New answers tagged

26

No, as far as the rules are concerned, being knocked out does not affect whether you gain experience. The DMG has this to say about experience on page 260: Each monster has an XP value based on its challenge rating. When adventurers defeat one or more monsters-typically by killing, routing, or capturing them-they divide the total XP value of the monsters ...


4

The protestation that this ruling is somehow RAW does not have explicit support. Nothing on page 260-261 reflects a lack of XP eligibility if the PC is knocked out. As you noted, it is not in the PHB. It's not in the Sword Coast Adventure Guide either. But there is a thing: the general guidance in the DMG about having the options to adjust rules for the ...


13

Typically, every creature fought gives experience. However, certain effects (especially summoning) can be exceptions. In general, experience is not awarded because a creature used its abilities. If Goblin A called for help and two more goblins came, those goblins award full exp. If Goblin A used an alchemical item to attract a pair of wolves in the area ...


6

No The GMG has a bit near the XP table that explains summoned creatures don't count as they are already included in the CR. There's an example that if the caster had used a fireball instead of summoning it wouldn't change CR.


6

They get experience twice A slight tweak to your hypothetical shows why. They defeat the troll by outsmarting him; gaining XP. Disgraced, the troll King exiles him and appoints a new bridge troll. When they defeat this troll by killing it the party gets XP, yes? The only difference is that these are different trolls; if they get XP twice in my scenarios, ...


8

Intent Matters This is a case that could easily be argued either way. I will address the second part of your question, about intent. Yes, intent matters, or at least a good case can be made that intent matters. TL;DR - if your players are meta-gaming, you are entitled to shut it down. The longer form of the argument runs as follows: Experience ...


4

I think if you are purely following RAW you will have to reward experience for both encounters. As you correctly did, you rewarded creativity for bypassing the encounter. If the party comes back to kill the troll later, you could perhaps change the rules of the encounter to better solve your problem (depending on what you want to do). Perhaps another ...


7

Two Encounters Means Two Experience Point Rewards Experience points are not some finite resource that every monster or puzzle has and then player characters "suck dry." Experience points represent the characters gaining knowledge and skill from their experiences. Is battling the troll fundamentally different than outwitting it? Would I learn something else ...


31

The reason only matters if it matters to you. XP is awarded for challenges overcome. Thus, if the troll presents a challenge both times, then yes, you should likely award XP both times. So lets imagine that the troll guards both sides of a bridge. You have to cross both ways. The first time, you outsmart the troll, but make not allowances for the return ...



Top 50 recent answers are included