Hot answers tagged

41

The shortest answer is, assuming the druid has the best-case scenario available to them, they wouldn't. The scimitar is all-around a better weapon than the sickle, assuming you're proficient in both (since the sickle is simple and the scimitar is martial, this is a reason why a character might wield the sickle instead, but doesn't apply to the druid). As a ...


30

There's nothing inherently imbalancing about creating your own Circle, and it can be a great way to give your Druid a theme of your choosing. This was covered in some depth in this question. However, as you yourself have said, you've picked some of the best spells around for the custom Circle you've come up with. At that point you have to ask yourself why ...


27

You don't need to appeal to a Druid's alignment for an answer to this. You will find the general answer on page 65 of the PHB in the Druid class description. Druids accept that which is cruel in nature, and they hate that which is unnatural, including abberations(such as beholders and mind flayers) and undead (such as zombies and vampires) Does ...


26

In the PHB pg 164 it gives you the multiclass table for what proficiencies you gain once you place 1 level into Druid (or any other class). Note on this table it also reminds you that Druids will NOT wear any armor or use any shields made of metal, just like it does in the Druid section earlier in the book. Thus your answer becomes: No, you may not wear ...


25

This answer depends a lot upon the method you use to animate him. Your options are basically these: animate dead – Core and lowest-level, but applies the very-weak Skeleton or Zombie templates. Ritual of Crucimigration – From Libris Mortis, this applies the quite good Necropolitan template. On the other hand, it’s a voluntary ritual that ...


25

You cannot use attack powers from other classes while in beast form. From PHB2, p84 (as updated by official errata): Wild Shape ... While you are in beast form, you can’t use weapon or implement attack powers that lack the beast form keyword, although you can sustain such powers. ... No paladin powers (or powers from any other non-druid class, ...


24

A quick search on Paizo's source reference document tells me that the Wild Shape class feature of the druid works just like the Transmutation spell Beast Shape. Transmutation spells are described here and this is the relevant part: When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or ...


23

Yes, this would be unbalanced. Firstly, consider what Wild Shape gives you. It is a single ability that gives: Unlimited flight Unlimited water breathing and swimming A huge pool of temporary hit points Multiattack before the Fighter even has their Extra Attack ability The ability to have good physical stats without investing in them The ability to have ...


21

It is broken for the reasons you note (way, way awesome results from a first level spell for having one feat - better than any other summoning augmentation available). There's a good reason for this - the author intended it to be a +2 level metamagic feat but that was omitted when it appeared in print.


21

I think it was not uncommon for druids – and other mystical figures in folklore – to appear before others in magical disguise. Glamour, after all, is heavily associated with the fey, which are in turn tied to the natural world and the same sort of mythological background as druids. Further, as protectors of the natural world, druids have to ...


21

Like most other answers, I would say yes, two shapeshifts in a combat is legit; no, you did not make a mistake by allowing your player to wolf out and; no, you shouldn't try to claw back the ability. One thing I would add to the previous answers is that this issue will almost certainly balance itself out fairly soon. Yes, a CR 1 creature in a level 2 party ...


21

Because it's Cool! Remember D&D is a role playing game first and a war game second. If the player imagines her Druid as a sickle wielding bad ass, reaping the foes of nature: fan-bloody-tastic. I am DMing a player whose gnome cleric dual wields daggers - mechanically she is giving up +2 AC from a shield or a 1d8 primary for the chance to do roughly the ...


18

No, this won't generate opportunity attacks. The rules on opportunity attacks include this clause: You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. If a creature doesn't use its own movement, or its own action, it doesn't cause opportunity ...


17

You are the GM. There are some important rules to go by before you consider the rules of the game. Will the players enjoy facing against the villain? Will you enjoy playing this villain? If the answer to both the above is yes, you can go ahead with this. The only problem is if adding all the stuff on will make the NPC more powerful than you expected. ...


17

Yes, a Druid can have a dinosaur as an animal companion, but with some limitations according to the rules-as-written. A higher-level Druid has more options than just the basic list, as described in the alternative animal companions list. Starting at level 7, a Druid can choose a deinonychus as an animal companion. But wait, you say, I'm asking about a ...


16

Okay, let's take a look. Other This article provides a list of vermin to select 'animal' companion from. Note that it actually does not prohibit a non-vermin druid to select vermin companion. Also please note that vermin companion is actually considered magical beast. Watchspider is a wonderful magical beast located on page 140 of City of Splendors: ...


16

RAW both of those are true. Circle of the Moon archetype ignores the level requirements for the CR of the creatures you wild shape change into and instead instantly allows access to CR 1 creatures and from then on at level 6 allows access up to your druid level divided by 3. Thus your Druid player is well within his rights to shape change into a Dire Wolf. ...


16

Sort of, but no. Unarmored Defense does not provide a bonus to AC. It provides an alternate means of calculating it. So, your druid has two AC calculations available to him: AC provided by beast form. 10 + Dexterity Modifier + Wisdom Modifier You don't get to add the two together, because they both set AC to an absolute value. A brown bear has an AC of ...


16

I’d say those guides are wrong. Racial bonuses don’t tend to be super-important in general; as long as you don’t literally have a penalty to an important score, it’s probably fine enough. What are some things a druid wants from his race? A bonus feat. Well, yes, dwarves don’t get this and it’s amazing. Shame to miss out. But this also applies to ...


15

Only with a Lot of Planning The description of the vampire reads, "Each round of immersion in running water inflicts damage on a vampire equal to one-third of its maximum hit points—a vampire reduced to 0 hit points in this manner is destroyed." Emphasis mine. I'll admit 12 gallons per person per round is a lot, but immersing--that is, submerging or ...


15

Note the uses of the word Beasts in the description of what Wild Shape does. Beasts is a defined term From page 2 of the Dungeon Master Basic Rules. Beasts are nonhumanoid creatures that are a natural part of the fantasy ecology. Some of them have magical powers, but most are unintelligent and lack any society or language. Beasts include all ...


15

Tl;dr - The Druid makes a Deception check, an observer has to beat their result with an Insight check. Proficiency in Nature would allow a character who was not proficient to add their proficiency bonus to the whichever of the 2 checks they were making. So, there are 2 questions here. The first is whether the Wild Shaped Druid is physically ...


15

From the PHB page 66: Starting at 2nd level, you can use your action to magically assume the shape of a beast that you have seen before. And page 69: At 10th level, you can expend two uses of Wild Shape at the same time to transform into an air elemental, an earth elemental, a fire elemental, or a water elemental. It seems fairly clear that these ...


15

Rule interpretation in general There are two points to remember when looking at an ambiguous rule: Your group, with the DM as final arbiter decides the ruling for the rule. So, you need to establish what this is for each group you play with. Specific beats general. So, start with the most general rule you can find and see how the specific rules change ...


15

Feats, generally, aren't supplanted by beast statistics. (Though your ability to make use of them may be supplanted.) Alert and Lucky, specifically, still apply in their entirety. Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the beast. (PHB p.67) To see what is supplanted or augmented, take a look at beasts' statistics. ("Statistic," as a ...


14

Plot: Learn it from someone who knows it One would presume that should a druid decide to teach you Druidic, then you could spend a skill rank or two on Speak Languages to learn the language. That would be a DM’s call and probably quite rare, but it could happen. A blighter (Complete Divine) certainly wouldn’t care about teaching the language, ...


14

Your player is correct; the rule says your HP stays the same so your HP stays the same. The game very rarely (and only very awkwardly) cares why a particular statistic has the value it does; it just cares what the value is. In other words, when it says the hit points of your original form, it just means before using Wild Shape, including the item (and spell ...


14

The DC for Poison is a formula. The static value listed in a monster's stat block is a convenience so that GMs don't have to calculate it themselves. From the d20 SRD: The Fortitude save DC against a creature’s natural poison attack is equal to 10 + ½ poisoning creature’s racial HD + poisoning creature’s Con modifier (the exact DC is given in the ...


14

Yes, but the game doesn't tell you which. As long as your Druid isn't a newborn baby, they've likely seen some beasts in their life (especially during and after their Druid training!), and therefore can Wild Shape into those beasts. Your background is probably the best guide to what creatures you've likely seen, as your background will imply a region ...


14

For positive numbers, "round down" has the same effect as "truncate." You can round the number down to the nearest whole number. Or you can truncate the fractional portion to leave only the integer value. Either way you will end up with the correct maximum CR, which is 2 in this case. Levels and CRs are never negative, so the difference between rounding ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible