Hot answers tagged

49

You can't refuse to level up... From the Players Handbook, "Experience and levels" p 58: Advancing a Level: When your character’s XP total reaches at least the minimum XP needed for a new character level (see Table 3–2), he or she “goes up a level.” (emphasis mine) That's not a something that you can choose to do or not. As soon as you reach the ...


24

You are thinking of Ssendam, the Slaadi Lord of Madness detailed in the 1st edition Fiend Folio and Manual of the Planes. He appears as a golden slaad in his golden castle in Limbo near the slaadi Spawning Stone, but normally looks like a huge amoeba. He is the oldest of the slaadi lords, believes that madness is the ultimate form of chaos, and doesn't care ...


20

Sort of. Leveling up is not strictly mandatory. See e.g. the description of XP costs under spell components. I've also seen a similar caveat for item crafting, but couldn't find it quickly. However, note also that you cannot accumulate enough XP to level twice (see PHB P.58, "Advancing A Level"). Instead, your experience is set at one less than the ...


19

The Monster Manual feats aren't limited to monsters A feat can be taken by any creature that qualifies for the feat based on the feat's type (for example, the most common type of feat is general, but the Player's Handbook also includes the feat types item creation and metamagic) and that meets the feat's prerequisites and that fulfills any conditions ...


17

The skill description is silent about that There are no anatomical pre-requisites for the use of the Jump skill written directly into the description, only requiring a running start and a (land) movement speed, so you can use the skill properly. This may be an answer to your question: You can use the jump skill, as long as you have land movement speed. ...


16

1 cast of Move Earth will accomplish what you need. 3 casts of Move Earth will completely obliterate enemy defences It used to be a common siege tactic to dig a tunnel (which with the battlefield engineering available at the time would be less than 10 ft.) under the enemy wall or tower, secure the ceiling with wooden supports... and light them on fire. The ...


15

Like many things in 3.5, this is a relationship that flips as you advance in levels. If you start past the very early levels, Dexterity quickly stops being key to survival. Early levels: DEX keeps you alive When you're in the 1-5 level range, you have only a few hit dice, and bonuses are scarce. Having 1-5 extra HP is not meaningful; it is smaller than ...


15

The character will begin with 3000 EXP SRD To determine the effective character level (ECL) of a monster character, add its level adjustment to its racial Hit Dice and character class levels. The monster is considered to have experience points equal to the minimum needed to be a character of its ECL.


15

Likely, the writers meant "standing on soil or stone" The RAW is, as you mentioned, unclear. I will be addressing this mostly from a flavour perspective - what would an Earth elemental have affinity with? Note that by rules as intended, ground is likely not just any surface - the writers are always happy to assume that everyone is humanoids walking around, ...


15

None of this works by the rules Alright, let's unpack this. A needle is not a weapon so it's an illegal target for blade of blood. It cannot even be an improvised weapon, as according to page 159, footnote 2 of Complete Warrior: If an item has no weight worth noting, it doesn't deal any damage when used as a weapon Blade of blood only deals extra ...


13

Let's start off with some names. We have Derek the Darkstalker, Bob the Beholder, and Nancy the non-Darkstalker. It's the middle of combat, and the map currently looks like this: . . . . . . . . = 5 ft square . . . N . . . N = Nancy . . . B . . . D = Derek . . D . . . . B = Beholder . . . . . . . At this point, neither Derek nor ...


12

Yes: Total Defense You can defend yourself as a standard action. You get a +4 dodge bonus to your AC for 1 round. Your AC improves at the start of this action. You can’t combine total defense with fighting defensively or with the benefit of the Combat Expertise feat (since both of those require you to declare an attack or full attack). You ...


12

No one knows. Iron Heart surge is easily the biggest question mark in an otherwise-stellar book, worded very confusingly and plagued by nonsensical customer service rulings (that imply, for example, that it could turn off the sun). The errata for Tome of Battle gets just three entries in before being overwritten by the errata to Complete Mage (seriously; it’...


12

So I’m addressing this in two parts. First, the “effect” so to speak, is as though you had cast the same spell yourself This clause covers the spell, so knowledge is not required for this to work. So if you can use Spiritual Counter, it would work. Second, the feat has a requirement for its use, including be able to cast that spell as if it were ...


12

Like KRyan says in his answer, it's unlikely there's a way to wield a double weapon in one hand yet benefit from the double weapon as if it were wielded in two hands. However, for a dragonsplit alternative—both because the the Monster Manual IV doesn't provide the weapon's cost and because dragonsplit is a really dumb name—, there's the crescent knife (...


12

Does that automatically pinpoint the invisible character? NO If not an automatic thing, should enemies near the invisible character be given a free chance at detecting where the invisible character is at? YES Even if the invisible character is able to stealthily move away after their warning, do enemies have an increased chance at hitting him/ her because ...


11

So, there are a number of problems here. 1. Poor class design First of all, your party’s choices of class are problematic: all of them are difficult-to-use classes, where a naïve approach to them, attempting to use them to create the characters they’re described as, tends to work poorly. The exception there is the bard, but even the bard, as jack of ...


11

You have two questions - why it's like that, and what happens if it wasn't. I'll try to answer both. Favored Enemy through the ages In AD&D, you got your bonus against all sorts of monsters, from goblinoids to kobolds to giants, but not dragons or humans or aberrations. In AD&D 2e, you had to pick a specific creature, but at least you got to pick. ...


11

I disagree with the premise We are not in combat yet. Both parties are hostile, aware of each other, and making combat-related actions — combat has already begun. The only reason attacks have not been exchanged is that both sides enjoy total cover due to the presence of the closed door.


11

Only if you are trying to walk Let's unpack the situation. You are standing around and someone cast grease on your location. If you failed the save, you fell down. You have -4 AC against melee attacks, and +4 AC against ranged attacks, but you don't take any other penalties. If you passed the save, you have to repeat the save every round, but otherwise ...


11

Characters with different anatomies use those anatomies according to the same rules. Yuan-ti can, indeed, jump, as can everything else that can move unless it explicitly says that it cannot. An individual race could easily say that it cannot jump, or only jump at a penalty, but that is up to the individual race. Yuan-ti themselves have no such restrictions ...


11

This tangle can be cut through by noting two things: The diagonal rule doesn't apply to movement actions, it applies to measuring distances. (PHB, p. 147) The distance you can move in a round is measured depending on what you're doing, not the number of actions used to do it. Note “Movement in Combat” (PHB, p. 147) talks about total distances, not adding ...


10

You probably need to refer to Stronghold Builder's Guidebook. It lists spells that can potentially damage a structure. They are Disintegrate, Earthquake, Soften Earth and Stone, Stone Shape, Transmute Rock to Mud, Warp Wood, Wood Shape (pp. 99-100) The Move Earth spell is not in the list. Moreover, in the Sapping section of this book (p. 100) it reads: ...


10

If the cleric were truly repentant and devout, he would arrange for a resurrection, and immediately destroy himself. However, let's say he was on his way to do just that. I know of no RAW reason that, say, a True Neutral vampire cleric could not receive spells from Pelor - Libris Mortis, the Monster Manual, and Complete Divine don't say anything about the ...


10

A destroyed creature with the template class lich refoms up to a few miles from its phylactery The Wizards of the Coast Savage Progressions Web column "Lich and Weretiger Template Classes" includes in its description of the lich template class's class feature phylactery the following text: Once the phylactery has been completed, the lich can avoid ...


9

Unfortunately, you are talking about two variant rules from two separate books, that are technically in separate editions (kind of; Unearthed Arcana is definitely 3.5e, while Savage Species occupies a strange 3e-3.5e hybrid space as it was published while 3.5e was nearing completion). How they should interact was most likely never considered by the authors ...


9

To recover you need to do both of the following: A swift action, and One of the following: Attempt a melee attack (any melee attack, such as the standard-action attack, part of a full-attack, even an attack of opportunity though there is a risk you won’t get one) Or spend a standard action to flourish So yes, you can make a full-attack as part of your ...


9

Someone wielding a double weapon in one hand can’t use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round. (Rules Compendium, pg. 150) That covers my initial impulse, which was an undersized double weapon. A creature with slight build (e.g. web enhancement kobold) could even use that without taking penalties for the size issue....


9

Multiplication of "xN" multipliers on a roll is a special case with a special rule in the game (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/basics-ability-scores/glossary#TOC-Multiplying). It doesn't even apply to all multiplication in the game, just that on rolls that use a multiplier. Division is not lined out as a special case, it works like normal math (plus rounding down ...


9

Maybe you mean Effigy Master from Complete Arcane? It is an arcane caster PrC (1) with wondrous item as requirement (2) where the character is as said "Fascinated by the animating force of life itself" (3), gains the class skill "Craft effigy" that allows it to create constructs (4) though there is no healing or cauldron involved. The art for the effigy ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible