Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

19

Officially, probably not... There are no precise limits provided that state exactly under what circumstances an item is attended, except that the item be "grasped, touched, or worn" (PH 166), and attending an item is the usual bar for determining whether an effect that affects only a creature also affects that creature's gear. (Further, attending an item ...


18

Here's what detect magic itself says: Outsiders and elementals are not magical in themselves, but if they are summoned, the conjuration spell registers. So as long as the summoning spell lasts, the elemental (or the pool in which it hides) will appear to have conjuration magic in it. If the elemental had originated here, or walked through the portal, ...


17

Later on it says "Elementals, corporeal undead, and outsiders are likewise unaffected unless summoned." This clarifying statement confirms that the usage of "incorporeal undead" as a singular noun. Additionally I wouldn't consider an unbodied as an undead type as it is a psionic type so in looking at the overall concept of an anti magic field, an unbodied ...


13

No, they're very different games. Anything you try to use out of the D&D 5e Player's Handbook will be nonsense to the “game engine” that a D&D 3.5e game uses. It would be like trying to put a Blu-ray disc into a CD-ROM drive: it will superficially look like it fits, but it will not function. To play in their 3.5e game, ask them what you need. They ...


12

As far as I am aware there is no generic definitive and comprehensive list of Craft(X) or Profession(Y) skills for one obvious reason - there is no limit to human creativity. If a campaign requires dirigibles then its probably going to need Craft(Dirigible) and Profession(Dirigible Pilot) and a decision would be needed if they granted synergy to each other. ...


9

They cannot put more ranks in that skill until the cross-class maximum exceeds their current ranks, but they keep the ranks they have. Player’s Handbook pg. 62 SKILLS AT HIGHER LEVELS [...] If you have not maxed out a skill, you can spend extra skill points on it and increase its rank further. First, find out what your character’s ...


8

The special ability soothing voice is a neat but limited trick The 1st-level half-elf bard racial substitution level replaces countersong with soothing voice (Races of Destiny 157), which is like the bardic song fascinate but different, so below I've inserted soothing voice's differences into the description of the typical bard's fascinate special ability: ...


7

Yes, you can by RAW take a second level in Ur-Priest. The requirement of not being able to cast divine spells is a requirement "to become an ur-priest". It is not a prerequisite for taking levels in the prestige class, only for taking the prestige class in the first place.


6

You're right, he's wrong, "incorporeal undead" is a compound noun, not two nouns.


6

You can't make money by making magic items. Not in core, at least (and you did mention you were limited to the core in a comment): The cost of producing a magic item is usually half of the item's base price (or possibly a little more), while the money a player character can gain by selling a magic item is also half of the item's base price. This means that ...


5

Variants are generally not fully developed rules, more akin to fairly comprehensive idea suggestions. You are always going to have to massage variants a bit more than other rules to get them to fit; supplements written after the variant, for example, will almost-never take that variant into account (though it may consider earlier supplemental material, and ...


5

Make a house rule early in the campaign The game doesn't cover this. I suggest picking one of the following. Reality is comprised of 5-ft. squares. The squares impose themselves on creatures and objects it contains. Using this model, the universe is a fixed background and everything moves independent of it. Thus, when a caster creates an effect targeting ...


4

An elemental on its own would not show any aura. A summoned elemental would show the residue of its summoning, as a Conjuration aura, but if you went to the appropriate elemental plane (or otherwise encountered an elemental that had not been summoned), it has no aura because it is not a magical effect and it has no magical effects on it (or, if it does have ...


4

No, there are not definitive Craft skills for each item Items can be crafted using any of a variety of skills. For example, Craft(Weaponsmithing) and Craft(Blacksmithing) could both be used to forge a sword, as could Craft(Weapon Making) and Craft(physical objects), but not Craft(Things that start with 'X') [though you could make a case for it, since they ...


3

Primary arms vs. secondary arms The wording appears to have been lifted from the original girallon’s blessing in Savage Species, despite the near-total overhaul of the spell. Originally, Savage Species defined within the context of the spell itself what primary and secondary arms meant: The new limbs can be confusing. In a stressful or demanding ...


3

The natural weapons of a creature possessing DR X/magic bypass DR X/magic, but many polymorph effects can't grant DR... According to the Monster Manual errata the special ability DR X/magic is a supernatural ability, and supernatural abilities aren't gained upon using the 4th-level Sor/Wiz spell polymorph [trans] (PH 263) et al. The Monster Manual on Damage ...


3

Merely having the features: no, not directly Unless the feature explicitly says it affects your Leadership score, simply having it is not going to affect your Leadership score. If you get a reputation for risky behavior, that might If these class features affect your decisions, and you take greater risks, and these risks get people killed, and you get a ...


3

Ruling a fief in absentia happened throughout recorded history. A 'Seneschal' or 'Reeve' or 'Housecarl' or any number of other names describes the position of 'someone ruling a noble's lands while he isn't there'. Perhaps he's in the capital, politicking, or partying, or he's off crusading, fighting a war, trading, socializing with a neighbour, or just ...


3

A spell with the listed descriptors would be cast at +2 Caster level. Storm Spell Power reads: You are truly skilled in the use of spells that wield the power of the stormy seas. Any spell you cast that has the air, electricity, sonic, or water descriptor is cast at +2 caster level. The text of the ability doesn't state that there is a cumulative bonus ...


3

First of all, BAB basics Base attack bonus is a single number, not the +13/+8/+3 array you're used to see. This means your BAB in the example I just made would be 13 and this (being between 11 and 25) would grant you a second attack at -5 and a third attack at -10, hence the array. This also means that, when summing BABs from different sources, you sum two ...


3

This is covered in Epic Level Basics. Epic Attack Bonus Similarly, the character’s base attack bonus does not increase after character level reaches 20th. However, the character does receive a cumulative +1 epic bonus on all attacks at every odd-numbered level beyond 20th, as shown on Table: Epic Save and Epic Attack Bonuses. Any time a feat, prestige ...


2

Ultimately, it’s irrelevant. The feat doesn’t say it stacks with itself, so even if you get +2 from each adjacent enshielded ally, you would have a bunch of untyped +2 bonuses from the same source (the feat), and they would not stack, but rather overlap. Whether you have one +2 bonus, or a bunch of unstacking +2 bonuses, makes no difference at any point in ...


2

There're at least two ways... The following let the barbarian actually rage using his own kind of rage more often than normal. "Whirling frenzy is otherwise identical to the standard barbarian rage" (UA 66), so these should work with that, too. The 2nd-level Drd spell blood frenzy [trans] (Spell Compendium 33) causes 1 touched creature to rage as if it ...


2

There aren't many options left. Class levels and feats aside; other than scrolls with the Rage spell, magic items that would duplicate rage would be pretty expensive. A domain draught (Magic Item Compendium) of the Passion Domain would give you a rage once per day for a number of rounds equal to cleric level. You don't have a cleric level, so it would be ...


1

From a strictly rules-as-written standpoint, this doesn't appear to work. Major image has no provision or ability to block line of effect, so deeper darkness would still prevail in the area… even though it does block line of sight, so the darkness outside the "room" would not be visible, the spell creates darkness everywhere line of effect allows it to. ...


1

Assuming the arcane spellcasting class has a poor Fortitude save and Bluff as a cross-class skill, you need a single level of anything that has a good Fortitude save and Bluff in-class. Then the +1 of your arcane class’s poor Fortitude save after 3 levels will add with the +2 of the good Fortitude save from the new class, and you can just dump all your skill ...


1

'or' As long as it has any of those keywords, it gains +2 caster level. It does not gain it more than once, due to how the sentence is constructed, and how sentences work in english, and the ubiquity of that phrasing and it's meaning in the rest of the ruleset. Also, the strength of that feat is that it forces two saves, one against stun, and one against ...


1

It is not at all clear that “you are your own ally.” Tome of Battle is actually rather notorious on this point, because white raven tactics, already borderline overpowered, is well over the line if you can target yourself (and an idiot crusader breaks it, though even if you can’t two idiot crusaders alternating would break it). On the other hand, it makes ...


1

Rules Compendium updated the antimagic rules; incorporeal creatures disappear in AMF. (RC, p.11) [unrelated to question re:unbodied] Psion Uncarnate's 10th ability (Uncarnate) is listed as (Ex), however, so DM adjudication (fiat) might be needed, as Ex abilities continue to function in AMF. If your DM says you're Good To Go, get the ghostly grasp feat ...


1

Can intelligent creatures with no language learn languages? For example, could the ice toad just sink a couple of skill points into the cross-class skill Speak Language and pick up Common? Could the ice toad then speak Common? Not entirely. An Ice toad that gains a skill rank can take a rank in Linguistics to Understand Common, but if they lack the ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible