New answers tagged

1

The extra damage from these abilities can be applied after you hit a creature. In order to know if you've hit a creature, you (usually) need to know the result of your d20 attack roll. So regardless of whether or not the roll ends up being a critical, you can wait until after the die roll to apply the extra damage.


7

Yes You've already listed the related rules. Yes, additional damage dice are doubled on a critical hit. Yes, that means you can choose to smite when you see you've got a critical hit. Yes, it's pretty good.


1

Straight from a physics perspective, if the flight is winged in benefit, then it would be a straight physics fall. So in a straight physics argument, I'd say you get no extra falling damage benefit for your PC's flying on downward decent. That's just gravity and your PC's mass (dependent on how we interpret the body of wind discipline's no fall damage ...


2

April 2016's Sage Advice expressly defines how this phrase operates and names Cloud of Daggers as one of several spells to which this definition applies. In summary, a spell like moonbeam affects a creature when the creature passes into the spell’s area of effect and when the creature starts its turn there. You’re essentially creating a hazard on the ...


0

It would fall immediately, if it takes damage from the fall it lands prone.


9

Neither the section on falling, nor the section on acrobatics make a reference to reducing falling damage in this way in 5e. Therefore it's pretty safe to assume (given the presence of such a mechanic in previous versions) that it's not something the designers wanted to include for 5e. That said, there are other ways provided to prevent falling damage, ...


5

In the end it turns out it was the paragon guild executioner paragon path feature executioner's action. when you spend an action point to make an attack, and you roll a 1, 2 or 3 on any damage die associated with that attack (including extra damage from assassin's strike or critical hit dice), that die instead deals 4 damage. I had several books ...


5

The Devastating Ki Focus almost does this, 1 and 2 are counted as 3. It is from page 6 of Dragon Magazine #398 - the Heroes of Shadow section which didn't make it into the Heroes of Shadow supplement book. There is also the artifact Heartwood Spear, from Dungeon #187 that turns 1 and 2 into 3. I could not find any weapons or implements that makes 1-3 into ...


5

Some spells specifically state that they damage objects. Fireball (PHB 241) "ignites flammable objects in the [chosen] area that aren't being worn or carried." To my knowledge, none of the books cover objects burning, but it's reasonable to assume that a Fireball would ignite a wooden hut, cause lingering fire damage in an area, and eventually turn it to ...


10

The DMG (pages 246-247) has specific information about how objects can be damaged including ACs for different substances and suggested hit points based on size and resilience. These rules can easily be applied to damaging spells too. I'm not going to reproduce the whole entry, but your pile of wood would probably have an AC of about 15 and hit points of ...



Top 50 recent answers are included