New answers tagged

10

Typically, every creature fought gives experience. However, certain effects (especially summoning) can be exceptions. In general, experience is not awarded because a creature used its abilities. If Goblin A called for help and two more goblins came, those goblins award full exp. If Goblin A used an alchemical item to attract a pair of wolves in the area ...


4

No The GMG has a bit near the XP table that explains summoned creatures don't count as they are already included in the CR. There's an example that if the caster had used a fireball instead of summoning it wouldn't change CR.


6

They get experience twice A slight tweak to your hypothetical shows why. They defeat the troll by outsmarting him; gaining XP. Disgraced, the troll King exiles him and appoints a new bridge troll. When they defeat this troll by killing it the party gets XP, yes? The only difference is that these are different trolls; if they get XP twice in my scenarios, ...


8

Intent Matters This is a case that could easily be argued either way. I will address the second part of your question, about intent. Yes, intent matters, or at least a good case can be made that intent matters. TL;DR - if your players are meta-gaming, you are entitled to shut it down. The longer form of the argument runs as follows: Experience ...


4

I think if you are purely following RAW you will have to reward experience for both encounters. As you correctly did, you rewarded creativity for bypassing the encounter. If the party comes back to kill the troll later, you could perhaps change the rules of the encounter to better solve your problem (depending on what you want to do). Perhaps another ...


7

Two Encounters Means Two Experience Point Rewards Experience points are not some finite resource that every monster or puzzle has and then player characters "suck dry." Experience points represent the characters gaining knowledge and skill from their experiences. Is battling the troll fundamentally different than outwitting it? Would I learn something else ...


31

The reason only matters if it matters to you. XP is awarded for challenges overcome. Thus, if the troll presents a challenge both times, then yes, you should likely award XP both times. So lets imagine that the troll guards both sides of a bridge. You have to cross both ways. The first time, you outsmart the troll, but make not allowances for the return ...


2

We normally handwave XP distribution altogether and just level everyone up after a significant amount of time or achieving campaign goals. While writing down XP has a certain charme and old school vipe, we don't feel that the game really benefits by following the standard formula.


1

One thing that I've had some DMs do is forget about XP bookkeeping altogether, and just tell everyone when to level up based on what makes sense for the story. This seems to work just fine for keeping everyone at the same level. I'm away from my books right now, so I'm not sure if this is an official rules variant or not.


10

I played with a GM who would only give XP for people who showed up, and after a while it was a bad time as it became more and more difficult to create encounters that were challenging-yet-survivable for everyone. In a cooperative game, making some characters significantly less effective also punishes the rest of the group. So I really wouldn't advise that, ...


1

Nothing in the rules mentions variable group-sizes. But it depends on how willing to punish and reward those who can't always make it. According to RAW I suppose you should be dividing gained experience only by the number of characters/players present. Naturally this means that your frequent absentees are likely to fall behind in levels. You could always ...


-1

I'd like to take a different direction from the other answers here - what happens at level 11 that might cause the designers to make this level more difficult to attain than the others (comparatively)? At level 11, almost every class gets a transformative power. Level 11 is the level that casters get level 6 spells, which involve things like instantaneously ...


7

The simplest way to answer this is to look at the total XP, not the XP to next level. From each level, the XP required to reach the next level looks like this: (this graph borrowed from Dale M's answer) This doesn't make a lot of sense, which is the source of the confusion. However, if you look at a character's total XP as they progress through the ...


7

Awarding XP outside of combat is always a DM option. The Dungeon Masters Guide (p.261) presents a method for doing that, basing the XP on the encounter level and whether or not there is a meaningful risk of failure. If your player guessed but didn't confirm this hidden plan, you as DM need to assess the following: Was there a risk of failure? Was it a ...



Top 50 recent answers are included