Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

14

JohnP is correct in his answer about the order of events, but here's why. You're missing the important phrasing in the PHB entry. If you are hidden—both unseen and unheard—when you make an attack, you give away your location when the attack hits or misses. Not When you take the Attack Action or when the attack is otherwise made. The attack has to be ...


13

Touch = Melee range for all intents and porpoises. It does not tell you about what the power's attack roll/saving throw/action is. The text of the Lay On Hands ability states: As an action, you can touch a creature and draw power from the pool to restore a number of hit points to that creature, up to the maximum amount remaining in your pool. ...


12

No charge action Why does charging give double movement? In fact, in an AP system, why is "charging" a separate thing? If a given character can "carefully move" 1 hex per AP, or "normally move" 2 hexes per AP, or "recklessly move" 3 hexes per AP; then his distance to his target determines whether he can get there and still attack or not, you don't need a ...


11

No, the list of steps is not correct. On his turn, player readies an action to throw javelin when he sees goblin Goblin, on his turn, uses short bow to shoot PC, goblin rolls attack (hit on PC) PC takes a reaction to throw javelin Resolve PC attack on goblin (hit and damage) Roll damage for goblin's attack on PC Look at steps 3-5. Even if the attack ...


10

In the PHB we have the following rules concerning a size difference of two or more: You cannot move through a hostile creature's space unless it is two or more sizes bigger than you. (PHB 191, Player's Basic Rules 71) You can drag or carry a grappled creature but your speed is halved unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you. (PHB 195) ...


10

Smite Evil is limited per day, but not per round. You may use it as many times per round as you like, provided you have enough daily uses remaining. You can use it on any attack you make, regardless of when or why you were making that attack (e.g. any attack in a Full-Attack, a single attack made as a Standard action, an attack of opportunity, attacks from ...


8

Yes, your unarmed attack are +4 to hit and deal 1d4 + 2 damage You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of your unarmed strikes and monk weapons.


6

Lay on Hands is not normally used for an attack, and isn't an attack. It's an ability you can use when you can literally lay your hands onto a creature. You can argue it into an "attack" several ways, but all such arguments are trying to rely on strict rules for this corner case in a game that doesn't have strict rules for corner cases; a game that instead ...


4

The CRPG Way This is a common thing in tactical computer RPGs with similar systems. The usual answer there is that this is a tactical concern the players need to take into account which boils down to - don't rush up to opponents if you can't also attack. In this case, people will tend to edge up a bit by bit, either hoping to goad the other side into ...


4

Yes. Dive Attack is an ability that triggers when it says it does; it doesn't alter what the peryton is allowed to do. Since diving and then using Multiattack satisfies that condition (assuming at least one of the attacks hits), yes, it applies to whichever of the Gore or Talons attack triggers the Dive Attack ability's conditions. The peryton can then make ...


3

To answer the first part of your question- Yes. Supporting text - from (YS208) You can also use maneuvers (even outside of conflict) to coordinate on an action with several people. Emphasis mine. That point would not be relevant if you couldn't use it in combat. As far as the second part of your question, the answer is really going to depend on ...


3

Combat can be Simultaneous This is a fairly fundamental change in mechanics, so consider it carefully. Rather than treating combat as a series of attack actions that the target passively defends against, you can treat combat as a mutual interaction; both combatants are active and can inflict harm equally. For example, you could have both roll a melee skill ...


3

The only special rules we have for swarms are the following: Swarm. The swarm can occupy another creature’s space and vice versa, and the swarm can move through any opening large enough for a Tiny [creature]. The swarm can’t regain hit points or gain temporary hit points. So as far as the rules are concerned, swarms don't have any exception to ...


2

No, size does not affect attacks. It's possible that the restriction that you're thinking of is that you cannot grapple or shove a creature 2 sizes larger than yourself. There are a number of other exceptions around size, but none that affect regular attacks. The primary rules on creature size in combat are on page 71 of the Player's Basic Rules.


2

Based on my answer to the duplicate question you need to do 7 levels of damage to incapacitate a Vampire with a single shot. With the 2nd edition and 20th anniversary rules it's pretty hard to do more than about 3 levels of damage at once unless you manage a fabulous roll. So you've got to find 4 extra levels of damage from somewhere which equates to ...


2

Yes. Your example, Travel's Domain, is a free action and costs no time, so it could be activated beforehand knowing you would encounter rough terrain during your charge. If any other "special ability" costs more than a Swift or Free Action, you couldn't use it because charging is a full-round action. Yes, but the charge would fail and the creature would ...


2

The bonus attack is just your standard monk unarmed strike. This means the Martial Arts ability that allows the addition of either DEX or STR to unarmed strike attacks and damage rolls can be used. Normal attack roll: 1d20 + proficiency bonus + (STR or DEX). At level 1 (damage scales with level), its damage is 1d4+ (STR or DEX).


1

1 Yes. None of the restrictions are on "designating a foe". You didn't ask this, but perhaps it was implied. Yes, you can also charge since, even though the rules state you cannot run or charge through difficult terrain, in the specific text for the rules for charging, it isn't the difficult terrain itself, rather the "hindered movement". 2 Yes, you may ...


1

One possibility (as used in C&S) is to allow movement to be simultaneous with preparing an attack/parry. After all, there is no real-life reason why you cannot use your arms to swing your sword at the same time as your legs are carrying you forward. I would suggest a rule along the lines of "Attacking with a melee weapon (and other actions marked with a ...


1

A swarm may enter another creatures space, but how big is that space? A medium creature occupies one square on the grid, and one square on the 5th edition battle grid represents 5 feet. A creature in a square is not a solid 5X5X5 cube but a moving, dodging, threatening being. At the moment a spell, such as Fire Bolt is cast, for the sake of narrative, it ...


1

Explosive and Incendiary ammunition is generally very exaggerated in fiction. Both usually have poor ballistics (ability to fly straight) and low penetration (ability to pierce armor/flesh/anything else). Also, the intention of using either is different from what you want to accomplish. Incendiary ammunition is usually paired with armor-piercing rounds to ...


1

Lay On Hands isn't an attack... It is merely an action that let's you restore HP or remove specific conditions. There is no language about it healing or damaging certain types of creatures as channel divinity had in various versions of the playtest. As written Lay on Hands simply effects the target if you trigger it in range.


1

You can choose to not use as many random encounters as they approach the keep. That first encounter I gave the full party a surprise round to start it off. Unfortunately it was still a brutal start. In mine I let Linan offer a healing potion to one of the wounded as thanks for saving them. This way they may be able to survive their trek to the keep


1

The Beast Strike Feat from the Dragonmarks: Way of the Shackled Beast article in Dragon Magazine Issue 355 allows you to add claw or slam damage to Unarmed Strike Attacks as a monk. Its what actually makes Eldritch Claw Warlock and Monk multiclassing work.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible