Tag Info

New answers tagged

2

While Nibelung's answer has its heart in the right place, and is correct in its explanation of 4e's design ethos, it's missing a key element: In 4th Edition, rules do what they say they do, and ONLY what they say they do. This rule says that the attack targets a creature of your choice adjacent to you, but it fails to specify "even if the new target would ...


0

The situation is somewhat interesting to analyze. I'm usually the DM of my group, and I try to avoid those kinds of situations on a 5-person group (alongside making sure at least one person is trained on each skill and such), but sometimes people just really want to play what they want to play, and you go to the dungeon with a party that don't cover all the ...


4

You cannot use any powers through a pane of glass or any other transparent block. This is because all powers unless they state otherwise require line of effect. You have Line of Sight since you can see the target, but you do not have Line of Effect. Line of Effect: A clear line from one point to another point in an encounter that doesn’t pass through or ...


2

If it's adjacent to you, yes. It just targets "a creature of your choice adjacent to you". If it was intended to exclude the triggering foe it would say, "another creature of your choice adjacent to you". I would imagine that the power was deliberately written to include the triggering foe so that it could be used when only a single foe was attacking you in ...


0

I haven't played DDO since before it went free-to-play, so it's quite likely some stuff has changed. However, certain issues are probably still in place. Like most MMO games (and many RPGs in general), the NPCs in DDO tend to ignore anything past their line of sight other than a few scripted sequences. So the players can hang out in one room for hours and ...


2

From a quick look at the Lifespirit Warden it looks like you don't actually get Healing outside of your second wind feature so much as THP and Resistances (at least in the level area you're looking at, and admittedly this is only after a quick search). Both of these are ok overall as mitigation is good, but it doesn't allow you to bring up someone who ...


6

There are actually two questions in the OP, so I'll answer them both. Yes, the power can be used in a place without valid targets. An Area Attack doesn't aim at a target. It aim at a square (within line of effect, as usual), and usually targets creatures within the area created around the target square. If there is no valid targets in the area, usually ...


5

The Wizard power stinking cloud has a range of Area burst 2 within 20 squares, not a target creature, meaning that the spell does not need to hit a target to succeed. The Wizard can target a burst spell on any space within range (in this case, 20 squares of herself) that she can affect (is not blocked by a solid object such as a wall), and the cloud covers a ...


-3

Yes. D&D 4e is build on the basis that any specific rule that contradicts a general rule have priority over the general rule (Player's Handbook, pg 11). A character usually can't target something beyond their range. A power that allows them to target someone out of that range is an exception to that rule. There are various examples of powers and ...


5

It is in the Adventurer's Vault 2 page 97. In the future you can use the Compendium, even without a DDI Subscription. You can't get the text of the item (or feat or whatever you are looking up) but it will tell you the book it came in.


2

From a RAW standpoint, the invoked shrouds vanish... The feat doesn't say anything about moving shrouds instead of the shrouds vanishing. All the damage from the attack you invoke the shrouds for happens at once (both the attack's damage and the additional damage from the shrouds), so the shrouds would vanish before the target was reduced to zero. ...but ...


7

Yes, you may. First there's the rules-first approach D&D 4e is happy with, wherein the story follows afterwards to make sense of the rules: it's a heavy blade, and the Ruby Scabbard says it can be used with those. So you can, and that's that. Narratively, it's also fine. Polearms do get sheathed. Not for convenience of carrying like with swords, though ...


18

Sure, why not? After all, there are historical scabbards for polearms. They just don't dangle on your hip like a sword one, but since also a longsword scabbard don't fit a scimitar, the item will magically change to fit your weapon.


0

RAW: Yes, because it is a heavy blade. The rules say that the weapon that goes into a Ruby Scabbard has to be "any light blade or heavy blade". Since the polearm is a heavy blade, and the rules don't say that any non-light blade or heavy blade weapons cannot go into it, this can be done. RAI: No, because glaives don't use scabbards. Glaives are polearms ...


7

No. As you stated, Sacrifice to Caiphon requires a Warlock attack power, and powers from Paragon Paths, Skill Powers, etc. are not Warlock powers. If it was supposed to, it would have stated something like "Warlock or Warlock Paragon Path Powers," like Kelgore's Well of Power (emphasis mine): [...] Instead, the next time you make an attack with a ...


5

I am not aware of a pure Warlord PP that has a 'lazy' E11 (If you hybrid there are some decent options however). There is however the feat Reserve Maneuver that allows you to replace any encounter power you have with an encounter power from your class that you don't already have. So you can replace the Battle Captain's E11 with a Warlord E1, E3 or E7 power.


7

Yes you can. The Scabbard's ability is a Free Action, and you can use Free Actions at (pretty much) any time including when it isn't your turn. DDI: Free actions take almost no time or effort. A creature can usually take as many free actions as it wants during any turn, including other creatures’ turns.


1

No. The feat trigger is the enemy entering the square, not moving into the square. Because of the wording on the feat, even if the enemy was slid/pushed/pulled into the relevant square, it would trigger, as long as it was not adjacent to you at the start of their movement. EDIT: Opportunity Attacks (DDI) don't trigger if the enemy is using a shift, ...


3

Yes. Your weapon's enhancement bonus is added to weapon damage rolls. Rain of Steel has the Weapon keyword, therefore it is a weapon power. Its damage involves rolling dice, therefore it is a damage roll. Rain of Steel's damage thus receives the enhancement bonus from your weapon.


10

So um, aside from strongly advising you not to engage in PVP within the DnD4e ruleset (which is incredibly bad at PVP), and more generally to not murder your teammates, I'm happy to answer your rules questions. You seem to have more than one question rolled in there, so I'll address them one at a time. How aware are eladrin while trancing? The rules text ...


0

What was the cloak tower before it disappeared? Where was it? Where did it go? What happened to the mages? I think those questions were left open on purpose, so that each DM could fit the answer to their personal campaign. It fills the same slot as asking "what caused the Day of Mourning" on Eberron. If the tower is based on something from previous ...


5

Yes, they can continue moving if they have any movement left. An opportunity action takes place before the target finishes its action. After the opportunity attack, the creature resumes its action. [DDI] In order to stop moving you need something like a Fighter's Combat Superiority that specifically stops them from moving farther with that action. ...


9

Lava deals an appropriate amount of damage for the level of the characters and the intensity of the challenge you want them to face. 4e doesn't use static numbers based on the objective source of the damage; in 4e the mechanics scale with the party, according to the thing's role in the story, in order to challenge the group appropriately. Lava is probably ...


12

In 4e, the only thing that determines your character's size is your character's race. Each race has its size, and the height range in their description. (Rules Compendium, page 199.) The Human race description says that the average Human height is 5'6"-6'2". This puts your rogue outside the standard human size. However, if you compare it with other ...


6

She doesn't count as small and you can leave her as medium. Strictly speaking: small's made for halflings and goblins as key examples. Unlike previous editions, D&D 4e doesn't have any guidelines for what height converts to what size1 but halflings, the PHB1 small race, are usually 4'2" at most. Your character is not quite that short. They don't become ...


-2

She is a Medium creature. The Medium category is quite broad, covering from 4-8ft tall, and from 60-500lbs. You're a little shorter than the average female, but by no means out of the Medium category. http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/movementPositionAndDistance.htm#bigandLittleCreaturesInCombat


-1

I don't know if anyone has adapted the specific storylines of the MMO, but 4e does have both an Eberron Campaign Guide and an Eberron Players Guide. They're currently available for ~$15 total on amazon. These books contain rules for Artificers, Kalashtar, Warforged, and Changelings, as well as information about the various controlling houses, with feats ...


5

This isn't your problem. You see him doing something “wrong,” but it's not causing you a problem. The people who get to decide if this is a problem or not are the other players in the group, who are coordinating their characters with his. It's their right and responsibility to judge whether this warden is dead weight or just fine. If there's a problem, you ...


6

Since you said he is an old friend, maybe he just don't know exactly what a defender is supposed to do (Put the monsters on a hard choice between attacking someone who have better defenses, or take a harsh punishment), and instead tried to make a "tank" as defined by the previous editions (Have a huge AC, have a ton of HP) and expecting the monsters to ...


0

As stated in a different answere, there is no way to completely avoid conflict. But you could do a pair of things that might help him understand your point of view. First, don't be confrontational. Wait for a good moment to speak to him, like outside sessions (otherwise you'd spend everyone's valuable game time) and ask him: "Ok, you've made this character ...


2

"how can I tell him that the character isn't filling the defender role in any real capacity without causing any conflict?" You can't. He thinks a thing, and he wants to think it, and you want to tell him he's wrong. That's necessarily a conflict, and there isn't really anything good you can do about that if you want him to change his behavior/change his ...


4

There are two questions you need to ask yourself: Are his actions negatively influencing the party? Is the player having fun? For the first: is the party capable of dealing enough damage to enemies they are not in constant danger of a total party kill? And is this a problem in the long run, on higher levels? If in both cases the answer is no, then there ...


4

The Battlemind gains powers as per the Character Advancement Chart (PHB pg. 29). However, it does stray from the chart at certain levels as denoted in this section: Psionic Augmentation At-Will Attack Powers: At 1st level, you choose two at-will attack powers and one daily attack power from your class, but you don't start with any encounter attack ...


8

The Immortal origin means that a creature will no die to old age, but they can still be killed by other methods. From the compendium: Immortal creatures are native to the Astral Sea. Unless they are killed, they live forever. If the character would die a second time they would be dead until a Raise Dead ritual was used or some other method was used to ...


3

First of all, don't ever rely upon the fluff description. That's there just to provide a visual, but the bolas don't entangle, they immobilize, which is a different condition. The full text for the feat explicitly tells you the durations of the effect: until the end of the target's next turn. There is no way to end the condition earlier, except if a power ...


3

The definition of an immediate reaction (PBH pg 268): An immediate reaction lets you act in response to a trigger. The triggering action, event, or condition occurs and is completely resolved before you take your reaction, except that you can interrupt a creature's movement. If a creature triggers your immediate reaction while moving (by coming into ...


0

Having it take a full standard action is completely reasonable. If you hadn't asked, I would've just assumed that. That being said, this is an odd case since one doesn't normally divide actions. If the player isn't satisfied with needing to use a full action, it would make sense to rule that, with scrolls only, half a Standard action is a Minor action (or ...


4

A warlock would be a good option. The Warlock is an Arcane striker. This is true for both the original Player's Handbook warlock class and the Hexblade warlock from Heroes of the Forgotten Kingdoms, but not the Binder warlock from Heroes of Shadow, which is a controller. Depending on the exact warlock build, a warlock can be fairly tough or squishy, and ...



Top 50 recent answers are included