Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

23

No, dealing damage does not mean you "hit" 4e uses a highly formulaic language. Miss, hit, attack roll and damage - these are all specific game terms. There are no gray areas there. As for hit points, they are an abstraction. Loss of hit points due to Missed attacks could be explained as exhaustion, demoralization, etc. You can even describe the Missed ...


19

Don't pretend you're a rogue, because Ardents don't look good in leather. You require some real (and exotic) metals between you and the enemy. The thicker, the better. Ask for some mirrored or hydra layered plate platemail +5, as it's in a similar theme to your original gambit armor. Item materials are also important and scale by half-tier1, but your main ...


14

Aid Another is not broken... That perception check example you give, its supposed to work that way 100 percent. Conceivably the players could also just stand in a room and continue to roll perception checks until they get a number they like. If the situation has no inherent danger punishing a failed skill roll should have no consequences. A creature ...


14

Yes, it affects the attack roll. You're overthinking it. Marked opponents take a -2 to attack rolls when making attacks that don't include their marker. Deathrattle Viper's secondary attack involves an attack roll. That attack roll takes a -2 if it doesn't include the marker. The reason for the attack roll doesn't matter, and is entirely fluff. (Seriously: ...


10

Unless the power says otherwise, yes. Most powers do not make an exception based on creature size. However, a few do. The Fighter's Tide of Iron does (up to one size category larger than the PC). The always available Bull Rush has the same exception. There is no rule in 4e related to size categories with respect to forced movement. If the power says ...


9

Fourth edition is very "game-y," which means the actions which happen on the table may not match up with the actions as you perceive them. Since hurting people with real, live weapons relies on you making contact with that person, seeing "damage" on a person implies they've been hit by a weapon. This can lead you to say "If I've hurt someone, I've hit them." ...


6

Unfortunately, ranged paladin attacks do provoke1. Paladins are designed to be in-your-face glowy shiny people. Unfortunately, the enemy sometimes decides that they simply don't want to bother with Mr. Shiny, and, as such, provision has been made for the paladin to "take the enemy to the fight." Or the paladin could have the quite reasonable Mighty ...


6

Direct Math for your question and an explanation about Careful Attack. Attack: Roll 1d20+to-hit modifier. If you hit roll (1d8 OR 1d6) + damage modifier . Careful Attack's requirement to have two melee weapons or a ranged weapon is simply that, a requirement. When you make the attack while wielding two melee weapons you can choose which melee weapon you ...


6

Aid Another has actually been errata'ed to be more risky. From the Compendium: In some situations, creatures can work together to use a skill or an ability. A creature can help another make a skill check or an ability check by taking the aid another action. Given a choice, a group of adventurers should have the character who has the highest ...


6

The Frost weapon does not specify that it applies to only weapon attacks. It says: All damage dealt by this weapon is cold damage. Another free action returns the damage to normal. That means all, even implement damage. The contrast here is between damage dealt "by a weapon" (includes weapon and implement powers), and "by weapon attacks" (or similar) ...


5

Yes, there is now only the Elemental Chaos. The previous cosmology has been entirely scrapped. I don't miss it at all: I find the new cosmology far richer and more exciting and fascinating to work with, and D&D 4e's development team thoroughly succeeded in their mission at giving the DM more flexibility in their choices. If you want to run an elemental ...


4

There are a few issues with this. The first is the one that Lucifer points out, this is flat movement, it's not a shift, and unless you have a power that gives you a teleport speed, you're not teleporting either. So if he's adjacent to you, you're eating an opportunity attack to pull this off. However, if you're invisible with Oni's Gift, that's not an ...


4

Yes! You can use a superior weapon without a proficiency feat. The +2 or +3 proficiency bonus is what you get for being proficient with that weapon. So if you use a weapon without proficiency you don't apply the bonus. From Weapons MM283 Characters can pick up and use a monster’s weapons unless otherwise noted. If the weapon is listed in the Player’s ...


3

You are absolutely right about how it works. You leave the first square without a problem, and than get the Opportunity Attacks. Based on the fluff and the fact that giving you fly does not help your escape in any way, I also agree that it is not the intended way. Talk to your DM about this, I would allow not to take opportunity attacks for the first 2 ...


3

There are ways to improve your AC, and your survivability as well. Get into heavy armor. This does not take any investment, but changing from leather to chain gives you 4 AC, as pointed out by Brian. Take the Scale Armor feat, it gives you +1 AC, and access to Blood Iron Armor, for 2 more AC if you hit the target. You can take Plate Armor as well, for 1 ...


2

In my PHB I see no special paragraph relating to Superior weapons other than a way to create another weapon group to divide, well proficiencies. The only listing I see is that for any weapon you are not proficient in, you do not get the accuracy bonus. Otherwise nothing seems to change, not even properties. Usually it's just not worth it to lose the ...


2

The Mechanics of Whirlwind Kick's Movement Technique Effect: You fly your speed. The first square of this movement doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks. Powers in 4e do what they say, nothing more nothing less. Thus you are free from provoking only for the first square of movement. How to use whirlwind kick and avoid provoking As you say, against one ...


2

The feat would apply if it was made specifically for ongoing damage I have never seen a feat with those properties before. But if the feat mention anything about ongoing damage, the extra damage would apply. Ongoing damage (regardless of type, such as thunder, fire, necrotic etc.) and normal damage from an attack are two completely different sources. ...


2

There is a book called the "Manual of the Planes". It covers the following: The Feywild The Shadowfell The Elemental Chaos The Astral Sea Sigil, City of Doors The Far Realm The Plane of Dreams In each of the above it goes into further detail, explaining highlights in each of the above areas, depicting major cities and ports, places of worship, and other ...


1

Probably not. Without seeing the exact text of the feat and power in question we can't say for sure, but it's unlikely that the feat will add its bonus to ongoing damage. The key concept here is damage rolls. Almost everything that adds bonus damage adds it to damage rolls rather than to all damage. If you don't roll any dice for damage, it's not a damage ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible