Tag Info

New answers tagged

5

The Item power as written does not work. I double checked the online compendium as I too shared dopplegreener's suspicions that it might instead be an immediate interrupt, but you have correctly copied the power down. Parrying Weapon Level 2+ Uncommon A wielder of this weapon never truly lowers his or her defenses. Lvl 2 +1 520 gp Lvl 17 ...


7

The mechanics: Yes, your goblins need to roll stealth, they need to beat the PCs' passive perception scores to actually be hidden, that said, don't tell the PCs what is in the barrel, just that there is something in the barrel. The difference between them noticing and them not, is likely a surprise round. No, they can't ready actions before combat starts. ...


1

I'd say after you see the attack roll, because it says "make a melee basic attack against that enemy...if your result exceeds that of the attack roll against you". There's no mention of the enemy then making the roll, or "use this when an attack is declared but before the attack roll is made", or something like that. I think the intention is that you don't ...


1

“Strength modifier damage” doesn't mean anything, because it's two fragments of two different pieces of the phrase. This wording is really common in 4e powers, and makes straightforward sense… once you've seen how to read it, that is. It's a little bit like a garden path sentence though, so it's not really your fault for reading it wrong. How you've parsed ...


1

An ability modifier (strength in this instance), is calculated by taking the strength score, subtracting 10 and dividing the remainder by 2 (round down). So if your score is 18, your modifier is 4. So in the power with a text of 1[W]+str, with a longsword, the damage at L1 with a Strenght of 18 would be: 1d8+4 (plus other modifiers) As your strength ...


6

The Shaman's tactic is fine. Most of the shaman powers are ranged or have the spirit keyword. This means the shaman can stay away from the front lines and stand in a slightly safer position, where the only way to harm him is using ranged attacks or bypassing the defender. It's actually a good thing for the group if the shaman stays back and tries to get ...


3

This isn't a case of two powers giving a bonus to a single roll or defence. There isn't any actual stacking here, in effect, they go off sequentially and just have identical benefits. They both apply.


0

No one has mentioned the offending player's character actually using a bluff / deception check to convince the character at risk of leaving that they've (the offending character) sincerely changed their mind when they have not and not think that the character in question is a sniveling weakling. If the offending character is liable to lie like this, it may ...


7

Let's review the basic numbers first, before we get into how Wizards break them: at level 1, every character picks 2 at-wills, 1 encounter power, and 1 daily. At level 2, they pick up a utility power too. At-will powers So, you have to choose two at-wills, right? But there's something else first. Some classes have feature powers, and the Wizard's are ...


1

Basically you get more options Wizards basically get extra dailies compared to other classes, but they can only use the same amount of class daily powers in a day. Those extras give you a breadth, which is iconic to the wizard class. Half-elf and Human both have a racial feature letting them get 1 extra at-will power. For the human its from the same class, ...


3

With stealth, GM buy in, and probably not without the knowledge of your fellow players (though their characters don't have to know). Here's the first thing. Take the GM aside and ask him about the expectations for this mission. He gave it to you, he certainly has and idea about how he thinks it's supposed to go down. He can help you, especially where the ...


-1

On the first reading it looks like you do. The requirement for Heroic Slayer is that the damage be added to the "damage rolls of weapon attacks". The damage expression on Power Strike is 1[W], so that looks like a roll, and the power is listed as an attack and has the Weapon keyword.


5

No. Power attack is classified as extra damage and only adds to the damage roll, it does not add an additional damage roll. Many powers and other effects grant the ability to deal extra damage. Extra damage is always in addition to other damage and is of the same type or types as that damage, unless otherwise noted. (RC 223) Basically, you can't stack ...


0

In addition to wax eagle's answer, one of the races has this ability naturally. I think it is gnome, but I would have to break out my 4e books again to verify which one for sure, as I haven't played in about a year.


3

You're thinking of the Bregan D'aerthe Spy theme's Utility 2 power that reads: Free Action Personal Trigger: You have any cover or concealment when you roll initiative. Effect: You can make a Stealth check to hide. It can be accessed by taking the Bregan D'aerthe Spy theme and then taking this power as your utility 2 power.


3

First and foremost let me recommend the build guides for all classes on the WOTC forums found in the Character Optimization boards and collected in one thread. Artificer's make poor defenders... Artificers only start with leather armor proficiency, no shield proficiency and 1 less surge granted by the class than all other leader classes. You're already ...


1

There is nothing wrong with railroads when you need a railroad. They have their uses, such as letting trains get from A to B without crashing. If you ever, as a DM, find yourself in a situation where the result of a dice roll will decide if your group has a fun evening or not, then find some reason why you should roll it, and cheat. Claim that all ...


2

Most D&D games have a basic assumption that the party just stays together, and that pretty much everything else bends to fit that. This shows up in the "PC aura" trope when a new player is joining the group: there may be an introduction scene and everyone pretends to have suspicions and different motives and so on, but the conclusion is foregone and ...


0

The easiest way to add the Thunder keyword is with an implement that does so. Unfortunately, this isn't possible unless there is a way you can get to using a bow as an implement. The best bet would be a staff enchanted to deal Thunder damage on all of it's attacks. Unfortunately, there isn't one. However, if you're looking for an opener, I'd recommend ...


18

"My character would do that" should never be used as a "justification" (more likely excuse) for game-wrecking behaviour. It's not a simulation, it's a game. Everybody wants to have fun. One thing is doing something that will make the in-game situation difficult while still providing a positive gaming experience. But good role-playing should never lead to a ...


5

If played as designed, 4e has strong assumptions on group coherency. This means the party needs to regroup no matter what, and running a challenge where both failing and succeeding lead to the same result means running an useless challenge. Apart from the fact @gatherer818 mentioned about this being a precedent for forcing a fellow player to behave like ...


2

An aftereffect happens after an effect ends. In this case, when the monster saves. Unfortunately, if the creature dies before he saves, the monster never saved and thus the power doesn't trigger (the effect, in effect, doesn't end, at least in a normal way). This is why the text for the Hit has a clause for when they "[reach] 0 HP." So no, death doesn't ...


3

A modifier is the +2, that is, you gain +2 to all intelligence rolls. A check is the roll itself. If you are trying to best someone at a game of chess, the DM might say "Make an Intelligence check". You would then roll a d20, add the intelligence modifier, and that would be your result. However, more often than not you will have a skill associated with ...


10

Yes, it means enemies and allies Creature A being in the game world. Both adventurers and monsters are creatures. See also adventurer and monster. - Published in Rules Compendium, page(s) 310. There are options for avoiding friendly fire while still laying down a burst/blast zone that includes friendlies War Wizard's Staff feat lets you slide an ...


3

According to this discussion, Unless otherwise stated, a summoned creature's maximum hit points equal your bloodied value. If it drops to 0 hit points, it is destroyed and you lose a healing surge. If you have no surges to lose, you take damage equal to half of your bloodied value. Its defenses equal your defenses when you summon it, not ...


13

Yep, allies are hit too, otherwise it would say "each Enemy in the blast", as is the case on plenty of attacks (For example, Fire Shroud, contrast with Shock sphere).


0

No, projectiles do not exist in flight. I believe I have a case for an opposing answer, but this answer is based on a few presuppositions that may not apply to all interpretations of D&D 4th Edition rules. I do not believe there is a firm answer, but I would propose the following for my own campaigns, should this come up whilst I was a DM: Firstly, I ...


1

It turns out that there are a number of different ways to speed up this process. The fastest option may or may not be available to a specific character, so let me try and include not only that option but some other alternatives as well. There were already four answers when I posted this one, and I've drawn a lot of ideas from those answers. Fastest The ...


7

Naturally they exist. However, the question of whether you can interact with them in flight is a bit more ponderous. There are two questions. The first is whether or not we can intervene on a flying projectile. the second is whether or not a projectile weapon counts as an item being "unattended" and "inanimate." Generally the answer to this question is ...


6

Just take the Two-Fisted Shooter feat and move on. You can treat the hand crossbow as an off-hand weapon, and you can reload it one-handed as a free action. When you score a critical hit and have a loaded hand crossbow in your off hand, you can make a ranged basic attack with that weapon as a free action. (MP 140) This will let you reload a hand ...


4

Your players were right. Your move action is over when you say it is over Immediate reactions occur after the trigger: An immediate reaction waits for its trigger to finish, not necessarily for the action that contains the trigger to finish. - Published in Player's Handbook, page(s) 268, Rules Compendium, page(s) 195. Movement is considered ...


2

I'd avoid the issue by getting a Ruby Scabbard (Adventurer's Vault), since it allows the associated weapon to be drawn as part of the same action made to attack with it. So he would just whip it out to stab someone in a single, fluid movement. So he would sheathe the rapier as a minor action, reload as free then just draw it again whenever he uses it.


1

The Monk AW "Fallen Needle" has a movement technique that goes "Immediate Interrupt, Trigger: an enemy ends its movement adjacent to you, Effect: you shift 1 or move 3." And since the Repulsion Armour is a reaction to push someone for moving into an adjacent square rather than to someone ending their move action, I'd rule that the repulsed creature ...


2

I find your methodology questionable. Of course it is a DM ruling and you are the DM, but consider for the free load to work you must have a free hand. Quick Swap is based on a single continuous motion to switch from one weapon to another, as an example slip your dagger in its sheaf on the down stroke and pull your sword on the continued motion up stroke. ...


1

Under the right circumstances Repulsion Armour could be quite handy. Whilst I would consider you correct in that they can continue moving after the push if they have movement left, some consideration and tactful positioning can be of use. The Armour is meant to help prevent enemies from shifting adjacent to you, so if you they are already adjacent to one of ...


3

Your interpretation makes sense to me. As for versimilitude, I would have the character install hooks on his belt which assist him with one-handed reloading. These have the side-effect of adding flair to the outfit.


0

Immediate reactions occur after the trigger in initiative order. Reactions: An immediate reaction lets a creature act in response to a trigger. The triggering action or event occurs and is completely resolved before the reaction takes place. An immediate reaction waits for its trigger to finish, not necessarily for the action that contains the ...


1

Building off of @SevenSidedDie 's answer, you could try asking them to build a character on their own. Tell them what they need to read, hand them character sheets, and let them know that in a day's time (giving them a day to do this isn't unreasonable) you'll expect them to be ready to play. This may seem like a lot, but the more you ask them to do on ...


1

The Hand-Crossbow is a 1-handed weapon that requires your off-hand to be free in order to reload. The Spiked fist requires the gauntleted hand to not be holding anything else in order to wield it as a weapon. If your player is holding a Hand-crossbow in the same hand as the Spiked Fist, then he still requires an empty hand to reload and wouldn't be able to ...


3

Yes, 4e doesn't care about verisimilitude. Spiked gauntlet Simple one-handed melee weapon Cost: 5 gp Damage: 1d6 Proficient: +2 Range: - Weight: 1 lb. These gauntlets are specially fitted with metal spikes. Unlike other weapons, the spiked gauntlet occupies your magic item hands slot while enchanted. Properties: Off-Hand (An ...


1

If I were DM-ing this, I'd allow it. Obviously the player can't attack with both the crossbow and the gauntlet in the same round, but just thinking about it logically (and in absence of any specific rule against it), it should be fine. You can, in fact, punch someone while holding something. What I might be tempted to do is inflict damage on the crossbow ...


4

I don't know of anything in the rules that explicitly prevent this... However, the 'it just seems overly impractical' can be enough for you to overrule any rules (even if they existed). A person could possibly wield a hand crossbow in a hand with a gauntlet (sounds suspiciously like a -X to attack rolls to me). Adding a lot of spikes to said gauntlet ...


3

As others have said, killing him is probably a bad move (and in general, trying to railroad your plot too much will probably be frustrating for your players at other times). I'll focus on one part: I have a Warlord PC who does not work with my overarching plans. His backstory also makes no sense as to how he would be level 1 — he's supposed to be a ...


2

It's a separate action to use the Channel Divinity. Let's say you're playing a Paladin who has Channel Divinity: Divine Strength which is a Minor Action. Round 1 - Minor Action to use CD: Divine Strength + Standard Action to attack Round 2 - Standard Action to use the Medic's Weapon Daily and gain a second use of Channel Divinity + Minor Action to use ...


4

OK, this is the start of an answer and I'll add more if/when I find it. I'm going to mark it CW so that anyone who finds something additional can go ahead and add it. Checking out the online compendium, we see two sources in Dungeon/Dragon magazine that look like they might be helpful. We also have several flavor text references to Gibbeth from warlock ...


3

Reading it straight, it appears to cost a standard action to give you a "free" Channel Divinity that must be used before the end of the encounter or be lost. It does not appear to automatically use that Channel nor give you an action to allow you to do so, so you must spend another action to activate it.


6

Absolutely. They just have to make their save. Difficult terrain is not blocking terrain. The only part of this power that stops movement is the saving throw when the creature leaves. If your DM did not have the Golem take and then make the save, then it was played incorrectly. If the golem passed his save, and paid the extra movement for the difficult ...


12

There are two aspects to your question: 1. Character fit for your plans You haven't said much about how this character doesn't fit with your overarching plans. Depending on what that exactly that mismatch is, you have one of three problems: You've insufficiently communicated your game world to your players. Since the game is full of imaginative options, ...


8

You would be overreacting. The reason players gather together to play is, of course, wanting to have fun. This should be true for every person in the gaming group including the game master and it should be everyone's responsibility to work towards this goal. If people are entertained they keep coming to games and they positively contribute to them. If not, ...


18

The problem is not the character. That's just a symptom of the problem. Either: The player chose to make a character that didn't fit with what you communicated You failed to communicate sufficiently what the campaign was supposed to be about Notice that in either case, the fictional character isn't really the problem but one of communication and things ...



Top 50 recent answers are included