Hot answers tagged

41

You have a few options: You could tell your player "If you want to disarm enemies, you need to be a Battlemaster (or take the Martial Adept feat) and use the Disarming Attack manuever." This is probably the simplest option - you stick to the rules in the PHB and if that doesn't work for your player, that's just too bad. You could allow the player to use ...


33

Consider a house rule: Novel improvised actions are more effective, repeat improvised actions are less effective We've only played with this house rule for two weeks explicitly but it pretty well captures something that has been our convention for much longer. We've called it, "Show Me Something New". New Rule: Show Me Something New When a character uses ...


24

Grabbing it is easy but... It is easy to grab it back on their next turn, but you could also grab the weapon as your free object interaction (maybe even on the turn you disarm them!), assuming you have a hand free. Separate them from it You could also knock them away with another action (like bull rush) or a spell (like Thunderwave) if you can't grab it, ...


18

Impossible to say We have, effectively, three points of information. First, the entry on the disarm variant rule states that A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. and the entry on the battlemaster’s disarming attack lets you When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can [...force...]...


16

No, not with a "single strike", which the PHB would call an attack. Quoting from the Player's Handbook, p.73 (emphasis mine): Many maneuvers enhance an attack in some way. You can use only one maneuver per attack. If you have additional attacks, from a feat, from the Extra Attack class feature or from some other source, you can use one additional ...


14

Yes, shields can be disarmed. There are only two methods of disarming in the game at present - the variant rule in the DMG, and the Battlemaster Fighter's Disarming Attack. Both of these can disarm someone of a shield. The variant rule in the DMG says: Disarm A creature can use a weapon attack to knock a weapon or another item from a target's grasp. ...


14

The key here is whether the "special attack" requires the attack action or just a melee or weapon attack. An opportunity attack is a melee attack. It is not an attack action. Therefore, special attacks which require an attack action cannot replace it, whereas special attacks which require only a melee attack can. No for Grapple and Shove From Sage ...


13

Yes "If the attack involves other damage dice" sounds like a pretty solid indicator that "Superiority Dice" would be multiplied, if a maneuver were used that adds the result as damage. That sounds like a pretty sneaky way to add extra damage to multiply (not that superiority dice are really game-breaking for additional damage) after learning that an attack ...


13

You can add it after the roll, but not after someone else uses a reaction to respond to the result of the roll (i.e., because the roll indicated a hit and that result was declared): You can use this maneuver before or after making the attack roll, but before any effects of the attack are applied. The attack's success causing someone else to choose to ...


9

There are no existing rules that explicitly allow this. The only methods of disarming that exist at present are the Battlemaster Fighter's Disarming Attack, and the variant Disarm rule in the DMG. Disarming Attack only lets you force a creature to drop an item that it's holding, not one that it's wearing: When you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you ...


8

A dungeon crasher is much more versatile if played using that house rule, but creatures aren't usually also objects The Monster Manual on nonabilities says, "Anything with no Wisdom score is an object, not a creature" (312). So bull rushing a creature into another creature—even if the other creature is wearing armor—is not bull rushing the first creature ...


8

A creature shouldn't gain options because it's impaired While the rules for a grapple assume the attacker wants to maintain a grapple, you've found a reason for the attacker not to want to maintain the grapple: the movement into the opponent's space'll provoke attacks of opportunity from other foes. In such a case, the attacker is free not to maintain the ...


8

I'm breaking this down so we're on the same page. "Is it possible in the same round for a martial adept to initiate maneuvers from two different schools? Yes, it's possible as long as the martial adept doesn't exceed his normally allotted number of actions. Most martial adepts can't take more actions in a round than other creatures. "Can a martial adept ...


8

Yes Dimensional anchor does this: Any creature or object struck by the ray is covered with a shimmering emerald field that completely blocks extradimensional travel. It goes on to describe examples of things that are extradimensional travel, including dimension door and teleport. Note that this list is not exclusive. It doesn't straight up define what ...


8

Firstly, it is worth noting that (as Eidolon notes) temporary hitpoints do not stack (pg.198 PHB). That is to say, if you have 10 temporary hp, and gain 12, you now have 12, NOT 22. Technically yes With that in mind, as per this question, all actions that can be used in combat, can be used outside of combat. Combat is not special in that regard - it is ...


7

1. Would shield bashing, or using the shield as a weapon, meet the requirements of the Pin Shield feat? Yes, you can use a shield as an off hand weapon for purposes of the Pin Shield feat. Like with an ordinary shield bash attack, you lose any AC bonus provided by your shield until your next action. You would also suffer any other penalties for fighting ...


7

Maintaining the grapple is optional To maintain the grapple for later rounds… Everything in Step 4 is what you need to do to maintain the grapple. To not maintain the grapple you just don't maintain it, and therefore don't need to do any of the things necessary to maintain the grapple.


6

Snap Kick gives you an attack. That attack normally deals damage as described, but specific trumps general: if you use a combat maneuver like Trip or Disarm, the rules for that maneuver trump the feat’s statement about damage. Trip and Disarm can generally replace any attack, and Snap Kick gives an attack, so it’s eligible to perform those maneuvers.


6

Yes since shield already involves time travel Shield is a profoundly strange spell that involves changing your AC after you have confirmed you were hit then going back and checking again. Since this is already traveling back I see no problem with the fighter activating Precision Attack since its text about "...before or after making the attack roll..." ...


5

Although it's neither errata nor rules text... James Jacobs says No In the 2011 Paizo messageboard thread "Can You Trip a Prone Person?" Pathfinder creative director James Jacobs says You can't trip someone who is prone. Just like you can't put a sleeping person to sleep, kill someone who's dead, or so on. This is a case where, I would hope, common ...


5

There are not currently any options for doing so. The ability to disarm opponents come either from the disarm variant rule or the battlemaster’s disarming attack. These both specify that they work only on items that are “grasped” or “held,” respectively, so unless someone is holding onto some piece of their armor, they can’t be disarmed of it. But if you ...


4

No. Armor is worn, not armed. Consider that armor takes time to put on due to it's straps, belts, laces, or other various parts, and is considered a lengthy procedure taking up to 10 minutes (PHB pg. 146). Contrast that with a weapon or shield which takes an action (6 seconds). The difference is very plain. Armor takes care and consideration to be worn, ...


4

The Snap Kick feat's extra attack must be used to deal damage The feat Snap Kick has as part of its benefit the following: When you make a melee attack with one or more melee weapons (including a standard attack, full attack, or even a strike maneuver), you can make an additional attack at your highest attack bonus. This attack is an unarmed attack that ...


4

Based on the latter part of the quote of the rules text: If you force an opponent to move into a wall or other solid object, he stops as normal. It seems to be that the requirement is that whatever it is the opponent bumps into has to be a solid object capable of stopping the movement normally. So a glass wall might not count (if the opponent can go ...


4

Yes, both the bull rush and the trip attempt, unless you have improved bull rush and/or improved trip, will provoke attacks of opportunity. The general rule of provoking always applies, unless there is a specific exception. Since Hammer to the Ground doesn't make a specific exception, it is safe to assume the general rule about combat maneuvers provoking ...


4

The spell dimensional anchor may or may not prevent a martial adept from using a maneuver like shadow jaunt While the spell 4th-level Sor/Wiz spell dimensional anchor [abjur] (PH 221) lists some of the spells, spell-like abilities, and psionic abilities that it prevents, the spell also "completely blocks extradimensional travel," which all spells of the ...


3

You've got a lot of separate questions rolled into one here. I'll try to answer 'em all. Typically, something as basic as summoning light I'd treat as a mundane effect (a 'free' spell). It's easily done via glowsticks, flashlights, switching on the lights... dozens of things other than magic. Unless there is specifically an aspect against there being ...


3

Jeremy Crawford said that this is not specified in the rules, and that he would let the player decide how the reduction is split between the damage types. This does not imply that any complete reduction to any one part of the damage reduces that of another. From the basic rules chapter on combat: "Resistance and then vulnerability are applied after all ...


3

In the beginning of the Item Qualities section of Chapter 5 of the core books it notes that unless stated in the description of a specific quality, a successful attack must be made to activate a weapon quality, but it does not require that damage be done. Despite the high damage capacity of a lightsaber, there are still situations where it may not get ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible