Hot answers tagged

67

What you're experiencing is a mismatch in what you all expect the actual game to be. As such, a boon will likely not make up for the confusion — at best it will be inexplicably ineffective at altering the players' choices, and at worst it will exacerbate the problem. Different games, same name You see roleplay and adventure in a believable world as the ...


63

Assuming, as you've requested, that "that's boring, don't track it" is off the table, then yes, your intuition is right: this is a logistics problem. And to the contray, it is the bread and butter of many groups' style of playing D&D, with a tradition stretching back to the very first days of the hobby in the early 1970s. Liking these ideas and wanting ...


44

Sand is one thing used by scribes to blot ink, so that a document can be handled or moved soon after working on it, without dripping or smearing. You can assume it sees use as a matter of course while the character is mapping a dungeon or composing a letter. Apart from that intended use in a scholar's pack, it can probably be put to many creative uses under ...


40

Mage hand can pour out a vial of acid. Pouring a vial of acid in this way will (generally) not damage an enemy. It's exactly as the rules you quoted say. You can pour out the contents of a vial. Per the description of Acid, simply pouring isn't enough to do someone--who likely doesn't want acid poured on them--damage. If you start pouring acid on one who ...


34

A ration weighs two pounds, but a character only needs to consume one pound (half a ration) per day. The key word in this case is need and how this is very different from should. A character, at a bare minimum, needs be consuming one pound of food per day, but very rarely will anyone want to get by on the bare minimum amount of food unless it's a survival ...


33

You may equip as many magic items as you can properly wear, only three of which can be requiring attunement. Many magic items require attunement, which is a process that lets a specific character make use of the item's magic abilities; non-attuned items only provide their non-magical benefits. Your character may only be attuned to three items at any given ...


25

Throughout history Infantry units have carried their full kit on their backs into battle. Any Infantry unit that is not mechanized (read: rides around in a vehicle) will deploy from a forward base and can and will do patrols and missions requiring them to be in the field for extended duration. When this occurs literally everything goes in a big ruck and ...


25

While Pathfinder is great at letting the player know what's on his character's body and how much all of that weighs, it's not so good at measuring freight or determining weight and value of household goods. These are better off abstracted into just gp values and raw weights instead of individual fruits and vegetables. That is, if the players want to spend ...


24

Part of the problem is that the standard conception of an adventurer is somewhat unrealistic in and of itself. An independent group of characters who possesses a great deal of material wealth and specialized equipment yet travels so widely that they seldom cross the same patch of ground twice is extremely rare in realistic settings. With that said, there ...


23

I think it has to do with this bit of background: You previously pursued a simple profession among the peasantry, perhaps as a farmer, miner, servant, shepherd, woodcutter, or gravedigger. Several of the defining events indicate that he may have expertise with said shovel as a weapon or as a tool of his trade (farming/mining/grave digging). ...


23

Typically, rope lasts forever. Rules There are no rules about ropes breaking on use, unless they are explicitly broken/cut. In game A rope is usually reusable, unless of course, you cut it to length. Though if you think about it, this can almost always be avoided, and the only reason you typically need to do this is if you need two lengths of rope at ...


23

By default, it is assumed that he maintains the shield in downtime (ie; patches the worst of it during camp time and has it repaired when the party returns to the village). So yeah, he would have his shield fixed to new whenever there's a bit of time available. D&D by default does not have random gear disintegration rules. So in that regard I would ...


23

No. The duration of Acid Splash is "Instantaneous". In the PHB (pg203), the description of this duration is: "...The spell harms, heals, creates, or alters a creature or an object in a way that can't be dispelled, because its magic exists only for an instant." The portion I bolded seems the most relevant in this case: the acid bubble only lasts for the ...


22

I asked Mike Mearls: Can the arcane/druidic focus staff double as a quarterstaff? And received the following response: yes


22

Yes, you can cast spells with a Material (M) component without issue. Your Holy Symbol takes care of it. This is one of the more difficult things to look up in the current 5e rules. It starts on page 58, under Cleric spellcasting: You can use a holy symbol (found in chapter 5) as a spellcasting focus for your cleric spells. In the equipment section, ...


21

No, sunlight-sensitive gear is a Drow-specific thing, not a general property of adamantine (OOC -- what do Drow make their gear from? PVC with no UV-resistance modifiers? :P) The applicable entries are p. 142 of the DMG for Drow-made gear: Drow. The item is half the normal weight. It is black and inscribed with spiders and webs in honor of Lolth. It ...


21

Officially, probably not... There are no precise limits provided that state exactly under what circumstances an item is attended, except that the item be "grasped, touched, or worn" (PH 166), and attending an item is the usual bar for determining whether an effect that affects only a creature also affects that creature's gear. (Further, attending an item ...


21

There is no “should” or subjective judgement necessary here. This kind of thing is explicitly what advantage is for (PHB, p. 173): The DM can also decide that circumstances influence a roll in one direction or the other and grant advantage or impose disadvantage as a result. Having a book about the information you're making a skill check to recall or ...


20

Probably. The entries for Staff and Quarterstaff are different in the equipment list. Under the Arcane Focus section you get: a specially constructed staff (p. 48). this is distinctly different (and quite a bit more expensive) than a typical quarter staff (the arcane focus version runs 5gp vs 2sp for a quarterstaff). So no, a quarterstaff cannot ...


19

If you want your players' experience to actually "feel like" barter, coming up with an absolute value for everything is self-defeating. You end up with a de-facto currency system that just abstracts away all of the bartering. It's kinda like writing "500 gp worth of gems" on your character sheet in D&D — it's something players do when they don't ...


19

The rules for spellcasting spell this out clearly: A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell’s material components—or to hold a spellcasting focus—but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components. (Source: 5e System Reference document)


17

Yes, there are rules on this. However, they are contradictory. Page 42 of the 3.5 DMG (Making a New Character) suggests a per-item limit of one-half the character's total wealth. As a general rule, a new character can spend no more than half her total wealth on a single item, and no more than one quarter the total wealth on consumables such as ...


17

I’m going to go out on a limb and suggest that the item doesn’t exist. I have never heard of it; while items are certainly not my forte, I know a lot of 3.5. Furthermore, I can find nothing with a Google search: no forum discussions mentioning it, no play-by-post games using it, no illegal compendiums giving its stats when they’re not ...


17

There is no base price in a barter system. When bartering, every single transaction is treated on its own merits. Each side looks at what it has to offer and what it wants and builds a deal based on that. Value isn't measured in anything like the same way we do it today. In many barter societies, food is the limiting factor. Valuable goods and services are ...


17

They do stack. You won't find any help in the rules for Armor or Shields, but the Rules Compendium (p 314) has a general entry for penalties: Penalty A number subtracted from a die roll. Unlike bonuses, penalties don’t have types. Penalties add together, unless they’re from the same named game element (such as a power or a trait). Shields and Armor ...


17

A character can only benefit from the magical qualities of items donned in the appropriate manner. The total number is not actually limited, but there are limits. "A character can't normally wear more than one pair of footwear, one pair of gloves or gauntlets, one pair of bracers, one suit of armor, one item of head wear, and one cloak." (DMG, pg. 141, col. ...


16

No, you don't get the equipment. The way the multiclassing rules are set up, it provides a "positive" list: a complete list of all the things that do happen are mentioned, and anything not mentioned does not happen. The multi-classing section (PHB, pp. 163–5) lists these things that you get (with notes on any changes to how they work): Hit dice and hit ...


16

Starting Equipment at higher levels Page 38 of the DMG provides a table for starting wealth and equipment at various levels.


16

You choose only one of the options. This isn't actually ambiguous in English—choosing from a lettered list is a convention that always means "or" except when specifically stated that more than one can be chosen. The ses in the words like arms or defences do not indicate anything to the contrary — that's another feature of English that's potentially ...


15

Amulet of Protection only gives you a bonus to Fort, Reflect and Will. That's what it says in the entry: Enhancement Bonus: Fortitude, Reflex, and Will As Zachiel mentions, "All Defenses" means all defenses, AC, Fort, Ref and Will. However, this verbiage is usually used when granting Power bonuses, not usually anything else. Yes. Armor bonuses are ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible