Hot answers tagged

10

Yes. Because weapons are categorized by their relative size to the wielder, your Medium fighter would treat a Large dagger as a one-handed weapon according to the following rules. A weapon’s size category isn’t the same as its size as an object. Instead, a weapon’s size category is keyed to the size of the intended wielder. In general, a light weapon ...


10

Answers Intelligent items can be randomly rolled. A DM adhering strictly to random treasure generation will find that nearly any permanent magic item can be at random an intelligent item. That is, the Dungeon Master's Guide says on page 216 that 1% of armor, 1% of shields, 5% of ranged weapons, and 15% of melee weapons that are randomly generated are ...


10

Yes, you can flank an invisible creature. The confusion appears to be due to conflating the ability to take attacks of opportunity against a creature and threatening a creature's square. These are not the same thing, and must be understood as distinct and separate. Threatened Squares You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, ...


7

Only the highest enhancement bonus applies The Dragon #318 article "Oriental Adventures Update: Eastern Flavor" on Magic Chahar-ainas and Dastanas says Both dastanas and chahar-ainas provide special armor bonuses to AC that stack with other armor bonuses granted by certain forms of light armor. However, it is still the case that only one enhancement ...


7

No modifiers to the skill roll to tumble through an opponent's square when invisible by RAW. From http://www.d20srd.org/srd/skills/tumble.htm : DC 25: Tumble at one-half speed through an area occupied by an enemy (over, under, or around the opponent) as part of normal movement, provoking no attacks of opportunity while doing so. Failure means you stop ...


7

Don't stack miss chances; instead use the highest miss chance that affects an incoming effect The Rules Compendium says, "If a creature receives miss chances from multiple sources, such as from being incorporeal and having concealment, only the highest miss chance applies" (32). Suspicious of the Rules Compendium? The Rules Compendium—by here expanding ...


5

Classes that definitely give Wild Shape as a class feature Druid 5 (Player's Handbook) Ranger 5 (Unearthed Arcana variant) Abolisher 1 (PrC, Lords of Madness) Lion of Talisid 3 (PrC, Book of Exalted Deeds) Moonspeaker 5 (PrC, Races of Eberron) Other stuff that might count Landforged Walker 5 (PrC, Secrets of Xen'Drik): Feature is called "Plant Shape," ...


5

Although the feat Robilar's Gambit does say, "Anyone who strikes at you gains a +4 bonus on attack rolls and damage rolls against you," the feat's benefit ends with this sentence: Resolve your attack of opportunity after your foe's attack (Player's Handbook II 82). So in this case strikes at means attacks. Of course some controversy surrounds what an ...


5

An attack roll represents your attempt to strike your opponent on your turn in a round. If there is an attack roll, there was an attempt to strike, a strike at the target. Robilar’s Gambit triggers any time an attack roll is rolled against the one who has the feat. Grapples and trips involve an attack roll (the touch attack to start it), and touch attacks ...


5

In this case, the two feats are not actually interacting directly. Deflect Attack simply grants extra chances for an Attack of Opportunity. Evasive Reflexes simply grants you an alternate option to resolve a chance to make an AoO. However, Deflect Attack has specific clauses detailing how you may use your AoO when an opponent attacks you armed or unarmed. ...


4

Classes, templates, and feats Surreal's Lists of Stuff mentions—and A_soo's answer describes—many of the classes granting wild shape and its alternatives. (Omitting, for example, the variant totem druid (Dragon #335 87) is totally acceptable: the level 1 supernatural ability totem shape "uses all the same rules as wild shape" but isn't actually called wild ...


4

I would say yes: My thoughts: Flanking is the result of a tactical disadvantage for a defender. I know of no restrictions on flanking based upon the status of an attacker (other then the ones mentioned, obviously). The primary advantage for a flanking attacker is that the defender is less able to anticipate the attacks (threatened).., not the other way ...


4

No No enhancement bonuses stack. No bonuses of the same type stack, except for dodge and circumstance bonuses (but good luck getting those to raise your Strength). In most cases, modifiers to a given check or roll stack (combine for a cumulative effect) if they come from different sources and have different types (or no type at all), but do not stack ...


3

Hi there is a quote on a recent question that seems to answer this question as well, although the wording of the question is different/opposite the wording of the answer is clear for this question: If, while under the effect of a spell that depends on type (such as hold person), my character is transformed into a different creature type by polymorph, ...


3

Yes, but not easily If you're looking for the general rules on how spells work, @SevenSidedDie's answer is correct and complete. If you're looking for a method of pausing durations, it's probably not worth it. If it's really important to you though, Temporal Stasis's effect states "For the creature, time ceases to flow and its condition becomes fixed." ...


3

The DM can permit some improvised weapons to have reach While the Player's Handbook describes improvised weapons (113), Complete Warrior on Improvised Weapons summarizes those rules and expands them, saying As detailed in the Player’s Handbook, objects not crafted to be used as weapons may nonetheless find use in combat.… Any creature using an ...


3

I just couldn’t get this idea out of my head, so I wanted to write it down. Unseelie fey deepwyrm half-drow or forestlord half-elf (yes, that implies faerie, dragon, elf, and human somewhere in the family tree). Unseelie fey is from Dragon Compendium, half-drow is from Races of Faerûn, and deepwyrm half-drow and forestlord half-elves are from Dragon ...


3

The rules don't really work together Let's start with retraining (PHBII page 191). It cannot change your class levels - for that, you need rebuilding (PHBII page 196). However, you cannot rebuild a monster class, because Savage Species page 152 says: A monster may not multiclass until it completes the full progression of its monster class. As soon as ...


2

Chaotic Good silverbrow human worshipper of Gruumsh, and ideally also of Milil. Yes, this is a bit strange, and is addressed in the answer, including alternatives. \begin{array}{c} \text{Level} & \text{Class} & \text{Feat} & \text{Bonus Feat (source)} & \text{Special} \\ \hline 1^{\text{st}} & \text{Harmonic} & \text{Dragonfire} &...


2

Rather than using the Exoticist Fighter variant I would advise using the Targetteer Fighter variant (Dragon #310, p. 38) instead. You get a specific skill list and bonus feat lists, but the two main points are: Proficiencies: All Simple, Martial Ranged Weapons and Two Exotic Ranged Weapons of your choice; All Armors and Bucklers. Special Abilities: 3 ...


2

No unless the description of the effect granting the bonus states otherwise. Multiple enhancement bonuses on the same object (in the case of armor and weapons), creature (in the case of natural armor), or ability score do not stack. Only the highest enhancement bonus applies. link


2

The first question is about what it means to “qualify” for an “option” since chameleon includes this blurb about aptitude focus: You can’t use any abilities gained from your aptitude focus [...] feature abilities to qualify for a feat, prestige class, or other option. The first question is whether or not a magic item is an “option” that you have to “...


2

RAW "One Effect Makes Another Irrelevant" idea means that the following happens. The mage casts dispel magic. The item is now a nonmagical, masterwork ranseur. The mage casts polymorph any object. The item is now a nonmagical longsword. It may or may not be a masterwork item, depending on how you rule "cannot create material of great intrinsic value". 1d4 ...


2

All purposes, period. Say an armor crystal can only go on light armor: does that fall under the category of “movement or other limitations”? Yes, it does: it’s a limitation on the armor’s ability to carry this armor crystal. Anything that is restricted to a particular weight class of armor is affected by mithral. In effect, mithral breastplate is a light ...


2

Based on the information available to me in the SRD, it appears that only Shadow illusions would be able to create any weight against such a trap. Other illusions would require the trap to be able to "perceive" the illusion. So let's look at some excerpts from Shadow Conjuration. You use material from the Plane of Shadow to shape quasi-real illusions ...


1

No Threatened Squares You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack... When it's not your turn, because the opponent is invisible, and thus has total concealment, and thus you are prevented from attacking, you don't threaten because you can't "make a melee attack". To threaten is not a static state, but defined by your current ...


1

Per the Lists of Stuff, wild shape is available from Druid 5 Variant ranger 5, Unearthed Arcana Wild monk 6, Dragon vol. 324 Abolisher prestige class 1 (ECL 7), Lords of Madness Lion of Talisid prestige class 2 (ECL 8), Book of Exalted Deeds Hawk Only—Initiate of Horus-Re feat (requires cleric, paladin, or ranger 4), Champions of Valor And, of course, ...


1

Talk to your DM; with item-creation nearly anything is possible. For example, the descriptions of the Cloak of Etherealness (10 min/day not continuous) differs wildly from the spell used for its' creation, Ethereal Jaunt (1 round/lvl (D)) I would use table 7-33 in the DMG, although that doesn't make sense for the cloak, because it would sum up to a lot more ...


1

No saves. Darkness/Silence don't work either; the cleric needs only a line of effect, not even a line of sight, to present its' DF to you. HOWEVER, this offers you a chance: Shattering/Disintegrating/Destroying his DF (DF is NOT a magic item) would probably render this foul cleric speechless, powerless and running for dear life. (No spells, no turning and ...


1

Melee? Mweh, damage is damage. It could impact a creature's reach though, a tail is longer than a tongue. Energy-attacks however, are a totally different matter; if you know you're going to fight a black Dragon, you buff all protection vs acid to kingdom come, only to find out that this particular piece of Black Dragon does sonic damage nowadays; you're ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible