Hot answers tagged

34

The rule about all of its heads dying is an exception particular to the hydra. It is not immune to the effects of being defeated when reduced to 0 hp. If the hydra were immune to defeat at 0 hp, its description would have to say so.


18

Help only provides advantage for a single ally and only for a single attack Everything in the text of Help uses the singular for who you're helping "...a friendly creature..." "...ally's..." "...your ally" So it only provides advantage for a single ally. Also note the last sentence which further limits Help to only providing advantage for the first ...


13

No But the argument is not so straightforward. The problem with this question is that the RAW are murky enough to allow for some leeway in interpretation. Going by RAI, the intention was clearly to use Two-Weapon Fighting with one-handed weapons, and not game the system by attacking with a versatile weapon while holding it in two hands, arguing that it ...


13

Do you have advantage on the attack roll? Vow of Enmity gives you advantage on attacks for a minute. This assumes there are no effects giving the character disadvantage, balancing everything out to nil. Is the Weapon Finesse? Scimitars are finesse. You do an extra d6 of damage.


10

Normally, you would be correct; if a level 2 Rogue (or level 3 rogue of any other Archetype except Assassin) catches an enemy by surprise or takes their turn before the start of the targets initiative count, they would also need Advantage on the attack for it to apply Sneak Attack. A level 3 Rogue with the Assassin Archetype get's the Assassinate feature, ...


9

The two-weapon fighting sections says: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. With that in mind, the only restriction is that one attack must be with each weapon. The extra attack ...


8

No. When you switch your grip to use both hands, the longsword is no longer "in the other hand" because it's now also in the first hand. "Other" denotes that it is not in the first. Two weapon fighting no longer applies.


8

Make Attack Rolls Advantage on saving throws have no impact whatsoever on spells that have attack rolls—or spells that don't require a roll at all (like magic missile). Scorching ray, fire bolt, shocking grasp, spiritual weapon, and so many more spells don't require a save and are unaffected by any modifier/bonus to a saving throw. Additionally, weapon ...


7

It's not "lost" as such. But you can't magically turn it into something else because circumstances changed. If your ally attacks the target before your next turn, the first attack roll is made with advantage. That's all the Help action (when used to Help an attack) does. If your ally doesn't attack, it doesn't change the fact that you used the Help ...


6

I run D&D 5E combats describing distance in multiples of 30 feet, calling these "moves". Most spell/weapon ranges are in multiples of 30 feet. I made throwing weapons (normally a range of 20/60) have a range of 30/60 for simplicity. Since 5E doesn't have concepts like "5 foot step", the approximation is OK. "The archers are two moves away." - means PCs ...


6

If you have advantage you get sneak attack damage. If you also have disadvantage as well then you no longer have advantage and you don't. However, this is the hard way to get sneak attack. The easy way is to have any ally stand next to your target: the fighter, the mage's familiar, the ranger's animal companion etc. A rogue should get sneak attack ...


5

On its turn the undine makes a melee attack then uses hydraulic push The undine weaponshaft says As a full-round action, an undine can make a single melee attack with the weapon and use her hydraulic push spell-like ability against the target of that melee attack. The weapon otherwise functions like a standard weapon of its type.... Although the ...


4

Whatever your DM rules is correct The rules themselves are ambiguous and turn on what "holding in the other hand" means and since the rules are written in English not Boolean logic this is not clear. One interpretation is that so long as the weapon is "in the other hand" it doesn't matter that it is in the first hand as well. This allows the use of a ...


3

Yes, there is nothing wrong with your build, and you can draw the handaxe again as a free object interaction. The Dual Wielder feat removes the light limitation on your weapons. It also gives you an extra object interaction (might not be needed, but gripping the long sword might be considered an object interaction by some DM's). PHB pg 165: DUAL ...


3

So 4e has this problem with combats devolving into long slogs of whittling away at colossal HP totals. There are a number of commonly-suggested improvements, but ultimately as a highly-tactical, rules-heavy game, combat is the emphasis of 4e and it tends to take quite a bit of time even when you do everything you can to limit that. In addition to these ...


3

Damage is lethal unless indicated otherwise Nothing about the feat Bleeding Attack (né Belier's Bite from Cheliax, Empire of Devils 26) indicates that the feat's benefit interacts at all with nonlethal damage. The benefit of the feat Bleeding Attack simply says, "When you damage an opponent with an unarmed strike, you deal an extra 1d4 bleed damage." That ...


3

To get a Sneak Attack, you require either advantage on the attack roll or an ally within 5 feet of the target. An Assassin Rogue gets advantage when attacking a foe who has not yet had a turn in this combat (Assassinate feature) so you can choose to use Sneak Attack if you hit. If an Assassin Rogue scores a hit on a surprised foe then the hit is ...


2

Sneak Attack (Usually) Requires Advantage You can add sneak attack damage, "…if you have advantage on the attack roll…" or "…if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn't incapacitated, and you don't have disadvantage on the attack roll," (PH96). Surprised Doesn't Grant Advantage When you're surprised, "you can't move or take an ...


2

Yes, that is what the weapon special quality grapple does: On a successful critical hit with a weapon of this type, you can grapple the target of the attack. The wielder can then attempt a combat maneuver check to grapple his opponent as a free action. This grapple attempt does not provoke an attack of opportunity from the creature you are ...


1

Yes to both parts of your question. The bonus action attack from two-weapon fighting normally only applies when you are wielding a light melee weapon in both hands. The dual wield feat removes the light requirement, but it still has the following requirement: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that ...


1

General Advice: Use a system with simple rules. The more rules the players have available to them, the more they tend to rely on them. When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail. The less game mechanics the players have to use as tools to "solve" an encounter, the more incentived they are to come up with creative and more narrative ideas. ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible