Hot answers tagged

14

A creatures size is directly correlated into their AC, along with armor, stats, and abilities. Whatever their listed AC is, that's what you have to beat, simply being larger does not grant you advantage on attacks against them


8

No, as both Enlarge Person and Righteous Might say: Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack. And Demonic Bulk references Enlarge Person except the target doesn't need to be a humanoid, so that would also be covered.


6

Technically speaking, yes. The looted weapon will still deal extra damage. Big monsters typically wield oversized weapons that deal extra dice of damage on a hit. The "that" is pretty clear - the weapons deal extra damage, not the monster. However, you should be extremely cautious in making these rules (and weapons) accessible to players. The rules on ...


5

Enlarge Person: ... equipment worn or carried ... is similarly enlarged by the spell. The spell causes you to go up one size category. Since there aren't pre-existing rules for a character changing size category, it then goes on to mention how to apply that to a character - doubling height and multiplying weight by eight. Then at the end of the spell ...


5

D&D 5e doesn't have a specific rule on this because the fifth edition of the D&D ruleset doesn't make use of 5' squares when determining positioning of creatures -- it relies more heavily on an abstraction of what is happening mechanically in the game to determine this. Note that there are variant rules in the DMG for using a grid where 1" square = ...


4

Yes. The same rule applies to Small creatures wielding heavy weapons. So I think that your logic is sound. PHB, page 147: Heavy. Small creatures have disadvantage on attack rolls with heavy weapons. A heavy weapon's size and bulk make it too large for a Small creature to use effectively. There is no reduction in the damage dealt when a halfling ...


3

Under normal circumstances, there are no benefits to fighting a larger creature. However, there is an optional maneuver in the DMG that might be what you are desiring if your DM approves: As an alternative, a suitably large opponent can be treated as terrain for the purpose of jumping onto its back or clinging to a limb. After making any ability ...


2

I fail to see why you can't just pick it up. The only limitation on what you can lift is the relevantly named Lifting and Carrying section on p.176 of the PHB - you can lift a weight 30 times your strength score. If the giant's weapon plus what you are already carrying you can pick it up with your free interaction with an object providing you have a hand ...


1

The spell enlarge person says, "Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack." The spell righteous might says, "Magical effects that increase size do not stack." The bloodrager's abyssal bloodline special ability demonic bulk is a supernatural ability (hence magical) that's based on the spell enlarge person, so it won't stack twice. Also, the ...


1

Yes Assume a vanilla Human Fighter of Strength 18, according to the Carry Capacity rules he would have a Light Load of 100lbs. Presume that he is wearing Stone Plate and a Heavy Tower Shield, and wielding a Heavy Mace. This gives him a load of 98 lbs. Once the Fighter is Enlarged we know that This spell causes instant growth of a humanoid creature, ...


1

In addition to the other answer, it seems worth pointing out that due to rules of reach, of the 4 tiny creatures that can stand in a 5-foot square, two can move adjacent to a given edge and thus reach a Medium creature standing in the next square over. If they fly, 8 creatures can fit in a 5-foot cube, which means 4 can reach the medium creature they're ...


1

Asymmetry and Teamwork One way to disarm the Giant is to use a Charm Person spell to convince the Giant to put the weapon down since you don't mean him any harm before the fighting. Is this guaranteed? No, but his save versus Wisdom is likely to be low, for other than Cloud and Storm giants. Get one of your teammates to "help" on the Persuasion so that ...


1

No AC, like HP and many other elements of the game, is an abstraction. It does not purely denote an opponent's ability to avoid getting it. It is a simplified way to determine if an attack as successful at bringing one closer to death. It might be from missing due to the opponent evading, or due to a magic displacement effect. It could be that the ...


1

There is a good example in the PHB p. 213. Look for the Animate Objects spell. There is a table where you can see that the size affects the Dexterity which in turn affects the AC. It also shows that the bigger the stronger a creature gets. Obviously, this table is not set in stone, but I still think it gives a general idea of what happens in correlation ...


1

Neither primeval nor weretouched master received any options, improvements, or extensions in any supplements beyond those in which they were originally printed. Their particular forms of shape-shifting are unique and not expanded upon by other classes or feats. They do not even qualify for master of many forms, the usual go-to solution to wanting to turn ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible