Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

15

No, cover and concealment do not normally influence each other. Cover and concealment are different properties. Cover is derived from interrupted lines of effect: The target is around a corner or protected by terrain. For example, the target might be in the same square as a small tree, obscured by a small pillar or a large piece of furniture, or behind ...


8

Partial cover and concealment are identical to cover and concealment. It's a confusing terminology change that happened part-way through 4e's lifespan, not the addition of an extra level of cover and concealment. The modifier "partial" was added to 'normal' concealment --probably in a well-meaning effort to clarify things-- and both the Rules Compendium and ...


7

Yes (provided it is light enough to be held by Mage Hand). Just as if you were hiding behind a curtain, the cloak or blanket would grant concealment, regardless of how it's being help up. Of course, it'd be obvious to everyone that someone is hiding behind the cloak/blanket (then again, maybe it's a double bluff?), so don't be surprised if people keep ...


5

If it is dark enough attacks cancel out the benefits of being hidden (enemies not aware of your position), but they do not cancel out the benefits of concealment and cover (or total concealment of superior cover). This is where most of your benefit of an ambush comes in in 4e. Also If your monsters have total concealment (such as from complete darkness and ...


3

I recently conducted an ambush on my PCs using drow, whose Cloud of Darkness racial power can give them total concealment. I mixed this with a homebrew flash-bang to really give the attackers the drop on my party. So if it's night, and a drow uses Cloud of Darkness, and one of the drow throws a Blinding Bomb (AV p.26 or roll your own), you are most of the ...


2

Taking This in Steps A creature is in a stance until it takes a swift action to change its stance. While in the 1st-level Shadow Hand stance child of shadow (ToB 76) "[i]f you move at least 10 feet during your turn, you gain concealment against all melee and ranged attacks until the start of your next turn. You also gain the standard benefits of ...


2

Ranged attacks from Stealth are an exception to the normal rules governing Stealth. You can only move after making a stealthy ranged attack if you do not plan on making another stealth check. The reason for this is in the rules for the Stealth skill below: Sniping: If you've already successfully used Stealth at least 10 feet from your target, you can ...


2

A creature can make a stealth check against a target only if the creature has Superior Cover or Total Concealment against that target or if the creature is outside the target's line of sight.[Rules Compendium, pg152] Now the difference between cover and superior cover: Cover The target is around a corner or is protected by terrain. [Rules ...


1

A way to make it seem that it is a surprise is to muffle the d20 roll and if it doesn't hit, don't say anything about it. If it does hit say "_____ feels the sharp pain of an arrow" but don't tell where it's coming from. I would say that you should not give any bonus to hitting, unless the attacker has dark vision or lowlight vision. This should lead to a ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible