Hot answers tagged

28

The reference you're looking for is on page 197 of the Player's Handbook, under, naturally enough, Damage Resistance and Vulnerability. Specifically the third paragraph states: Multiple instances of resistance or vulnerability that affect the same damage type count as only one instance. So the Bear Totem Barbarian still takes half damage from ...


20

Your Warden takes 20 damage Basically this is a case of specific beats general. If you have Resist 5 all, it's like having Resist 5 for every keyword of damage. If you have a higher specific resistance then that is applied, if any resistance is lower than your Resist All amount then that is ignored and you use the All. They do not stack because same typed ...


19

No, DR and resistances do not stack. DR only protects against the physical damage type. Resistances apply to other damages types, like fire, acid, electricity and so on. There is no overlap between damage types. In your example, with 10 physical + 6 electricity damage: A monster with DR 5/- would receive 5 physical and 6 electricity damage. A monster ...


17

You take 1/4 the total damage. You are looking at two separate events. The first event is whether or not you are hit with the 'full force' of the attack (your saving throw determines this). You can think of it like diving out of the way of a fireball, or ducking under a column of ice. If you pass the saving throw, you take half (you successfully avoided ...


16

If I'm not mistaken, your Example 2 actually encompasses two different cases, so I'm restating your examples and breaking out my answers accordingly: Example 1: Creature is Vulnerable 5 Thunder and Vulnerable 2 Lightning. [A single] Attack deals Thunder and Lightning damage. Example 2a: Creature is affected by [A single effect dealing] ...


15

Generally 'no', but many staves' descriptions specify 'yes'. Three illustrative examples from the DMG: Staff of Power: "This staff can be wielded as a magic quarterstaff that grants a +2 bonus...." (p.202) Typical +2 weapon, magical damage. Staff of Charming: "The staff can also be used as a magic quarterstaff." (p.201) Clearly a magical weapon, but no ...


15

Unfortunately, by RAW, the Werewolf is immune to the damage boost from Hunter's Mark. Like you've mentioned, Hunter's Mark does not specify a damage type, and thus the boost is of the same damage type as the weapon attack. It also does not specifically grant magical properties to the weapon attack, and thus does not allow for piercing the Werewolf's ...


14

No Dragonborn, the race, get no resists by default. That is not to say that they get no resists however. If a dragonborn takes the: Argentum Alliance paragon path, they get cold damage added to their breath weapon, and resist cold, Storm dragon paragon path(requiring lightning as a breath weapon) gets resist thunder and lightning, Wyrmtouched Amulet: ...


14

Yes, you "hit" but do not "deal damage." The abilities which are negated due to not overcoming DR are those which have some effect correlated with damage. Poisons are a good example of this - if you don't actually make a wound, how are you going to poison them? However, feats and abilities which are not negated if no damage is done, such as Hammer the Gap, ...


14

Unarmed strikes are negated by the immunities listed According to the errata for the monster manual, the immunities in question have been changed from immunity to weapons to immunity to attacks. The exact quote is: Throughout the book, instances of “nonmagical weapons” in Damage Resistances/Immunities entries have been replaced with “nonmagical ...


14

Page 119 in the DMG has damage thresholds for Airborne and Waterborne vehicles. Galley 20 Keelboat 10 Longship 15 Sailing ship 15 Warship 20 Beyond that, the core books don't talk about damage specific thresholds of any objects. Which puts the rest of objects squarely in the DM's purview.


13

No, There is no mention of anything in the rules that would allow that. So I'd have to disallow it.


13

Rimefire Plate would only prevent 1 damage from Rimehound Bite. This isn't actually about resistance. Each time you take damage, Rimefire Plate reduces the damage you take by 1. The real question, then, is whether Rimehound Bite deals damage once or twice. From the RC, p222-223: Damage Rolls When most attacks deal damage, they do so through a ...


13

In each case, you halve or double the total amount of damage of the given type. Since the STR or DEX bonus to damage roll is still adding to the single damage type it is {halved|doubled} along with whatever was rolled. This applies in just about every case for every individual source of damage. Any other modifiers are applied first, such as a magical ...


12

You are correct, you apply resistance first then the half damage. This is stated in the Rules Compendium, and the glossary entries entries of MM2 and MM3 say almost the same thing. Rules Compendium p226 (or MM3 p217 and 218, or MM2): Half Damage Some powers deal half damage when they miss, and some effects, such as the weakened condition, cause ...


12

You're safe... The spell flaming sphere says A burning globe of fire rolls in whichever direction you point and burns those it strikes. It moves 30 feet per round. As part of this movement, it can ascend or jump up to 30 feet to strike a target. If it enters a space with a creature, it stops moving for the round and deals 3d6 points of fire damage to ...


12

Yes, your Half-Orc Barbarian is nigh-invulnerable to death by falling, as a consumable resource. Remember that your relentless endurance and your rages both recharge on a long rest. So four times per long day you can take a header off a skyscraper and be pretty sure of living.* (At least for the moment.) Also, your Bard and Wizard friends can do this, too. ...


12

Yes: Your barbarian has virtually no chance of dying I was intrigued by your claim of "his chance of death is about 0% as long as he was conscious and raging before he hit the ground," and assuming he is at Max HP = 55. In the PMF of 20d6 below, you can see that there is very little possibility of rolling >110HP on 20d6 (in fact, that possibility is about ...


11

You always round down unless told otherwise. In the very beginning of the Player's Handbook it lays down some ground rules for everything that follows. Along with the "how dice are used" and "specific overrides general" stuff, it includes a subsection entitled "Round Down" (p. 7): There’s one more general rule you need to know at the outset. Whenever ...


11

Lava deals an appropriate amount of damage for the level of the characters and the intensity of the challenge you want them to face. 4e doesn't use static numbers based on the objective source of the damage; in 4e the mechanics scale with the party, according to the thing's role in the story, in order to challenge the group appropriately. Lava is probably ...


11

I have actually looked into this before, and the answer is yes, they will be treating Fire Immunity as if it didn't exist. I have long wondered exactly why they decided to allow you to break certain character builds, and the teifling with fire damage is one of them. it used to be that you could pick up some kind of weapon to just change all or most of your ...


10

The character takes 0 damage. Being subjected to 3 instances of 5 cold damage does not stack, and each is resisted. Note - I'm assuming you are referring to the Chillborn Zombie DDI as it appears to match your description. The Chillborn Zombie was created when the rule was that a creature was only subjected to one instance of damage from overlapping auras....


10

Nope Unless it specifically says otherwise they do not stack. It's item 28 on the PHB FAQ over at Wizards.com. Note that this applies to all resistances, so you'd only get the Resist 10 All. Edit: Here's a snippet from the Compendium entry that is linked in the FAQ. Not Cumulative: Resistances against the same damage type are not cumulative. Only ...


10

Yes, Resist 1 all allows you to prevent 1 damage from any source. This is clarified, albeit obliquely in the official FAQ.


10

There are a number of other powers and effects that allow you to deal damage to yourself, and they often indicate that the damage cannot be reduced or prevented in any way. The absence of such wording on the Bolstering Blood feature should be taken as indication that it is allowable to reduce and/or prevent the damage. Bolstering Blood says "You gain a ...


10

I don't think there's a clear ruling on this anywhere, although I'd be happy to be proven wrong. For reference, the Player's Handbook errata includes this note: "Vulnerability to a specific damage type applies even when that damage type is combined with another. For example, if you have vulnerable 5 fire, you take 5 extra damage when you take ongoing fire ...


10

Find one as treasure / Go on a quest for it By the book is a little odd to ask for here — the place to find an adamantine weapon is in the game world, not in some rule in the PHB that would give players unfettered access to powerful treasure. For a veneer of by-the-book analysis, unenchanted adamantine items are listed as magic items in the DMG (pp. 146–8, ...


9

The monk description mentions the Improved Unarmed Strike feat which says that it is an unarmed strike which is listed on the weapon table as bludgeoning. Thus, it's not slashing and doesn't bypass the damage reduction. The ki strike being considered magical would only make a difference when fighting a creature with DR 5/magic such as a barghest.


9

In this particular case, the magicalness of the damage matters not. The Barbarian has resistance to piercing/slashing/bludgeoning damage regardless of whether or not it it's from a magical weapon. Thus they have resistance to the damage from Cloud of Daggers. However, if you did encounter someone who had resistance to slashing damage from non-magical ...


9

Jeremy Crawford has finally weighed in: The damage dealt by the hunter's mark spell is magical. #DnD twitter.com/redwullf/statu… 8:08am - 7 Nov 2015



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible