Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

20

No. From 3.5 SRD: The Basics – Abilities and Spellcasters: Abilities And Spellcasters The ability that governs bonus spells depends on what type of spellcaster your character is: Intelligence for wizards; Wisdom for clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers; or Charisma for sorcerers and bards. In addition to having a high ability score, a ...


10

Ok, this was bothering me so some serious digging was necessary. The biggest question here is: Can I prepare a spell in a bonus spell slot even if my spellcasting class level isn't high enough to cast a spell of that spell level? And the answer is... No. Quoting the Pathfinder FAQ, emphasis mine: No. You only get the bonus spells if your class level ...


9

I have to agree that the wording in the original rules is not a 100% explicit. It is clear that you cannot cast spells of a higher level than you have access to, but can you prepare them? The Pathfinder FAQ has a more complete answer, emphasis mine: No. You only get the bonus spells if your class level grants you access to those spell levels. You can't ...


7

Kelgore's Firebolt - No The material component for Kelgore's Firebolt is "a handful of ashes", and the spell effect says that it "conjures a shard of red-hot rock." So no, there is no RAW way to substitute your own pebble in there and have it work. Spells only do what they say they do, and the spell says quite clearly that it conjures a red-hot pebble. It ...


5

I'll see to answer to both your questions. This two feats interact the way she is thinking they do? Yes. And, if they do, she can use the higher spell slot to cast the HLB? No. The point (as mentioned already, in an answer that does not cover both your questions) is that she does not have lvl 7 slots yet. Now she has lvl 5 slots, so she can ...


5

Yes, it changes the spell level so it works Heighten Spell is unique amongst metamagic feats in that it increases the effective spell level. So yes, preparing a heightened lightning bolt to 7th level is a 7th level spell for all purposes, including reserve feats. Assuming she has 7th level spell slots to do this, it works. And while it's hardly the most ...


3

Save your Mechanics Changes for Experienced Groups You're a first time GM, and you had a lot of difficulty getting your group together. Do you really want to risk adding a broken mechanic to your newly formed group? An easy way to lose players is to have a power imbalance, because certain players will feel that their contributions are nonexistent, and lose ...


2

Material components are actual items—that's what the name means. The rules for spell-component pouches are just there to abstract away the details, so that you don't have to track (and play out restocking!) your pouch with exact quantities of spider webs, vials of mercury, bits of cloth, and other weirdness. If you don't have your spell component ...


2

The fact that, lore-wise, a swordsage could be a member of the broken ones does not imply he could take a variant tought for a specific class. What you need to acknowledge is that monks between the Broken Ones take the Broken One variant and this does not bar vanilla swordsages to be Broken One members. If you wanted to get a swordsage variant for Broken ...


1

In D&D 3.5 at least, it depends on the character class. Some classes have zeroes in their "spells per day" columns. For example, the Bard has "0" in the column for 1st-level spells at character level 2, but "-" in the column for 2nd-level spells. This means that a 2nd-level bard can cast 1st-level spells if they have a high enough Charisma score, but ...


1

As @Dane pointed out, you don't get to actually cast a prismatic spray when you hit with a prismatic weapon. You just have your terget suffer the same effects as he has been hit with one. This leaves open your second question, which I'm going to address in its general case. Avoiding hitting your allies with friendly fire from AoE spells is an art. An art ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible