Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

31

Scenario 1, a bag of holding into a portable hole: No. When the bag of holding is placed into the portable hole, a gate is opened and the two items are sucked into it and forever lost. Essentially, they consume each other. There is no mention of anything else getting sucked into the gate or if the gate allows other creatures and objects travel to the astral ...


13

Coup de Grace is not gone, it's just not explicitly called out. Unconscious....Any attack that hits this creature is a critical hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature (PHB 292) This same wording is also used for Paralyzed. You don't have this mechanic potentially leading to automatic death (though it can with the already in place death ...


9

1. He Hits Rules Compendium (p. 64) has it covered, emphasis mine: Even when hit by spells (including touch spells) or magic weapons, an incorporeal creature has a 50% chance to ignore any damage from a corporeal source—except for positive energy, negative energy, force effects such as magic missile, or attacks made with ghost touch weapons. ...


9

First off, I'll say that I think Ruut's answer is pretty comprehensive and mostly accurate, and I would post this as a comment but it's too long to do that sensibly. If I came across this situation, I'd house-rule it depending on whether or not I'm OK with the players pulling something like this because it's not black and white. I'd be inclined to allow it ...


8

Equipment takes damage under a variety of circumstances, but most of the circumstances are rare unless a character devotes resources to breaking things Such a character might... sunder a item held or worn by a foe. The character picks the item to sunder. If the sunder attempt is successful, determine if the item breaks by consulting Damaging Objects. The ...


7

In D&D 5E, specific rules take precedence over general rules. Since the two-weapon style, available through the fighter and ranger classes, is a specific rule, let's start by reviewing the general rule : Two-Weapon Fighting : When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus ...


6

Stealth is a separate action unless it's used as part of your movement (see here and here). That means you can use Stealth to walk, climb, swim, run, or even jump silently, and there is no MAP - but if you wish to use Stealth for a different activity (such as picking a pocket) it counts as an action, and incurs a MAP if combined with another action. For ...


6

Yes, of course! Whenever the fictions establishes it! That means, whenever a PC (or NPC for that matter) is convincingly able to hit multiple targets, it can do so. How do you handle that mechanically? You have the PC roll any defy danger and/or hack&slash as usual, let them roll their damage and apply the damage to every target hit. On/around page ...


5

A Creature that, Because of the Creature's Size, Provokes Attacks of Opportunity for Entering a Foe's Square Provokes Attacks of Opportunity when Entering a Foe's Square by Taking a 5-ft. Step The rules cited in the question are from two different places about two different things. The 5-ft. step rules don't care about the creature size rules, and the ...


5

Once someone takes a swing at you the only way to not get hit is to have a higher AC than the attack roll. However before that happens there are things you can do. Ready a move action to move out of range if someone moves towards you, preventing the attack (assuming you can get out of range.) Use the dodge action to impose disadvantage on any attacker, ...


4

There is no specific rule stating that. (Page 119) Lightsabers ignore damage reduction unless specifically noted otherwise. (Page 122) The saber can cut through most materials (except another lightsaber blade, an energy shield, or a few exotic materials) given enough time. (Page 152) The GM may determine that certain weapons just can't deal damage ...


4

Continuing to attack through Vampiric Touch requires an action. So does casting Inflict wounds. From Vampiric Touch (PHB 285) Until the spell ends, you can make the attack again on each of your turns as an action. So if you cast Inflict Wounds, you cannot attack again with Vampiric Touch and if you attack again with Vampiric Touch, your action is used ...


4

I'd give the penalties of all ammo in a burst. Since a burst gives you a slight bonus and hollow points give you a slight bonus (against unarmored targets), I'd apply a -1 to the roll to reflect the fact that one of the bullets you're firing isn't quite as good but gives the benefits of tracers. Alternately, if you wanted a simpler and more powerful game, ...


4

Generally, gear doesn’t break unless something explicitly says so. Sunder explicitly involves attacking equipment. Various spells also explicitly mention damaging equipment. Firearms can misfire, as explicitly described under their rules. Equipment with the Fragile property also have an explicit chance of breaking. But without such explicit mentions, gear ...


3

Two weapon fighting works differently in 5e than it has in previous editions. By default, you have to use light weapons in both hands. You can then take your action to make a normal melee attack(s) with one weapon, and then use your bonus action to make an additional attack with your other weapon. The bonus action attack does not get your ability modifier ...


3

In 4e, you could only be targetted by a coup de grace if you had the 'helpless condition'. Usually, this only happened when you fell unconscious. In 5e, there is still a coup de grace mechanic, when creatures are subject to certain conditions, attacks that hit them will automatically be critical hits. There are two effects in 5e that allow an attacker to ...


3

This is a ongoing debate, and one that each GM must decide. According to rules as written yes, they stack. According to rules as intended they do not...


3

Auspex I is Heightened Senses, i.e. increasing one of your five senses to supernatural levels (NOT aura perception). I personally always make my players define what sense they enhance. So if it is anything other than Sight or Smell - use as normal. Hearing footsteps is perfectly fine. Smell would be overloaded, possibly leading to WP roll to avoid Frenzy, ...


3

-1 to attack enemy whose position you can accurately approximate. -3 in subsequent turns. Describe combat scene in terms of abstract shapes and silhouettes. ALL combatants are fair game. The GM should keep a mental picture in their head of where everybody is. Confuse PCs through vague descriptions. To figure out where allied/friendly PCs are, have them ...


2

2. He may hit. The DM checks the shadow's 50% immunity to corporeal damage sources and, if Abel successfully overcomes that, then the shadow makes a Willpower saving throw. Because the attack is magic yet delivered by a corporeal source, the shadow's incorporeal subtype's 50% immunity to corporeal damage sources must be checked. The only instances in ...


2

Short answer: Yes you can, if you are the one who caused those consequences, or if that person allows you to.


2

You can find it in WoD: Armory on page 53: A character must have Firearms 2 with a Revolvers Specialty to fan. She may expend three shots to fire a short autofire burst. If the revolver has at least six shots loaded, she may completely empty it to fire a medium autofire burst (see p. 160, the World of Darkness Rulebook). In either case, fanning raises ...


2

Accoring to the rulebook, armor on same location does not stack. No exceptions can be seen on the shields. But maybe your GM can be persuaded to go around this with a house rule, knowing that if you carry a shield and armor you suddently become really hard to kill (which i could imagine being your plan.)


2

The way I've always played it, (so this may be a house rule, but it was presented to me by my GMs as traditional), is that it depends on whether you're actively trying to be stealthy, or passively stealthy by nature. Basically, it's all about whether you're taking extra time or effort to pull it off: Multi-Action - If you're tip-toeing around or sneaking ...


2

If we are talking physically only, anything that would break the line of effect would prevent you from taking damage irregardless of AC. Hiding/dodging behind a rock before a creature can get in range prevents an attack entirely. Breaking line of sight for an archer is also much more effective than just standing there letting them attempt to hit your AC. ...


1

You can only wield two light weapons. From the PHB, page 191: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. You don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless ...


1

Quoting basic rules because my PH is not here. As others have said, an attack against an Unconscious or Paralyzed creature has advantage and is a critical if within 5 feet. Against a restrained opponent (e.g. tied up), they just have advantage. This can cause death under the Instant Death rule (p. 76). Massive damage can kill you instantly. When damage ...


1

The answer to your specific question is that due to the result of 8, which falls into the category 7–9, the villain gets to make an attack. That does not automatically mean that damage will be dealt. The GM has the choice to use one of the NPCs monster moves, which can be anything from simply doing damage or throwing a net at the PC to calling support. ...


1

The damage of a stun grenade — or any weapon — affects vampires normally unless there's a specific exception (e.g. firearms do bashing in nWoD 1.0 and all weapons do bashing in nWoD 2.0). A vampire with Auspex active would likely have a chance to be stunned just as if startled by a bright flash or another loud noise. If the Auspex writeup ...


1

From Hunter: the Vigil p248 Dart gun: used primarily for animal control and zoological research. Does no damage but delivers a dose of tranquilizer upon a successful hit. Modifying a dart to contain a different substance requires a successful Dexterity + Crafts roll with a -2 penalty; failure results in destruction of the dart and loss of its ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible