section includes the most common contests that require an action in combat:...


24

Grabbing it is easy but... It is easy to grab it back on their next turn, but you could also grab the weapon as your free object interaction (maybe even on the turn you disarm them!), assuming you have a hand free. Separate them from it You could also knock them away with another action (like bull rush) or a spell (like Thunderwave) if you can't grab it, ...


18

Impossible to say We have, effectively, three points of information. First, the entry on the disarm variant rule states that A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. and the entry on the battlemaster’s disarming attack lets you When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can [...force...]...


16

No, not with a "single strike", which the PHB would call an attack. Quoting from the Player's Handbook, p.73 (emphasis mine): Many maneuvers enhance an attack in some way. You can use only one maneuver per attack. If you have additional attacks, from a feat, from the Extra Attack class feature or from some other source, you can use one additional ...


15

On the d20SRD, next to the "pick up an item," there is a FAQ linked that covers this. You can pick something up within your reach (which seems to qualify in this case) and it provokes an AoO. Notice that reaching into a threatened square doesn't provoke, just reaching while someone threatens you. So you don't have to be in their square, just be able to ...


14

Yes, shields can be disarmed. There are only two methods of disarming in the game at present - the variant rule in the DMG, and the Battlemaster Fighter's Disarming Attack. Both of these can disarm someone of a shield. The variant rule in the DMG says: Disarm A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. ...


14

The key here is whether the "special attack" requires the attack action or just a melee or weapon attack. An opportunity attack is a melee attack. It is not an attack action. Therefore, special attacks which require an attack action cannot replace it, whereas special attacks which require only a melee attack can. No for Grapple and Shove From Sage ...


13

Yes "If the attack involves other damage dice" sounds like a pretty solid indicator that "Superiority Dice" would be multiplied, if a maneuver were used that adds the result as damage. That sounds like a pretty sneaky way to add extra damage to multiply (not that superiority dice are really game-breaking for additional damage) after learning that an attack ...


13

You can add it after the roll, but not after someone else uses a reaction to respond to the result of the roll (i.e., because the roll indicated a hit and that result was declared): You can use this maneuver before or after making the attack roll, but before any effects of the attack are applied. The attack's success causing someone else to choose to ...


12

So this question sort of ultimately comes down to "does shove use my weapon?" the answer to which is unfortunately clouded and probably up to your DM more than it is governed by the rules. I think in my games, I'd probably not, as "shove" seems more like a body to body effect (or shield if you're using one) rather than a weapon push, but I'd be open to ...


12

No, unarmed strikes aren't considered weapons. Official errata has stated that Weapons (p. 149). Unarmed strike doesn’t belong on the Weapons table. But Jeremy Crawford has clarified via Twitter that ...[The melee attack errata] lets melee weapon attacks use unarmed strikes, despite those strikes not being weapons. So you can use your unarmed ...


10

Yes. In 3.5 the sunder special attack wording is "You can use a melee attack with a slashing or bludgeoning weapon to strike a weapon or shield that your opponent is holding." In Pathfinder however it was changed to say "You can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by your opponent in place of a melee attack." Discussion by users on the Paizo forums about ...


9

There are no existing rules that explicitly allow this. The only methods of disarming that exist at present are the Battlemaster Fighter's Disarming Attack, and the variant Disarm rule in the DMG. Disarming Attack only lets you force a creature to drop an item that it's holding, not one that it's wearing: When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you ...


8

The "improved" versions are feats which allow you to ignore Attacks of Opportunity. Without these, you not only become vulnerable to a free attack upon yourself when using them, but also the opportunity to be knocked out of them via this attack as well, preventing and wasting the action entirely. As such, it's best to not even consider the maneuvers as ...


8

Check the Tome of Battle For Dummies handbook provides: A list of maneuvers organized by prereqs and level. A list of choice maneuvers


8

From the Errata: Melee Attacks (p. 195). The rule on unarmed strikes should read as follows: “Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons). On a hit, an unarmed strike deals bludgeoning damage equal to 1 + your Strength ...


8

I'm breaking this down so we're on the same page. "Is it possible in the same round for a martial adept to initiate maneuvers from two different schools? Yes, it's possible as long as the martial adept doesn't exceed his normally allotted number of actions. Most martial adepts can't take more actions in a round than other creatures. "Can a martial adept ...


8

A dungeon crasher is much more versatile if played using that house rule, but creatures aren't usually also objects The Monster Manual on nonabilities says, "Anything with no Wisdom score is an object, not a creature" (312). So bull rushing a creature into another creature—even if the other creature is wearing armor—is not bull rushing the first creature ...


8

A creature shouldn't gain options because it's impaired While the rules for a grapple assume the attacker wants to maintain a grapple, you've found a reason for the attacker not to want to maintain the grapple: the movement into the opponent's space'll provoke attacks of opportunity from other foes. In such a case, the attacker is free not to maintain the ...


8

Yes Dimensional anchor does this: Any creature or object struck by the ray is covered with a shimmering emerald field that completely blocks extradimensional travel. It goes on to describe examples of things that are extradimensional travel, including dimension door and teleport. Note that this list is not exclusive. It doesn't straight up define what ...


8

Firstly, it is worth noting that (as Eidolon notes) temporary hitpoints do not stack (pg.198 PHB). That is to say, if you have 10 temporary hp, and gain 12, you now have 12, NOT 22. Technically yes With that in mind, as per this question, all actions that can be used in combat, can be used outside of combat. Combat is not special in that regard - it is ...


7

The DMG adds more (optional, added to game at GM discretion) combat action options (page 271). One such optional action is the disarm action: Disarm A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. The attacker makes an attack roll contested by the target's Strength (Athletics) check or Dexterity (...


7

1. Would shield bashing, or using the shield as a weapon, meet the requirements of the Pin Shield feat? Yes, you can use a shield as an off hand weapon for purposes of the Pin Shield feat. Like with an ordinary shield bash attack, you lose any AC bonus provided by your shield until your next action. You would also suffer any other penalties for fighting ...


7

Maintaining the grapple is optional To maintain the grapple for later rounds… Everything in Step 4 is what you need to do to maintain the grapple. To not maintain the grapple you just don't maintain it, and therefore don't need to do any of the things necessary to maintain the grapple.


6

You use your warblade initiator level. From Tome of Battle, p31-32, Martial Study: ... If you have martial adept levels, this maneuver becomes one of your maneuvers known. If you do not have martial adept levels, you can use this maneuver once per encounter as a martial adept with an initiator level equal to 1/2 your character level. If you have any ...


6

Yes, you use the +5 to hit. CMB Explained When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver. As the +5 ...


6

The DMG has rules for disarming on page 271. It is an attack roll vs the target's Athletics or Acrobatics check.


6

Combat maneuvers can't score threats In the discussion of the Paizo Blog post Combat Maneuvers and Weapon Special Features Pathfinder designer Sean K. Reynolds in Oct. 2011 posted this question-and-answer: If you have Tripping Strike and attempt to disarm someone, can you "crit" the disarm attempt and thereby trigger your Tripping Strike? ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible