Hot answers tagged

15

None of this works by the rules Alright, let's unpack this. A needle is not a weapon so it's an illegal target for blade of blood. It cannot even be an improvised weapon, as according to page 159, footnote 2 of Complete Warrior: If an item has no weight worth noting, it doesn't deal any damage when used as a weapon Blade of blood only deals extra ...


10

A destroyed creature with the template class lich refoms up to a few miles from its phylactery The Wizards of the Coast Savage Progressions Web column "Lich and Weretiger Template Classes" includes in its description of the lich template class's class feature phylactery the following text: Once the phylactery has been completed, the lich can avoid ...


6

A creature can only take a swift action if it possesses a special ability that enables it to take a swift action Unlike, for example, free actions, full round actions, move actions, and standard actions, a creature's ability to take swift actions depends on the special abilities the creature possesses. For instance, a creature can't opt to take a swift ...


6

109, normally To my knowledge, this is a complete list of bonuses to your dispel check: Minor School Esoterica (Abjuration): Competence bonus of half your class level to dispel checks (maximum +6 with bloodlines) Unanswerable Strike: +4 to dispel checks against abjuration spells Elven Spell Lore: +2 to dispel checks Inquisition Domain Power: +4 bonus to ...


6

Yes, it does. These are the touch attack rules: Some attacks disregard armor, including shields and natural armor. In these cases, the attacker makes a touch attack roll (either ranged or melee). A touch attack is still a kind of attack, since there is an attack roll. So it doesn't get around wall of blades the same way that, say, a fog cloud spell ...


5

So the distinction basically comes down to what is meant by attack here. Wall of blades may be merely referring to the attack roll, in which case you would have your last opportunity to activate wall of blades after learning the attack being made against you (#2 in the question). Or it might be referring to the attack as an action performed by the opponent, ...


5

Infusions are spells, and there are suggestions that new spells can be designed. Those suggestions were printed in Core, and not reprinted for each new spellcasting class (including artificer) was printed, but if, say, a favored soul or wu jen can research a new spell, then so too should an artificer be able to. Of course, the real trick is convincing the ...


4

You are still able to attack adjacent creatures. The rules that say you can't attack adjacent only appear for reach weapons: A reach weapon is a melee weapon that allows its wielder to strike at targets that aren’t adjacent to him or her [...] 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square The stance is not making your weapon a reach weapon, ...


4

Yes... but not much. The warblade recovery is very good, and the swordsage recovery is very bad, but with swordsage maneuvers readied, you may find yourself not needing to recover all that often. Combats in 3.5 tend to be rather short (in rounds), after all.


4

The Epic Level Handbook's table that's part of the epic Bluff skill description (39) continues the table presented in the Player's Handbook Bluff skill description (67-8). That is, the creature that's attempting to use the skill's suggestion-like effect on the target makes a Bluff skill check that's opposed by the target's Sense Motive skill check. The ...


4

Free action for the giver, move action for the receiver The closest I've seen the rules come to this is the general rule for manipulating items: In most cases, moving or manipulating an item is a move action. Examples of "moving or manipulating" that relate to this are: Draw a weapon Pick up an item Sheathe a weapon Retrieve a stored item ...


4

Although I think KRyan's answer's correct that it's reasonable for the maneuver to be agreed upon by the table to work in a potentially unusual, it-can-sort-of-turn-back-time way—and I think that's valid, martial characters needing all the help they can get—, below is a harder-edged, rules-as-written way to read the maneuver in case you want an alternative. ...


3

So far as I'm aware, there are no guidelines published by Wizards of the Coast for a PC to create a special ability, and, while guidelines for PC-created spells and magic items exist, those are only guidelines, the results of using them still subject to DM oversight. (So you know, I also don't know of a way to avoid needing the DM approval for anything a ...


2

I was confused by this at first as well, but it sounds like you about have it. The Instill Suggestion use of Epic Bluff is an Opposed Check with the target receiving a +50 on their Sense Motive to avoid being 'bluffed'; in this case the Bluff is actually the Suggestion status. (Sense Motive) The +50 is the 'equivalent' of a low range Epic Skill DC, but for ...


1

Wild Shape I would personally rule that, for the purposes of Swift Avenger, you use your ranger levels instead of your druid levels. After all, ranger is the class that actually grants wild shape, while druid does not. So I would rule that you have the wild shape of a 14th-level druid (from scout 8/ranger 6 and Swift Avenger), and that this would still be ...


1

Most of modifiers affecting a regular attack would affect violent thrust. Violent thrust You must succeed on attack rolls (one per creature or object thrown) to hit the target with the items, using your base attack bonus + your Intelligence modifier (if a wizard) or Charisma modifier (if a sorcerer). Attack roll An attack roll represents your ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible