Hot answers tagged

11

The Quick Answer There are two ways to know if a magic item counts as a magic weapon: It is a magic item of the type "weapon" It's ability to attack as a magic item is specified in the description. The Weapon Type The first is if it is a magic item of the "weapon" type. (See Magic Item Categories, DMG p. 139) The type appears immediately below the ...


9

No, your attribute's modifier gets added to your total damage, not to each individual die. PHB, p. 196: You roll the damage die or dice, add any modifiers, and apply the damage to your target.... When attacking with a weapon, you add your ability modifier -- the same modifier used for the attack roll -- to the damage. PHB, p. 96: Once per turn, ...


6

Only magical weapons bypass immunities. Any other item—mundane or magical—does not qualify. Even if it's a magical shield or magical gauntlets. Even if they are being used as improvised weapons, they are still not classified as weapons; thus do not bypass the immunities. The exception to this is when the item specifically states it can be used as weapon; for ...


5

The Flesh Golem's attack stats are calculated thusly: +7 to hit: +3 proficiency, +4 STR. You know the flesh golem's proficiency bonus is +3 because it's a CR5 monster; the table "Proficiency Bonus by Challenge Rating" (MM p.8) tells us so. 2d8+4 bludgeoning damage: +4 STR, the 2d8 is the golem's natural "weapon", its fists. That die type/number is not ...


2

A creature with the universal monster ability grab deals the natural attack damage of the natural attack used to start the grapple automatically only when the creature both begins its turn already grappling a foe and makes a successful grapple check. That damage is automatic no matter what the creature opts to do after having made the successful grapple ...


1

The first edition core book does not explicitly state that you cannot lose your Defense more than once. The text of the Merit in question (Fighting Style: Boxing) does say that, if you have used your Defense already this round, you cannot use that technique. Dropping Defense for an All-Out Attack could be ruled as using Defense. Additionally, pg. 112 of ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible