Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

29

Yes, if your DM thinks a panther has the right anatomy. The gnome is Small (PHB 37) and the panther Medium (PHB 308). The relevant rule says: A willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy can serve as a mount (PHB 198) Your ranger's animal companion is certainly willing. It does depend on whether your ...


26

You're only getting half of the information. After the table, the blurb on Businesses (same page, DMG 127, right below the table you've cited) explains that the information for running a business is in the section for Downtime Activities (which also starts on that same page). The relevant section in Downtime Activities is on page 129 of the DMG and is ...


24

D&D 5e is not as lethal as you think. The rules on dropping to 0 hit points are on page 13 of the Starter Set rulebook. I won't write them all out here, but I'll summarise the important points: When you drop to 0 hit points, you're not dead yet. Every time you begin your turn with 0 hit points, you make a death saving throw, which is a d20 roll with no ...


23

I would say no. The PHB on page 195 specifically states: you don't provoke attacks of opportunity when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. Under the Beast Master archetype on page 93 it says: You can command the beast where to move on your turn (no action required). Since the beast counts as something ...


22

In this particular case, I'd argue that the Fighter is able to get up during the battle and help the party. The text of Suggestion has the following: ...The suggestion must be worded in such a manner as to make the course of action sound reasonable. Asking the creature to stab itself, throw itself onto a spear, immolate itself, or do some other ...


22

By RAW, no. From page 93 of the PHB: though the beast does not take any actions unless you command it to. That much is pretty clear-cut. By RAI, were it my game, I'd probably allow the beast to stand guard and engage with anyone who tries to harm the unconscious body of its master, but it would be under DM control and if I were using morale, that ...


20

Short Answer No, you need 5 minutes to doff plate armor. You could use illusion or possibly transmutation to create the appearance of armor. To persuade your DM to have easy-off armor you might have to pay a real world or game world cost. Long answer follows.. RAW The RAW say that Heavy Armor takes 5 minutes to doff (PHB 146), so instant doffing not ...


19

Do you need the weapon? Yes. (I had a whole answer written to answer this part of the question before you clarified...) Does it need to be wooden? Yes. While individual DMs may houserule differently, the requirement for a wooden weapon is part of the spell, and fits with its nature theme. This is similar to druids' requirement to use non-metal armour, or ...


19

My suggestion? Don't. When I run sandbox games, I tend to divide the world into regions of general power; I start the players off in a low threat zone, full of mudcrabs, rattata, and the occasional goblin. Then, in universe, I tell the players what areas are safe. Rumors in the bar that the road to Harborhead has been having some bandit troubles. The city ...


19

Cumulative chance does mean that the chance accumulates each time, yes. Each time you drink it after the first, there is a chance that it will age you instead of youth-en you. That chance is 10% initially, but increases by 10% each time. So the first time you drink it, it has its normal effect. The second time, there's a 10% chance it has the opposite ...


19

It's out of place in 4e, but 5e is a different game and it's not out of place in any way. You're not missing a rule, just importing expectations into the game that aren't part of it. To avoid being pushed off cliffs or onto spikes in 5e, you do what people do: stay far away from cliff edges, pits full of impaling spikes, and other lethal hazards. ...


18

The Daylight spell, unfortunately, does not count as Sunlight. In each spells description, it will actually mention if the spell counts as Sunlight or not, for the effects of creatures weak against it. Here are two examples of a few spells that ARE Sunlight from page 279 of the Players Handbook (PHB). Sunbeam: A brilliant beam of light flashes out ...


17

No, the ability score improvements are from gaining the specific levels in a class, as listed in each class's table. See page 71 for the Fighter's advancement table and page 83 for the Paladin's advancement table. To be precise, these are what you would get if you went Paladin 3/Fighter 1 now, reading right off those tables: Paladin 1: Divine Sense, ...


17

Yes. This is correct. To answer you bullet for bullet Yes. This is what these do. Yes, this is a correct reading, if you go from 18 to 20, you can still increase to 22. Yes*, most things in 5e stack, though sometimes things don't stack with themselves (this isn't a bonus though, it's an increase, it's different). However, this is probably rare enough that ...


17

You will still break concentration if they make their save. From page 80 of the Player's Basic Rules, the section on Concentration: Casting another spell that requires concentration. You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can’t concentrate on two spells at once. You lose concentration when you cast ...


17

D&D 5e has abstracted this away into Lifestyle Expenses: Lifestyle expenses provide you with a simple way to account for the cost of living in a fantasy world. They cover your accommodations, food and drink, and all your other necessities. Furthermore, expenses cover the cost of maintaining your equipment so you can be ready when adventure ...


16

You're right that the PHB could be clearer about this in certain places, for example in the Spellcasting Chapter under the heading "Known and Prepared Spells" (PHB 201), we find: Members of a few classes, including bards and sorcerers, have a limited list of spells they know that are always fixed in mind. No specific mention of Warlocks there, though ...


15

This is up to the DM, but I'd give a good bit of leeway on what works and what doesn't with the spell, with one caveat. The way suggestion is worded, it's not outlandish for the suggestion to be pretty extreme. I mean given that the example in the spell is a Knight giving his warhorse away, it doesn't seem weird that you'd ask a fighter to take a long rest ...


15

No, Warlock Spellslots do not count toward the Multiclass Spellcaster table Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes, and a third of your fighter or rogue levels (rounded down) ...


14

JohnP is correct in his answer about the order of events, but here's why. You're missing the important phrasing in the PHB entry. If you are hidden—both unseen and unheard—when you make an attack, you give away your location when the attack hits or misses. Not When you take the Attack Action or when the attack is otherwise made. The attack has to be ...


14

YES, a mundane arrow fired from a magical bow overcomes the resistance For some reason, there is still debate about this, but I think that it is pretty clear. I have several reasons: In the weapons table in the PHB (p. 149), 1d8 is listed as the damage for a longbow, not for an arrow. Bows are weapons that specify that they require ammunition, and arrows ...


14

It doesn't change what dice you roll, it changes how you read the dice. When you roll, any dice that come up showing 1 you treat as if they had rolled a 2. So if you roll 1d10 and get a 5, Elemental Adept doesn't do anything; but if you roll 1d10 and get a 1, then you treat it as a 2 instead. It's not so useful on a 1d10 because it only does anything ...


14

This is one of the "portentous runes & glyphs" from the World of Greyhawk boxed set. Here's a pdf of the page on Greyhawk Online (go to the end). It means "uncertain, questionable." Also known as Gygax's rune system, they found their way into many AD&D adventures and such. Greyhawk wise, they appeared on p29-32 of the 1980 Folio, p17 of the Guide, ...


14

The description of Dispel Magic is as follows: Choose one creature, object, or magical effect within range. Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability. The DC equals 10 + the spell’s level. On a successful check, the spell ends. ...


13

The situation you describe is pretty complex. I'll pull it apart and look at the different aspects, but the short version is: There should be a way for both of you to get what you want. Player Agency To begin with, a player is entitled to control of their own character. Permanent changes to the character, particularly to the character's personality and ...


13

According to a Mike Mearls tweet, the minimum for your Barbarian to receive is 8, not 12, and 'roll' in the text refers to the total. Whilst trying to get my head around the mechanics of my other answer, I came across this collection of Mike Mearls and Jeremy Crawford tweets. The question of the durable feat is specifically dealt with (M = Mike Mearls ...


13

It is NEVER hurting the party to be a bard! A group of 4 is actually the average every table and chart is compared to. Above 4 and you're getting into EZ-Mode , and below 4 and things start to be a bit more difficult. So a group of 4 PLUS a Bard is pretty nifty. If the other classes are well rounded, then you shouldn't have many problems. Bards are ...


13

As of 5e's published release and the Unearthed Arcana article, Warforged are treated no differently than PCs of other races. Since it does not mention any healing exceptions for warforged in the Unearthed Arcana article that introduces them to 5e; they should have any and all healing effects work on them as per usual.


13

Devil's Advocate Answer: Treat this as a high DC ability/skill check, not an opposed check. For all intents and purposes, it is simply much easier to set DC checks by the handy guide reference (in PHB, p. 174) and then have the party/PCs try to make that check, rather than spend the time and effort to workup NPC skills and then spend more time doing ...


13

By the rules, no. The Pact of the Chain says: You learn the find familiar spell and can cast it as a ritual. The spell doesn't count against your number of spells known. When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following special forms: imp, pseudodragon, quasit, or sprite. And the find ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible