Tag Info

New answers tagged

0

No you can never get more that a + or - 60 modifier on any test in any of the fantasy flight Warhammer 40k games. In Deathwatch you can use fate to increase a roll by 10 gettign in effect a +70 but i dont think you get fate points in rogue trader


-1

Someone already mentioned the Help action, but I think they downplayed its usefulness. Help when applicable grants advantage on a skill check or attack roll. I'm a situation where scoring a few hits or skill checks more consistently is better than lots of people inconsistently succeeding and failing, the Help action can mean the difference between a ...


3

Under the RAW for "Throw Splash Weapon": A splash weapon is a ranged weapon that breaks on impact, splashing or scattering its contents over its target and nearby creatures or objects. To attack with a splash weapon, make a ranged touch attack against the target. The RAW makes no distiction between a ranged touch or a melee touch: [T]he attacker ...


2

Thesis: All support roles in Dungeons and Dragons 5th edition rely on either attacks or magic. There are 12 classes in 5e right now, and they all fall into one of two groups: Magic Martial These are not well defined distinct groups, many if not most classes overlap them sufficiently. However, there is no class that can provide adequate combat support ...


10

No, there is no non-damage, non-spellcaster build that will be as useful as a normal character. First and foremost, there is a support ability every character can use: The Help action. This takes your action to give an ally advantage on one attack. It can be useful, but it's not even close to being the equal of another character. Going through the classes, ...


13

I've seen this question before and wondered if a good house rule would be to treat the target as helpless. A helpless character is not defending, and in the case of a willing ally, in a similar fashion, they are not defending either. There is no bonus to the attack roll for a ranged attack, but the defender loses any Dexterity bonus to AC and, their ...


3

Yes, you can (and, most of the time, should) split your potential that way. One of the major benefits that Psychics get is that they may use as many powers in a turn as they like without incurring multiple action penalties, which is pretty sweet. From page 192 of the CRB: Characters wanting to use more than one Power per turn divide their psychic ...


0

I believe, if the target is willing they can pass on any kind of saving throw. If you did want to roll for it I would guess you would have to add significant bonuses to the roll considering your target actively wants to be hit by it. EDIT: Here is a link to a forum that explains what I said better ...


10

I don't think I ever saw a rule about this, and I'd be happy of being proven wrong. If there's really no rule, it's all in the GM's hands, and this is how I'd rule it: Some of those bonuses - dexterity, dodge, insight - represent the character actively dodging incoming attacks. It makes sense that the character is not using them against your attack, if ...


3

It has been a while since I played Anima, but my last character was full of Psychic Powers, so lets try to answer the question as in-depth as possible. Short answer: yes you can. Long answer: You can split your potential into groups of whatever amount you like, subject to a minimum of +10 for any one group; it does not have to be equal parts, so you can go ...


2

Disinformation is listed as one of the extended actions as part of Ship Combat. The rule book explicitly states that the modifiers for extended actions may be modified at the GM's discretion. (pg 215 Core Rulebook) The Disinformation action can be taken once per strategic round by a character that has not participated in any other action that round(which is ...


-4

Monkey grip allows you to wield a 2 handed weapon with one hand but you have a -2 penalty to attack rolls.


15

No. Your monster has 4 options for his action: Multi-Attack (Attack 2x with claws) Claws (1 attack) Rotting Gaze Weird Insight Thus, on his turn he can choose to use his action any of these 4 ways. He cannot freely mix and match his action using different abilities, he much choose 1 from this list (or an improvised action, though generally you don't ...


6

You get one action per turn. Rotting Gaze is an action. Weird Insight is an action. Multiattack (or single attack) is an action. You cannot use both as that would be 2 actions.


4

No. Each of the entries under "actions" in the nothic's stat block is a standard action, of which the creature can only choose to use one each turn. The Multiattack action specifically allows the nothic to use two claw attacks as part of that action, but this says nothing about Rotting Gaze or Weird Insight. Using either of those two actions would use the ...


4

No, a Nothic cannot Rotting Gaze on the same turn it attacks. Rotting Gaze is an action and cannot be used on the same turn as a multiattack unless it somehow gains another action.


2

Looking over the rules it doesn't say anything specific, just that the target can choose to avoid or not. However, it does say that the attacker needs to enter the target's square before the target chooses whether to avoid or resist. As a GM I would say entering the target's square is enough for the target to notice the invisible attacker. That being ...


6

Rules as written, a familiar grants sneak attack damage just by being within 5 feet of the target. Even though it cannot attack, the rules simply require that the familiar be the target's enemy, and that the familiar is not incapacitated. Thus, simply sitting on the rogue's shoulder or standing next to the target, a rogue receives sneak attack damage. ...


4

Yes Yes, the rules say familiars can do everything but attack, so that would include Help. It also says nothing about their “enemy” status – that is purely about who opposes whom. Your familiar is acting, in combat, to aid you in defeating this foe. That foe can attack the familiar, and might decide to do so if there’s a good opportunity and it’s helping ...


16

Yes, the familiar can grant advantage with the Help action, and its presence adjacent to an enemy can allow sneak attacks. Bear in mind, though, that most familiars have extremely low health and AC, and will likely die in a single hit, requiring 10g and at least 1 hour to resummon.


4

Yes, even during the spell time stop an effect that ends at the conclusion of the casting creature's turn still ends at the conclusion the casting creature's turn The 9th-level Sor/Wiz spell time stop says In fact, you speed up so greatly that all other creatures seem frozen, though they are actually still moving at their normal speeds. You are free to ...


1

You can choose to not use as many random encounters as they approach the keep. That first encounter I gave the full party a surprise round to start it off. Unfortunately it was still a brutal start. In mine I let Linan offer a healing potion to one of the wounded as thanks for saving them. This way they may be able to survive their trek to the keep


4

To answer the first part of your question- Yes. Supporting text - from (YS208) You can also use maneuvers (even outside of conflict) to coordinate on an action with several people. Emphasis mine. That point would not be relevant if you couldn't use it in combat. As far as the second part of your question, the answer is really going to depend on ...


1

The Beast Strike Feat from the Dragonmarks: Way of the Shackled Beast article in Dragon Magazine Issue 355 allows you to add claw or slam damage to Unarmed Strike Attacks as a monk. Its what actually makes Eldritch Claw Warlock and Monk multiclassing work.



Top 50 recent answers are included