Hot answers tagged

20

Creatures technically always provide at least half cover: A target with half cover has a +2 bonus to AC and Dexterity saving throws. A target has half cover if an obstacle blocks at least half of its body. The obstacle might be a low wall, a large piece of furniture, a narrow tree trunk, or a creature, whether that creature is an enemy or a friend ...


15

No, cover and concealment do not normally influence each other. Cover and concealment are different properties. Cover is derived from interrupted lines of effect: The target is around a corner or protected by terrain. For example, the target might be in the same square as a small tree, obscured by a small pillar or a large piece of furniture, or behind ...


12

No, not by the 5e rules as written. If you miss due to cover (half cover/-2 is standard for an intervening creature) or any other factor, you miss and there's no other consequences. However, this is a pretty common rule and/or house rule across the various editions of D&D. Second edition, in fact, just said that if you're firing into a melee then your ...


12

In the first case, it is clear that the attacker has line of sight. The attacker is totally unobstructed from the target. In the second case, the attacker does not have line of sight, and cannot attack the target with a sight-dependent attack. The attacker could, however, move to the side, which would allow them to attack the target (whou would have ...


11

If that's how it's written and there's no errata on it right now, that's how it should work. Cover is cover is cover, no matter if it's ranged or melee.


11

Well, Pathfinder uses largely the same ruleset as d20 Modern did, which while not the best modern gun system ever is far from the worst. Here's how to get the most out of it for a firefight. To make anything like a realistic gunfight, people have to be concerned about being shot. This means that people should have few hit points, and that guns should do a ...


11

The PHB says that the Prone condition (p277) makes you grant combat advantage to melee attacks from enemies, and gives you +2 bonus to all defenses to ranged attacks from non-adjacent enemies. Also, it says on p280 that "[w]hen you make a ranged attack against an enemy and other enemies are in the way, your target has cover". My ruling, not supported by ...


10

Not as much protection as you'd think. Try this at home - get a shovel, and try to pile "loose earth" into the shape you've described (3ft tall, 2ft deep wall). It will immediately fall down into a pile. The angle of repose of soil is 30-45 degrees. In your configuration (2ft diameter base) the pile needs to have an angle of repose of 75 degrees. So the ...


9

You have not specified if it is the warlock or the target who is subject to the invisibility spell. General In either case, invisibility does not provide cover. In addition, being invisible does not make you hidden. To be hidden, you must have taken the Hide action and subsequently not done something to lose hidden status. Unless you are hidden, people ...


8

Partial cover and concealment are identical to cover and concealment. It's a confusing terminology change that happened part-way through 4e's lifespan, not the addition of an extra level of cover and concealment. The modifier "partial" was added to 'normal' concealment --probably in a well-meaning effort to clarify things-- and both the Rules Compendium and ...


8

No. There is nothing between you and the creature, so there is nothing to provide cover. Since the arc is continuous, that means that you would indeed be able to identify where it is. Of course, if the creature isn't hiding, you know where they are anyway (you can hear them move or similar).


7

The mechanics: Yes, your goblins need to roll stealth, they need to beat the PCs' passive perception scores to actually be hidden, that said, don't tell the PCs what is in the barrel, just that there is something in the barrel. The difference between them noticing and them not, is likely a surprise round. No, they can't ready actions before combat starts. ...


6

In the DMG on page 272: When a ranged attack misses a target that has cover, you can use this optional rule to determine whether the cover was struck by the attack. First, determine whether the attack roll would have hit the protected target without cover. If the attack roll falls within a range low enough to miss the target but high enough to strike ...


6

This is probably right by the rules, but I think focusing on the rules issue is missing the real problem, which is one of communication. Whether or not you knew whether the rules support this, a Togorian Elite Soldier almost certainly would know if this would be sufficient to protect the girl. Without being there, it's a little hard to guess exactly how ...


6

Yes. From the DMG 3.5, page 93: Characters swimming, floating, or treading water on the surface, or wading in water at least chest deep, have improved cover (+8 bonus to AC, +4 bonus on Reflex saves) from opponents on land. Landbound opponents who have freedom of movement effects ignore this cover when making melee attacks against targets in ...


6

I read something very interesting on the Rules Compendium page 303: Constructed terrain features Arrow slits: these small openings are designed to provide archers with maximum protection when they fire. An arrow slit grants a ranged attacker superior cover while granting him or her a view of the battlefield. The attacker determines the target's ...


6

Technically, this is something that sort of falls under "DM's discretion". If you want to go strictly by "Rules As Written" then the answer is yes. The pertinent clause, found in PHB 1 page 280, is this: Determining Cover: To determine if a target has cover, choose a corner of a square you occupy (or a corner of your attack’s origin square) and trace ...


6

Answers: The Blue Square and the Red Circle can use melee attacks against each other. There is no attack penalty due to cover. Both enemies can make Close Burst attacks against each other. There are no attack penalties due to cover in this situation either Assumption: The Red Circle and the Blue Square are adjacent (there squares touch on the mutual ...


6

You don't As much as I'd like to recommend house-rules to provide for a "realistic gunfight" with the built-in cover-rules... I can't. The problem with D&D in general, in light of this question, is that it promotes "heroic" games, where creatures routinely take (unless they're first level wizards) dozens of sword hits without being too much worse the ...


6

You can’t hide from a creature that can see you,... (PH. p177) ... is perfectly clear. The question you have to answer as DM is is the crowd dense enough that they can't see the hidden person. A human in a crowd of halflings is going to struggle but a human in a crowd of a few dozen people is probably going to break line of sight sufficiently that ...


5

Just to put the focus on determining cover for a ranged attack (from the Dungeon Master Guide): Attacker’s Burden: For ranged attacks, the attacker has to prove that he has a clear shot. That proof consists of one corner in his space that has clear lines to every corner of the target’s space. Choose a Corner: The attacker chooses one corner of a ...


5

This is entirely up to the DM. The examples given for half and 3/4 cover lead me to believe that his would probably be half cover, if it provides any cover at all (it wouldn't have in 4th). However, there are no real rules regarding what constitutes half/three fourths cover, so this is left entirely up to DM discretion at this point. The way I would rule ...


4

In your situation, the PC can attack the goblin without cover penalties. The cover rule says: To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a ...


3

If you are using a grid and miniatures it is pretty easy, if another character is between an attacker and the target then the target gets cover, how much is a DM evaluation of the range, sizes of the creatures, etc. If using TOTM then the DM needs to be very descriptive about who is blocking/covering who. Given how the movement rules work in 5e it is pretty ...


3

As far as I know, and going strictly RAW, it doesn't matter if you have even total total cover, area attack (spread, cone, cylinder...) just go round corners. It's like you are hit with a flamethrower. Even if you are covering the other person, the flames will go around you and hit her. IMHO your DM could have given the girl a bonus on the save and a malus ...


3

Yes, they can attack each other. The red circle can make melee attacks against the blue square (and vice versa) with no cover. For burst attacks, the penalty is a bit more situational. Close burst or blast attacks will not take any penalty, since there is no cover. Area burst attacks against the blue square may or may not be penalized for cover, ...


3

There is no "automatically succeed stealth check" -- stealth checks are opposed by perception checks. So that's out. Let's see how it would work in general. Here are some rules from the stealth skill: Breaking Stealth When you start your turn using Stealth, you can leave cover or concealment and remain unobserved as long as you succeed at a Stealth ...


2

3.5/PF abstracts combat details heavily, so you will have to fill in the gaps with some of your own rules. Gun/future weapon based combat may revolve heavily around the kinds of terrain available to the players. They are likely high damage weapons meant to harm and/or kill in one or two shots. Here are some suggestions for fleshing out the rules: Cover ...


2

A creature can make a stealth check against a target only if the creature has Superior Cover or Total Concealment against that target or if the creature is outside the target's line of sight.[Rules Compendium, pg152] Now the difference between cover and superior cover: Cover The target is around a corner or is protected by terrain. [Rules ...


2

Ranged attacks from Stealth are an exception to the normal rules governing Stealth. You can only move after making a stealthy ranged attack if you do not plan on making another stealth check. The reason for this is in the rules for the Stealth skill below: Sniping: If you've already successfully used Stealth at least 10 feet from your target, you can ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible