Hot answers tagged

31

You can't refuse to level up... From the Players Handbook, "Experience and levels" p 58: Advancing a Level: When your character’s XP total reaches at least the minimum XP needed for a new character level (see Table 3–2), he or she “goes up a level.” (emphasis mine) That's not a something that you can choose to do or not. As soon as you reach the ...


16

Sort of. Leveling up is not strictly mandatory. See e.g. the description of XP costs under spell components. I've also seen a similar caveat for item crafting, but couldn't find it quickly. However, note also that you cannot accumulate enough XP to level twice (see PHB P.58, "Advancing A Level"). Instead, your experience is set at one less than the ...


15

None of this works by the rules Alright, let's unpack this. A needle is not a weapon so it's an illegal target for blade of blood. It cannot even be an improvised weapon, as according to page 159, footnote 2 of Complete Warrior: If an item has no weight worth noting, it doesn't deal any damage when used as a weapon Blade of blood only deals extra ...


13

Let's start off with some names. We have Derek the Darkstalker, Bob the Beholder, and Nancy the non-Darkstalker. It's the middle of combat, and the map currently looks like this: . . . . . . . . = 5 ft square . . . N . . . N = Nancy . . . B . . . D = Derek . . D . . . . B = Beholder . . . . . . . At this point, neither Derek nor ...


10

This tangle can be cut through by noting two things: The diagonal rule doesn't apply to movement actions, it applies to measuring distances. (PHB, p. 147) The distance you can move in a round is measured depending on what you're doing, not the number of actions used to do it. Note “Movement in Combat” (PHB, p. 147) talks about total distances, not adding ...


8

Multiplication of "xN" multipliers on a roll is a special case with a special rule in the game (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/basics-ability-scores/glossary#TOC-Multiplying). It doesn't even apply to all multiplication in the game, just that on rolls that use a multiplier. Division is not lined out as a special case, it works like normal math (plus rounding down ...


6

Infusions are spells, and there are suggestions that new spells can be designed. Those suggestions were printed in Core, and not reprinted for each new spellcasting class (including artificer) was printed, but if, say, a favored soul or wu jen can research a new spell, then so too should an artificer be able to. Of course, the real trick is convincing the ...


6

A creature can only take a swift action if it possesses a special ability that enables it to take a swift action Unlike, for example, free actions, full round actions, move actions, and standard actions, a creature's ability to take swift actions depends on the special abilities the creature possesses. For instance, a creature can't opt to take a swift ...


6

109, normally To my knowledge, this is a complete list of bonuses to your dispel check: Minor School Esoterica (Abjuration): Competence bonus of half your class level to dispel checks (maximum +6 with bloodlines) Unanswerable Strike: +4 to dispel checks against abjuration spells Elven Spell Lore: +2 to dispel checks Inquisition Domain Power: +4 bonus to ...


5

Strictly speaking, the rules say that composite plating can be treated as an armor item for the following purposes only: Taking up an equipment slot Magical enhancement Class abilities that allow arcane spell failure to be ignored in light armor So as far as the rules are concerned, composite plating is not an item, it just behaves like one for these ...


5

Free action for the giver, move action for the receiver The closest I've seen the rules come to this is the general rule for manipulating items: In most cases, moving or manipulating an item is a move action. Examples of "moving or manipulating" that relate to this are: Draw a weapon Pick up an item Sheathe a weapon Retrieve a stored item ...


5

Probably not. The closest parallel I see is Improved Uncanny Dodge, which prevents a barbarian from becoming flanked. This defense denies a rogue the ability to sneak attack the barbarian by flanking him, unless the attacker has at least four more rogue levels than the target has barbarian levels. I read this as an implication that only the actual ...


5

You are correct - you would not gain +1d6 Eldritch Blast As you yourself wrote, you are effectively a Warlock 11 for Eldritch Blast damage, and going up to effectively Warlock 12 does not increase it. But look on the bright side - your Fortitude and Reflex saves go up by 1! If you do not think you will get to warlock level 10 (effective level 13), ...


4

The Epic Level Handbook's table that's part of the epic Bluff skill description (39) continues the table presented in the Player's Handbook Bluff skill description (67-8). That is, the creature that's attempting to use the skill's suggestion-like effect on the target makes a Bluff skill check that's opposed by the target's Sense Motive skill check. The ...


3

Usually, yes. Silence specifically prevents sound, not all vibration. (Remember that heat is a vibration as well - a complete lack of vibration would indicate absolute zero, and probably herald the end of times.) It prevents only those vibrations that occur in ranges that can be heard. This stops most vibration-based direct attack spells (sound lance) and ...


3

So far as I'm aware, there are no guidelines published by Wizards of the Coast for a PC to create a special ability, and, while guidelines for PC-created spells and magic items exist, those are only guidelines, the results of using them still subject to DM oversight. (So you know, I also don't know of a way to avoid needing the DM approval for anything a ...


2

I was confused by this at first as well, but it sounds like you about have it. The Instill Suggestion use of Epic Bluff is an Opposed Check with the target receiving a +50 on their Sense Motive to avoid being 'bluffed'; in this case the Bluff is actually the Suggestion status. (Sense Motive) The +50 is the 'equivalent' of a low range Epic Skill DC, but for ...


1

There's no explicit rule for that, so that falls in GM discretion lands by default. But we are trying to figure out a rule to manage this special case. Let's leave here, for reference, the multiplying rule: Multiplying: When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine ...


1

Wild Shape I would personally rule that, for the purposes of Swift Avenger, you use your ranger levels instead of your druid levels. After all, ranger is the class that actually grants wild shape, while druid does not. So I would rule that you have the wild shape of a 14th-level druid (from scout 8/ranger 6 and Swift Avenger), and that this would still be ...


1

Through extensive research, as far as the Demiplane is concerned, the ability to determine its time is either DM decision or create an epic Genesis spell in which it functions the exact same as Genesis but with more clarification it's abilities. However, if including third party material, specifically the book Chronomancy: The power of time, A chronomancer,...


1

Most of modifiers affecting a regular attack would affect violent thrust. Violent thrust You must succeed on attack rolls (one per creature or object thrown) to hit the target with the items, using your base attack bonus + your Intelligence modifier (if a wizard) or Charisma modifier (if a sorcerer). Attack roll An attack roll represents your ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible